We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Rock by Bansei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coral Rock by Bansei
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here at the end of a 2 week tour. Right on the beach, small but nice pool, friendly staff. Rooms are fine (good by Sri Lankan standards), but can understand some comments about marks/ stains on loo seats and walls - but having spent 2 weeks in all sorts of accommodation, this is pretty good. If you want 5 star, you'll need to pay for it. Worth upgrading to beach view rooms, excellent sunsets are to be had on the balcony.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We get great satisfaction for our efforts from guests like you who appreciate the good work done by us. We look forward to see you again and again.
Best regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    125
    50
    27
    26
See reviews for
69
129
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went to Coral rock as the first day of my honeymoon. The staff has no clue on customer service and on line reservations. They almost got me to pay twice for a single night stay. The cleanliness of the washroom was really bad. There were patches on the commod. Will never go there again! I would not recommend this place to anyone either! Overall, I'm highly disappointed of my stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayaniKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

The hotel is responding to this review for the benefit of clients who would visit this web site. The reviewer checked into the hotel around 14.30 hrs on 09th August and checked out at 05.30 hrs on 10th August 2013. On arrival at the hotel since the reviewer had not paid even a deposit as per the requirement of the hotel, the receptionist on duty correctly requested for the full payment. The reviewer insisted that the full amount had been made and was very abusive towards the reception staff. Since the reviewer checked out very early the next day morning without settling the accommodation bill, the Front Office Manager tried contacting the reviewer. The reviewer kept insisting that she was not in a position to discuss any matters with the executives and was adamant that the discussions would be only with a director of the hotel. A director of the hotel got involved at this point and the reviewer gave instructions to charge the credit card of which details had been provided, however the hotel could not charge the credit card since it was declining the payment. The reviewer started giving dates when to charge the credit card and there was no response even on the given dates. Finally after several telephone calls and e-mails correspondences between the director of the hotel and the reviewer cash was deposited by the reviewer to the hotel’s bank account on Wednesday the 02nd October 2013 (54 days) after checking out from the hotel.

We regret to note that this review has been very damaging to the hotel’s reputation for no fault of the hotel and request the reviewer to remove this review.

We hope to welcoming back the reviewer at the hotel.

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hi,
Stayed for one night since there was a special offer on the rate. Clearly a very bad idea. The rooms are small & also the linen is dirty.The website and photos of this hotel portray it in a better light than it actually is.
Guest first impression was the hospitality it was really terrible.It was like we came to stay there on free of Charge Basis.
Also the first impression of the hotel was poor.
Only one good thing is they had a choices for breakfast & it is tasty.
Also couldn't sleep because of the noises.

Thanks.

Room Tip: You must choose superioor rooms which faces to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiliniPeiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are seriously concerned about your remarks regarding hospitality.We receive regular commendations for our excelled service which you will see in other guest comments.If you had booked a deluxe room may be you would have had completely different views.
Best regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night since there was a special offer on the rate. Clearly a very bad idea. The rooms are nice but the linen is dirty. When I asked the hotel they did change the sheets but even those didn't seem very clean. They have an issue with laundry I think. According to the hotel the stains are due I chemicals used to wash the laundry and not dirt.

The view from the room was nice thought and it had a nice balcony.

The food again was a let down and frankly the dining space is way too small. This makes it very crowed with not much space to walk about. Also, there was a band playing on Saturday night which was annoying since the space is so small and they are "in your ear" so to say!

It might have been a good idea to open the doors in the dining area to give it a bit more of a spacious look!

Overall, not worth the money spent, and I'm glad we didn't pay full price. That would have been such a disappointment. Also, there are much better places in the area so I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank VaruniV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. Steps will be taken to rectify and shortcomings. The restaurant is meant for only the thirty four rooms. The music is provided due to popular request and is much appreciated by most guests.
We received good comments most of the time and you will observe excellent remarks if you go through comments made by most other guests.
Best regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. A great hotel, staff are very friendly and helpful. Eating here is worth it as the food is very tasting. Had a room overlooking the beach. Great location. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mawkesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We get great satisfaction for our efforts from guests like you who appreciate the good work done by us. We look forward to see you again and again.
Best regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a night.. initially was apprehensive with different reviews about the hotel. Over all it was a pleasant surprise, the rooms downstairs were a bit musty, so we opted for ocean view rooms, had to pay a bit extra but it was worth the view.

The staff was helpful and nice.. they went out of their way to help make our stay very good. They have a nice pool by the sea..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljpaulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks.Guests like you not only appreciate our high standards.But also encourage us to give of our best.We look forward to seeing you again and again.
Best regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed at Coral Rock one night in May with my family. This is my first stay at a Amaya property. Even though the room view was good all other facilities were below par. Rooms were not clean. Toilet cover had to be replaced since it looked like it had blood stains. We were told its due to a chemical used for cleaning. When checked in we were told of a buffet breakfast but later it was changed to a menu option at last minute. Restaurant staff did not speak or understood English well. Kids meals were delivered last and in one instance 15-20 min later than the adults. Worse of all during one meal we all were served with drinking water that smelt like urine, which we escalated to the restaurant manager immediately.

Overall, it was a disappointing experience at Coral Rock. Avoid since there are dozens of other far better resorts nearby at Hikkaduwa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoeWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are rated very high in guest reviews. But it is useful to occasionally get a n adverse review. Your comments are noted and conveyed to those concerned to remedial action.The stains on the Toilet cover have been caused by some chemical and when brought to our notice was immediately changed.

The buffet breakfast had to be changed as the breakfast count went down due to group leaving early and asking for a takeaway breakfast. Restaurant staff speaks English with the exception of one or two from the area to whom we are obliged to give employment. However they all understand English as though the season we serve mostly Europeans. Kids meal has been delayed as the staff was instructed to serve them only after the finished the soup which took some time.

Your comments about water are to totally unacceptable as our drinking water is of the highest quality and purity and has been treated and tasted. We also carry out a regular testing of the water at a laboratory and reports are available for perusal. Thanks once again for bringing any shortcoming to our notice.
Best regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
#26 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Rock by Bansei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Rock by Bansei

Property: Coral Rock by Bansei
Address: 340, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Bansei by Hotel J)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Rock by Bansei 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Coral Rock by Bansei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing