We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean view (and sound)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Rock by Bansei
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Krakow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ocean view (and sound)”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not so good value for price, we were a bit disappointed overall. We had communicating rooms (not so often available) with our children, with great view on the Ocean. Buffet breakfast was good enough. Ok for 2 nights, would not recommand longer.

Room Tip: Ocean view required to avoid traffic noise from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

The comments mentioned have been raised to the relevant department and we do hope you would stay with us in the near future thereby giving us a chance to recreate a great vacation for you.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    129
    53
    27
    27
See reviews for
75
135
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The website and photos of this hotel portray it in a better light than it actually is. The quality of the furninshings is fine and the staff is friendly. However, the massive flaw is that it is built on a small property between the main road and the sea. The superior rooms, overlooking the main road are awfully noisy. Each floor however, has a lounge/balcony space overlooking the sea which is really nice. The breakfast buffet was good but has the potential to be better. Overall, it is not really value for money.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room and NOT one facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taniade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

The comments mentioned have been raised to the relevant department and we do hope you would stay with us in the near future thereby giving us a chance to recreate a great vacation for you.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Coral Rock by Amaya is a HIGHLY OVERPRICED INN masquerading itself as a Star Class Resort Hotel. Even their website is misleading as many of facilities do not exist. There are many Internationally recognized 5 Star resort hotels in Sri Lanka that cost less and offer much more. One could classify Coral Rock as a City Inn that one would find board and lodging on an official/business trip. It is certainly not a place to spend a vacation. Coral Rock is situated on a narrow strip of land between a busy/noisy road (Galle Road) and the beach.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PhilR768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Eghezee, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We should have stayed at a nice guest house in Galle but the tour operator sent us here, probably because they had more commissions. Fortunately, we managed to refuse a room overlooking the main road Galle-Colombo (heavy traffic day and night) and were given a nice room overlooking the ocean.
The restaurant was already dirty for breakfast with a lot of noisy children. As for the swimming pool, we didn't even anticipate putting a foot into it.

Room Tip: Please note that many rooms are overlooking the busy road Galle-Colombo (max 2 metres between the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about Coral Rock By Amaya Hikkaduwa.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay as we do our level best to make sure that our guests have a wonderful stay.

The comments mentioned have been raised to the relevant department and we do hope you would stay with us in the near future thereby giving us a chance to recreate a great vacation for you.

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienne, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The Coral Rock is right on the sea. There is no real beach in front of it but you can still get down to the sea by a flight of stairs which have been badly damaged by the tsunami of 2004. Will the repair be done soon ? I would highly recommand you to choose a room overlooking the sea because at the front it can be very noisy due to the heavy traffic on the main road Galle/colombo. Apart from the stairs going down to sea level I found the hotel well maitained. The rooms are spacious with a small balcony, bed was ok. The swimming pool is of a fair size and facing the Indian ocean, great place to lounge and watch the diving boats, glass boats going over to the coral reef not far away from shore. Breakfast is great and plentiful, keeps you going for the day. Had diner at the restaurant once and did not like it much, was expensive for what I had. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall I highly recommand the Coral Rock, for its location, and for the good amenities it provides.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jean-yves c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments and this thorough review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rest, the views and the service of the staff. We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here Feb-March 2013 for 2 weeks. All the hotels on the Hikka strip are right on the road and can be noisy for light sleepers. On arrival we found we were in the roadside rooms, having booked the Superior thinking that was the sea side, it emerged the De Luxe is, confusingly, the better room by the beach. We weren't happy about the room and whilst it was our error they were really good about it and moved us at no extra cost when a room became available 2 days later. The rooms are simple and comfortable, good air con, with good bathrooms and a very good shower, all cleaned daily with fresh towels and linen. The breakfast here is good, with plenty of choice of sweet or savoury and omelettes freshly made to your choice. This hotel's best asset by far is its staff, who are wonderful. Everything starts with a smile, they can't do enough to help you and are all so pleasant and friendly. Although the pool area is quite small, the location is ideal as it is right on the beach just a ten yard walk to the water. Walking southwards up the beach there are bars and restaurants for as far as you care to walk and you can eat well for relatively little. We are holiday sloths and rarely stray from beach or bar but as we had travelled so far we felt the need to try and see a bit of the country. We did the obligatory trip to the elephant orphanage, herb garden, temple etc but made the mistake of trying to fit it into a day. We should have had an overnight, it was too far and so much driving we came back worn out and grumpy. Sri Lanka is a beautiful country, very green and tropical and the people are lovely, sweet natured and friendly. We would recommend the Coral Rock, we felt so comfortable there we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you have to book a De Luxe. The Superior rooms look out onto the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manconhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments and this thorough review.We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at with us and that we were able to make your stay a comfortable, relaxing and memorable one.

The entire team is thrilled to hear such kind comments about the food, facilities and service.We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Decent room with comfortable bed, cleaned every day, fresh towels every day, pool towels provided.Great shower in a modern if small and fusty bathroom.Flat screen TV, decent balcony furniture. We had a room overlooking the sea, the other side of the hotel has a view of the noisy street below. So we fell asleep listening to the sound of the waves rather than the sound of wacky races on the main road.

Pool area is very nice, but a lack of sun beds made worse by selfish hogging from people who promptly disappear for hours on end makes things more annoying.

If you can manage to persuade the pool staff to save you a couple of beds and a big sun brolly, it is a fantastic place to relax and watch the activities of the locals on their various fishing, diving, and tourist activities.

There are turtles galore and a superb surfing beach just down the road, and plenty of places to eat and drink along the strip in Hikkaduwa.

Whilst the breakfast was very good, the rest of the food was awful, so give it a miss for lunch and dinner.

All the staff were extremely kind and helpful towards us.

Room Tip: You must have a sea facing room, the alternative might spoil your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desert-Johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Front Office Manager at Coral Rock by Bansei, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments and this thorough review.We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at with us and that we were able to make your stay a comfortable, relaxing and memorable one.

The entire team is thrilled to hear such kind comments about the food, facilities and service.The comments mentioned have been raised to the relevant department.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Gihan Ishara
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Avenra Beach Hotel
Avenra Beach Hotel
#16 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Rock by Bansei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Rock by Bansei

Property: Coral Rock by Bansei
Address: 340, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Bansei by Hotel J)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Rock by Bansei 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coral Rock by Bansei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing