We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice experience”
Review of Roman Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roman Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice experience”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

After traveling around in Sri Lanka for one month we decided to stay in Roman Beach Hotel for last 2 nights and I only wish we could have stayed a bit longer...The hotel is exactly as nice as described in most of the reviews: it is exclusively small with its 6 rooms and both rooms and bathrooms are really nice by size and style. The food in restaurant was also very good. Surely the hotel is mostly great for the couples, but our 2 kids enjoyed the stay in Roman Beach also a lot (we used one extra bed and still had enough space for everybody, as the rooms have a good size). Of course, they do not have any special activities for children in that hotel, but we spent a lot of time on the beach, so for us that was just a perfect stay.The location of the hotel is also great: it steps back from the main road, so you do not have the traffic noise. Thank you, Roman Beach team :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eneliis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi

Love your detailed review. Very descriptive and informative. Many thanks for taking your time to write about us. Great that your kids loved it too.
Try our Roman Lake next time.

Best Regards
Shiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    38
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
132
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My partner and I had such a lovely time at this hotel that I felt inclined to sign up to TripAdvisor just so I could write a review! We arrived early in the morning and were checked in straight away into our amazing room! All the staff were lovely, helpful and will always greet you with a big smile! Whilst in Hikkaduwa we dined at several restaurants but nothing compared to the food that is served in Roman Beach, I had the best chicken curry I have ever and when I return I will be sure to take a cooking class from the chef! Not 1 bad thing to say about this place - can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi

Wow.. thanks a million for signing up with TA just to give us a review. That talks volumes of how you have enjoyed your stay at RB. No amount of money would have given us such an advertisement. :-)
Your recommendation of our food is highly valued. Sure you are most welcome to learn how to make the chicken curry from our chef.
You are our special guests ...please come again.
Best Regards
Shiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were first time travellers to Sri Lanka and this was our first hotel and it was wonderful. We had a great time, the staff were excellent, very friendly and approachable. Nothing was too much trouble and coming back to the room to find our bed occupied by a friendly elephant or swan was great fun. The Sri Lankan food was delicious and of a very high standard, we ate it every day so after four days, a bit more variety would have been nice. We especially appreciated Chef Mangala inviting us into his kitchen to demonstrate Sri Lankan cooking and sharing his recipes with us so that we could have a taste of Sri Lanka at home ,the stringhoppers were a highlight. The rooms were lovely with large balconies overlooking the pool and beach and beautiful bathrooms with a view! The location provides easy tuk tuk access to Galle Fort and other attractions. Thank you to all the staff at Roman Beach for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Wallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi
Thank you for a lovely honest review.
Sri Lanka attracts more and more new visitors from Down Under. Your review will certainly give confidence to them. Coming from Perth where multi cultural cuisine is very much on offer your comments on our food standard is well appreciated.
Yes we will try to improve the variety / choice as suggested.
Cherish your memories of RB for years to come :-)
We look forward to your return.

Best Regards
shiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were in Summer 2013. It is one of the best hotel for privet tour. Hotel have only 6 rooms. Size of the room is amazing. They have fantastic restaurant. You should try sea food plate in the restaurant, we eat it very day. There are good surf spot just on the hotel beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your review. Your review would give confidence to more young couples from China which is a growing market in Sri Lanka.
We would invite to visit us again.

Best Regards
Shiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Staying at Roman Beach Hotel was unforgettable experience. This boutique hotel has only 6 rooms which makes it a romantic and secluded retreat with a private atmosphere unlike big hotels. The rooms are very spacious, spotlessly clean and have gorgeous sea view that can be enjoyed not only from the balcony but from the bathroom as well. The staff are very friendly and seem to be genuinely concerned about your happiness, trying to please you all the time, but being unobtrusive at the same time. Breakfast is served on the terrace with a spectacular view over the ocean. We always ordered delicious Sri Lankian breakfast – milk rice or pancakes with fried eggs in the middle served with either fish or meat curry. The restaurant is also opened for lunch and dinner and is worth a visit even if you are not staying at the hotel. The menu may not be very extensive but every dish on the menu (and we had most of them) is exceptional and worth trying. All of the dishes are made from scratch with fresh ingredients (we witnessed the process of coconut milk making from, although they could have used tinned milk). Special thanks goes to chef Mangala and his team for his excellent cooking, the best we tried in Sri Lanka, and his cooking lesson where they showed us how to cook fish curry.
All in all, a wonderful hotel that stands out from the crowd of ramshackle hotels in Hikkaduwa. A place where you find all the comforts of a good European hotel, even when there is power blackout and the rest of the hotels and restaurants in Hikkaduwa are in complete darkness (happened twice while there).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evgenia_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi

This is one of the very best reviews we have ever received! Honestly I think we need to pay for such detailed honest opinion given by special guests like you. We get quite a bit of visitors from Russia this will certainly help us in attracting them.
I must say that you must be connoisseur with food... you have picked the best 2 dishes ( Milk rice & Egg Hoppers, my personal favorite too) from our menu. Also you are spot-on when you said " that we have a limited variety but they are all exceptional.
Thanks a million for taking the time & effort to give such a detailed review.
We would most certainly like to see you again.

Best Regards
Shiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Roman Beach Hotel at the end of our trip through Sri Lanka. We arrived in the late afternoon and the first Impression was very good. The staff served us a Welcome Drink and afterwards we checked in. The rooms were great! A huge bathroom (was a bit jealous I also would like to have such a bath room at home). The living room was also big and clean and the view we had when we were on the terrace was just amazing. The Roman beach hotel is very familiar because they only have 6 rooms. The staff is always right next to you and they are really nice and helpful.
Food is excellent, just ask the Chef for a recommendation, he knows as best. We were eating fresh seafood platter (Lobster, fish, prawns, Calamari), which was soooooo good!!!
For breakfast you can choose between Sri Lankan breakfast and Continental Breakfast. A fresh fruit juice made our start in the day perfect. Try the Sri Lankan Omelette, it’s the best!
If you want to see the village, just pick a Tuck Tuck in front of the Hotel. If you want to visit some other places, just ask the reception, they help you with all your requests and needs.

I want to send a warm thank you to the whole staff of Roman Beach hotel. You made our stay memorable. Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie_hirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent two nights at roman beach with another family and it was an absolutely relaxing stay
The place is small and beautiful literaly on the beach contemporary architecture great rooms with all the amenties and great views across the ocean and a nice spacious bathroom.
it had a feel of a home away from home.

I will not do justice to Roman beach if I don't highlight about the staff which makes it one of the most hospitable places in Hikkaduwa .Keshan from the front office and his team was there to welcome us and make sure we had a smooth check in then came Kumara from the Restaurant he was 24x7 on the job smiling and obliging and always willing to get us whatever we needed and to top it up The Chef Mangala with a pleasing personality created some heavenly food for us the srilankan dishes were fantastic ! So was the western dishes He was always around to ensure we got what we wanted and was very accommodative.overall the team at roman beach clearly understands what service is all about and fulfills it in true SriLankan style !!!

Personally for us if it is Hikkaduwa it will be the Roman Beach.It is one of the best boutique hotels in Hikkaduwa with close proximity to all the beach Restraunts and surfers beach etc

Thank you Roman beach team for the great service !!
we are looking forward to going Back to this property very soon !

Room Tip: Room 106 has a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iroshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
1.1 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Beach

Property: Roman Beach
Address: 777/2 Galle Road | Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly nextdoor@portarthur )
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 168 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roman Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel with 6 Rooms designed specially to pamper you yet for you to create your own space! Each room staring into the mighty Indian Ocean making you feel dwarfed but again giving you the right platform to dream...whisper...simply disintegrate your thoughts with nature...the creation! Located probably at the best & the widest beach front in all of Hikkaduwa this is a dream come true for the true beach lover! In addition we are confident that our master chef would add to your memories of this exotic destination. We believe that good things in life come in small packages. If you are in the same mind set...this place is for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roman Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing