We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy staying in Hikkaduwa”
Review of YKD Tourist Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YKD Tourist Rest
Ranked #49 of 152 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Niafle
1 review
“Happy staying in Hikkaduwa”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I`m staying in YKD Tourist Rest during 10 days, and I can say that`s super stay whit super management.This place is just 2 minutes walk to the beach. The owner Mr.Tilak is nice guy. There is free Wi-Fi facilities too.
Hotel have have a good management, ideal situation and low prices... A good address to stay.

Richard. french customer.

Room Tip: Rooms are in very good condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
6
33
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at YKD for 16 days over Christmas and New Years - and this was our second time staying there. Considering it's Sri Lanka, the rooms are of a very high standard, clean and with both A/C and fan. Superbly priced as well, and the location is a mere 2 minute walk from a beach with amazing snorkelling/diving. The staff, and especially the owner, is a great guy, and can help you with anything you may require. Big plus is that they also have WiFi. Will definitely come back for a third time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abugandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The gentleman who runs this place will really go out of his way to make sure everything during your stay works out.

It's really just a few rooms in his large house he's decided to lease out and while his beds aren't incredibly comfortable, nor can the shower be described as anything more than workable. His personality and smile made the stay a great one.

It's also on the quieter end of town so perfect for those looking to get away from living right next to the party.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay at in Hikkadowa! The location is great - the beach is just across the street and there are restaurant's, ATMs, bars and a supermarket close to YKD. The rooms are big and clean. The service was great. Tilak helped us with everything we needed - booking scuba diving, motorbikes, bicycles and a trip to Kandy. The breakfast was delicious and the allover feeling was very familiar!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been in ykd for a week and it was amazing.
The is very chip and the service is the best.
talik was very nice with me and my friends he help us a lot.
The rooms are very clean and nice and the area is just in front to the sea
There is a wi fi and the location is close for all you need.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We was at hikkda 6 nights all at ykd the place is clean a lot of space in the rooms and outside to sit or something there is air conditioner in the rooms the manager was very nice and help us a lot arrange us trip in the area in good price help us with tickets for flight and a lot more for finally best service in hikkda 100 % of help almost 24/7 try it !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamirzamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Nice place tilap the manager help us a lot with trips tickets and all what we need and he was amazing.
The rooms are great with wifi and the place is very close for everything we need.
The place is near the bank and very close to the sea.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matanmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chami's Place
Chami's Place
#14 of 152 in Hikkaduwa
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
FinLanka
FinLanka
#5 of 152 in Hikkaduwa
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Star Holiday Resort
Star Holiday Resort
#21 of 152 in Hikkaduwa
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YKD Tourist Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YKD Tourist Rest

Property: YKD Tourist Rest
Address: 259 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YKD Tourist Rest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YKD Tourist Rest is set in Hikkaduwa city. Just 20m away from the world famous coral reef, opposite the International Diving School and very close to the other diving Stations. While snorkeling you can watch beautiful fish and corals. It is an owner operated guest house with 10 rooms, attached bath with hot/cold water. Eight of them are air-conditioned. Second floor can rent as apartment basis with kitchen, refrigerator, microwave and washing machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your YKD Tourist Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing