We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel and location right on the beach”
Review of Roman Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roman Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel and location right on the beach”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I spent 4 nights there in May 2012. Although this time of the year was said to be right before the monsoon season I must say we had en excellent weather, although sea was bit rough with big waves and you couldn't swim.. On the other hand beach was empty and you could walk for 10 minutes without actually meeting anyone. The hotel itself is a small villa. We had two rooms and we were the only two couples in the hotel. The stuff was very helpful and was there when you needed. Otherwise you had the impression of staying at your friends very luxurious villa.. the pool is amazing. What I liked the most was the location right at the beach.. There are plenty of restaurants reachable by tuk tuk.. I can only recommend this hotel and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    39
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
133
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights here with my girlfriend and we were so impressed with the hotel.

The setting is amazing. Sitting on a sun bed overlooking the beach and swimming pool was great, and the food was delicious.

We stayed in the Emperor room which had a beautiful view of the sea and it was very comfortable.

The staff were brilliant and the fresh fruit juices were delicious!

I would strongly recommend this boutique hotel - thank you for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Roman Beach is truly a hidden gem in Hickaduwa. Very comfortable and well appointed rooms, attentive and friendly (yet not too much so) staff, stunning location, beautiful pool and delicious food, makes for a truly enjoyable and memorable stay. With easy access to the beautiful beach for those into surfing and the like, yet, secluded enough to be well out of the way too, this is a fantastic place to stay.
Stayed for two nights but will most definitely find the time to go back. Had two beautiful candle lit dinners poolside where the food was second to none. (wouldn't waste your time searching the town for other venues, the hotel food is excellent)
Recommend talking to the chef and discussing what you would like to eat then asking for a dinner table in a location to suit as on the beach is another option we haven't yet tried.
Cant fault Roman Villas at all, and wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone giving it consideration, especially if you are looking for that extra bit of comfort, luxury and tranquillity.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal really, pretty much same view I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StewartR216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Roman Beach is a stunning little spot on a fantastic beach that is all set to absolutely explode. The rooms are beautifully designed and very comfortable. The service and food is very good. Ideal spot for a couple

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We found a last minute deal for this gem of a hotel and had the best two days stay in Sri Lanka. The welcome was warm and genuine the room of a very high standard - large king bed, ac, tv, jacuzzi, waterfall shower, sea view. The pool and eating area spacious and clean. I really cannot fault this venue. Very peaceful and quiet but a short walk along the beach to 'top secret' bar which is a great nightspot. Ill also upload some photos.
Worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The first thing you notice as you step inside this little slice of paradise is the heady spicy aroma of cinnamon which they use to scent the rooms.

This is probably the nicest place to stay in Hukkaduwa. The six rooms are stunning. We had a top floor one with a lovely high and airy vaulted ceiling and a fantastic bathroom which included a Jacuzzi bath and powerful rain hower. The peacock blue colour scheme is striking and contemporary. We had a generous balcony with great views over the beach, as do all the rooms.

The staff here are just lovely and smiley, sporting their peacock blue sarongs. Breakfast was ample and they do a mean Sri Lankan fish curry and hoppers to start the day as well.

There is no liquor license at the moment but they were happy to let us bring in beer from outside for an evening drink on our balcony.

Pool is a good size and there are enough sun loungers to accommodate the small clientele.

It's a short walk to nearby bars and restaurants and there is no noise from the busy road.

All in all a very sweet and special place. I'm not sure why it's in the Specialty Lodging section of places to stay as it is most certainly a small but perfectly formed hotel, properly boutique.

Just a shame that the weather let us down. Never mind, you can't have everything, even in paradise!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xanadustar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had been looking for a nice hotel with the opportunity of surfing for beginners and we have found this peace of paradise. The hotel was amazing. The architecture of the rooms was simple yet elegant, the breakfasts were delicious and the garden&pool was romantic. The staff was very friendly and manage to arrange for us a transport to central Sri Lanka for a reasonable price. I wish we could stay longer!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADALBERTO J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Marie & Paul

Thank you for your lovely comments....we do appreciate it.
Yes we do strive do our best to keep the guests happy.

We would like see you again.

Best Regards
Shiran Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
1.1 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,609 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Beach

Property: Roman Beach
Address: 777/2 Galle Road | Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly nextdoor@portarthur )
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roman Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel with 6 Rooms designed specially to pamper you yet for you to create your own space! Each room staring into the mighty Indian Ocean making you feel dwarfed but again giving you the right platform to dream...whisper...simply disintegrate your thoughts with nature...the creation! Located probably at the best & the widest beach front in all of Hikkaduwa this is a dream come true for the true beach lover! In addition we are confident that our master chef would add to your memories of this exotic destination. We believe that good things in life come in small packages. If you are in the same mind set...this place is for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roman Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing