We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”
Review of Roman Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roman Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had been looking for a nice hotel with the opportunity of surfing for beginners and we have found this peace of paradise. The hotel was amazing. The architecture of the rooms was simple yet elegant, the breakfasts were delicious and the garden&pool was romantic. The staff was very friendly and manage to arrange for us a transport to central Sri Lanka for a reasonable price. I wish we could stay longer!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADALBERTO J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi Marie & Paul

Thank you for your lovely comments....we do appreciate it.
Yes we do strive do our best to keep the guests happy.

We would like see you again.

Best Regards
Shiran Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 224 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at this place at the end of our 2.5 weeks in Sri Lanka. overall we weren't overly impressed with hotels in Sri Lanka and thought that on the whole they were significantly overpriced and lacking in service. It was refreshing when we arrived at Roman Beach. Well designed boutique hotel, small, good service, lovely food, private, attentive staff but not intrusive. Nice view of/access to the beach. one of the highlights of our stay in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about Roman Beach. We are happy that we have managed to changed your perception !
look forward to serving you again.
apologies for the late response.

Best Regards
Shiran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights.We stayed in the emperor room which was beautiful and had a fantastic view of the pool and the ocean.It's also in a very good location.
I must mention the food here it was excellent so well done to the chefs!!
A very peaceful place and very attentive staff.
Thank you all,
Marie&Paul Holmes
Sheffield.

Room Tip: Emperor rooms are beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Marie & Paul,

Many thanks for your lovely review. Please come again :-)
I will pass your tribute to our wonderful chef.

Cheers
Shiran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in an Emperor room, the view of the beach from the top floor was stunning. The room is beautiful with high ceilings and well thought out decor. The Bathroom and Jacuzzi Bath while looking at the ocean. The breakfast was also lovely, Lunch was good, the pool and the location on the beach were spot on. Couple of minor points: I would say that the service was good but not 5*. They could make more use of the Bar, wasn't always someone around to get a drink. The derelict building next door is a bit of an eyesore and should maybe be knocked down?
We stayed in 7 hotels during our stay in Sri Lanka and this boutique hotel was our favourite along with the Chaaya Wild, both highly recomended. The hotel is only 1 year old and they need to make sure they maintain it as a few cracks are starting to show.
Location on Hikaduwwa beach is great, one of the best beaches we saw in sri lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear James,

Thanks for your review. Your points duly noted . We are about to get our liquor license then we plan to use the Bar quite well ;-)
Yes you are right the next door building is an eye sore...we have tried our best to get it demolished at our cost unfortunately failed and beyound our control.
Yes we do have an on going maintenance program however thanks for pointing it out.

Best Regards
Shiran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found this hotel after checking in and promptly checking out of a very disappointing private villa. We walked in and were immediately met with smiles and gratitude and the 'bend over backwards' customer service approach that all Sri Lankan people seem to possess. They showed us a top level room which was one of the most beautiful rooms I have had the pleasure of staying in. Super high ceilings, beautiful white washed wood paneling, amazing views, tastefully furnished with an enormous bed filled with cushions, an amazing bathroom - all which looked out onto the Hikkaduwa surf. Management upgraded us to this room for the first evening, before moving us to a lower floor room - this was just as beautiful, only missing the high ceilings. Both were first class. The design and architecture of the hotel is impeccable, as is the open restaurant and foyer area, pool, sun loungers out to the ocean view and the beachfront location. The hotel is located close to all the beach front restaurants and 'main hub', but yet far away enough to have peace and tranquility. The surf was beautiful and we enjoyed three days of surf lessons out the front of our hotel. The staff were exceptional and made sure we were always happy and comfortable. The restaurant and food was top standard and very delicious, even room service on a stormy night was some of the best food we had on our trip!

This is a new hotel and we can only give it a glowing review. I'm sure it will continue to receive as such. My partner for the whole three nights could not stop praising this as one of the best hotels he has stayed at, and I agree!

In regards to some previous comments about staff being young and silly, this is not the case. One gentleman that attended the desk and restaurant, was young, but he was outstanding with his service. He never stopped smiling and nor did we!!

We will be back in April 2013!

Room Tip: Top level rooms have better views and beautiful high ceilings, worth the extra expense. However all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kittycaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hi

Thanks for the most comprehensive review written about our hotel. I would really look forward to your return in April and make it a point visit you and say hello and probably have a drink :-)

See you in April.

Rgds
Shiran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We feel very lucky to have booked this boutique hotel and wish we would have been able to stay longer. We were looked after from the moment we arrived at 4:30 am on our first day in Sri Lanka. The staff were very friendly, natural and generous and we felt completely at home here. The quality of the food was first class and we enjoyed breakfast and dinner there everynight. The rooms are luxurious and the pool and amenities are outstanding.
Fred & Deb
Australia

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Fred & Deb

Thank you for those beautiful words about us! We are encouraged to perform even better :-)
We would invite you to come back again for a longer stay and spred the good news down under.

Best wishes !

Shiran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel has totally justified all expectations. Very good location: close to the not crowded beach, surf spot is not far away. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I loved the local cuisine, I think this is because of the chefs skills )))

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Юлия С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiran A, Director of Sales at Roman Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Sunrise

Many thanks for your lovely review! We are delighted that we have made you happy
And made you used to Sri lankan rice and curry .
Yes our chef is very special and he turns out amazing stuf.
Look forward to your return soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
2.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,773 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Beach

Address: 777/2 Galle Road | Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly nextdoor@portarthur )
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $161 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roman Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel with 6 Rooms designed specially to pamper you yet for you to create your own space! Each room staring into the mighty Indian Ocean making you feel dwarfed but again giving you the right platform to dream...whisper...simply disintegrate your thoughts with nature...the creation! Located probably at the best & the widest beach front in all of Hikkaduwa this is a dream come true for the true beach lover! In addition we are confident that our master chef would add to your memories of this exotic destination. We believe that good things in life come in small packages. If you are in the same mind set...this place is for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roman Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing