We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Rock by Bansei
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Reviewed May 5, 2013

we went to this hotel just because of the name AMAYA as they are a good hotel group.We paid almost 15000.00 rupees on BB
Room -They had two mattress kept together to make a bigger bed for two.dust everywhere , pillow cases had spots in it.small rooms with no maintenance at all.No tea coffee making facilities provided.
Breakfast - You cannot get at least an omelet as per your taste you will have to eat what they provide you.

Location - really good.So many street foods are available, easy access to the beach and the coral watching boats.good area to swim and snorkeling.

basically hotel is good if it is not 15$ per night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neranjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

The comments mentioned have been raised to the relevant department and we do hope you would stay with us in the near future thereby giving us a chance to recreate a great vacation for you.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 408 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We got a room facing the sea an the view ws awwsome and was sooo relaxing..... the staff also was very friendly. We stayed there for 1 night and for dinner we didnt go for the buffet, instead we ordered frm the Ala cart menu.... we were not that fond of the food that we got specially the sooo they calld "Hot Butter Cuttle Fish" which is my favourite was mmmm soggy n was not tasty as i expected. but the breakfast buffet was great....mmm yea i might visit this place again if they r ready to gimme my HOT BUTTER CUTTLE FISH dish.... ;)

Room Tip: Get the ocean view rooms to enjoy a relaxing holiday.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waleryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Coral Rock By Amaya!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at with us and that we were able to make your stay a comfortable, relaxing and memorable one.

Regarding your food order comments mentioned have been raised to the relevant department.

The entire team is thrilled to hear such kind comments about the food, facilities and service.Will relay your kind comments to our staff and we look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A friend of mine knows the owner and booked me a room, so I could explore this area of Sri Lanka while visiting friends in Colombo. This beautiful boutique hotel if not ten feet from the water and the back pool area is a great place to relax and enjoy the view. I only stayed one night, but I had four wonderful meals. I arrived early so they let me enjoy a complimentary breakfast. They had and international breakfast bar that was delicious. They service was five star for a small boutique hotel. I never left my room that someone didn't offer me assistance or a drink. They knew when I arrived that I was recovering from an illness, so they sent a fruit platter to my room. The views were amazing. The area was extremely quiet and I got some much needed rest. If you walk a quarter of a mile or so towards the left on the beach to the furthest point you see from the hotel, there are some sea turtles. I saw them in the morning around 10am. You can grab some seaweed and feed them. There are many locals offering assistance as well, but you don't need it. A simple "no thank you" sends them on their way. I can't speak enough about the beauty of the sunset. The hotel was impeccably clean as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopeisgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments and this thorough review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rest, the views and the service of the staff. We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a large group stay at this hotel with many different requirements such as adjoining rooms etc. We had requested ocean-view rooms which was fulfilled. I think we may have not enjoyed our stay here if we had the street side view. The ocean laps the hotel and the view is extremely relaxing.

We had arranged for half board which made it very good value. The buffet dinner and breakfast was good quality and fresh. There was a good range to choose from. The pool was popular with our crew, and there were plenty of areas in the hotel to relax.

The bathroom was clean and modern. The room was a good size with a balcony to look over the ocean. We didn't hear any noise from the street. We will definately come back here. It was nice to be in a smaller hotel.

Having a large group, we booked via email and recieved fantastic service from Dilshan. He was even kind enough to upgrade our room to the honeymoon suite. We all recieved fruit platters which was a nice touch too.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean fronted room and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChazandHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments and this thorough review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at with us and that we were able to make your stay a comfortable, relaxing and memorable one.

The entire team is thrilled to hear such kind comments about the food, facilities and service.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not so good value for price, we were a bit disappointed overall. We had communicating rooms (not so often available) with our children, with great view on the Ocean. Buffet breakfast was good enough. Ok for 2 nights, would not recommand longer.

Room Tip: Ocean view required to avoid traffic noise from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

The comments mentioned have been raised to the relevant department and we do hope you would stay with us in the near future thereby giving us a chance to recreate a great vacation for you.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The website and photos of this hotel portray it in a better light than it actually is. The quality of the furninshings is fine and the staff is friendly. However, the massive flaw is that it is built on a small property between the main road and the sea. The superior rooms, overlooking the main road are awfully noisy. Each floor however, has a lounge/balcony space overlooking the sea which is really nice. The breakfast buffet was good but has the potential to be better. Overall, it is not really value for money.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room and NOT one facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taniade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

The comments mentioned have been raised to the relevant department and we do hope you would stay with us in the near future thereby giving us a chance to recreate a great vacation for you.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Coral Rock by Amaya is a HIGHLY OVERPRICED INN masquerading itself as a Star Class Resort Hotel. Even their website is misleading as many of facilities do not exist. There are many Internationally recognized 5 Star resort hotels in Sri Lanka that cost less and offer much more. One could classify Coral Rock as a City Inn that one would find board and lodging on an official/business trip. It is certainly not a place to spend a vacation. Coral Rock is situated on a narrow strip of land between a busy/noisy road (Galle Road) and the beach.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank PhilR768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#9 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
1,849 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
443 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#22 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#18 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Rock by Bansei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Rock by Bansei

Address: 340 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Bansei by Hotel J)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $84 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Rock by Bansei 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Rock by Bansei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing