We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travelers have booked this property
Both pools
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Both pools
Hikkaduwa Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Both pools
Hikkaduwa Beach
Hi-Fi Music system & LED TV
front view
Hikkaduwa Beach
Garden
Balcony
Bathroom 4
Bathroom 3
Another bedrrom
Pool view from ground floor room
View from Pool
King size bed
Ground floor bath room #1
Garden & pool view from room @ fround floor
Ground floor varenda
view from 1st floor
Living area on first floor
Hikkaduwa Beach
Turtle feeding at Hikkaduwa beach
Underwater world in Sri lanka
Elephants in Sri lanka
Sigiriya Rock
Sun set
Hikkaduwa Beach
Dining Table
Dining Table
Bathroom 3
Garden
Bathroom 4
Sitting Hall with open area
Sun Beds
Garden
Roof Picture 1
Roof Picture 2
Roof Picture 3
mini Library
Dining table
A bedroom
Bathroom 3
Shower room
Bedroom furnitures
Kitchen
Pool view from ground floor room
Bedroom
Garden
first floor sitting area
Passage towards the balcony
Mini Gym
Mini Gym
Hikkaduwa Fishing Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mark w
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“By local standards this is a Palace, but in Western Star ratings; 2.5, not 5.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. Obviously we had high expectations given the photos and other reviews.... the fact that I have 4 pages of A4 written down from the time indicates the level of satisfaction; mixed. The owners knew in advance we were were on honeymoon.

As it was Sinahalese new year, the owner was away for the first three days; the rep was out partying, and most people in the area seemed non-work focused. Fair enough!However, our money spends the same, regardless of national holidays.

The four things I disliked and would point out;

1) Cleanliness: As no hot water was available to the kitchen, we had to boil the kettle to wash up; despite our simple request for a plug in the kitchen sink, it never appeared. I am sure those guests employing catering staff at Hikka Villa dont have to worry about that...

This a large property to maintain and clean; the cleaner was a lovely man, but not being managed properly. Bags of rubbish were left at the rear of the house, the outside shower was unclean and unsafe (broken glass); the downstairs shower curtain was a breeding ground for bacteria, and the standard of cleanliness in the kitchen was poor. (Honeymooners cleaning the kitchen, not a great start!)

2) Privacy and security: in order to enter your accommadation, you have to cross the owners bungalow grounds adjacent. Their front gate is locked at night (no key provided) and they have a dog. Eventually, after waking the whole bungalow, someone comes out to unlock the gate. Lots of vehicles coming and going at all hours. Noise from the children and baby next door (at times), when in the pool. The teenager from next door peering through the house windows one morning! We felt secure, but not really private. Both safes inoperative in the house.

3) Facilities; TV and DVD inoperative (bill unpaid message?). Wi-fi inoperative. And we didnt get offered free electric or any compensation, despite our concerns being raised at the end of the holiday when management appeared.

4) Management non-existent till the end. The unreliable Rep was friendly, and very quick to offer us "tours" etc. Once we said no, he lost interest and disappeared. I arranged a moped hire through him; not to be repeated!

The positives were; a great pool which was kept immaculately clean, wonderful (front) garden, and a good location down a quiet country lane, not too far from Hikka dawu.
Friendly people in the bungalow, seemed a nice family. The owner was very attentive at the end of our holiday whilst collecting the money for the electricity, and arranging a transfer for us to the airport.

In summary, this Villa could be an amazing experience. The owners need to improve standards and work on communication. I would not recommend it for a honeymoon couple or family holiday; but I would think it ok for a large group of travellers, splitting the cost.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great pool, great location.
Liked least: Poor cleanliness, not that private, lack of interest from management.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2013
Dear Mark,

Many thanks for sharing your concerns. I agree that this villa is too big for two people and not easy to manage without Chef cum Housekeeper that we normally offer upon guest request.

All your points and concerns will be addressed with our team and Chanaka to ensure corrective measures will be taken. I do apologize for any inconvenience you may have been caused.

Regards
Prasad
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewed April 27, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you may have been caused.

Late 2012, we have added an extra area to sitting hall as an indoor garden to ensure fresh air circulation is well maintained within large sitting hall of this villa. Chanaka and I have made a note from your feedback that we need to cover this indoor garden through a net to ensure no single insect can enter to villa. This will be 100% completed before 15th May 2013.

Satellite TV channels was working but this was not clearly explained how to operate (Power connection to receiver) at the time of check in. We have added this point to our initial show around check list for all new guests check-ins from now on.

Due to high demand we we not able to get this villa free for our annual maintainance since past 8 months. At present we have started colour washing and furniture upgrade all the bedrooms which should be completed within next couple of weeks.

Regards
Prasad
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Poynton UK
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2013
Thanks for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai
Reviewed April 17, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2013
Many thanks. Looking forward to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deccanhp
Pune
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredibly good value at Hikkaduwa”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this villa for a much awaited holiday to Sri Lanka. The villa was large, spacious and clean. The pool and garden were very well kept and the bonus was a pair of friendly and inquisitive rabbits who became part of the family...one dubbed Johns Hopkins by our daughter.
Chanaka made us familiar with everything and his team Chat and Lal , were very helpful. We had our own rented car so could not avail of Chat's services but I am sure he is a good guide to all activities in the South.
Be aware that electricity is very expensive in Sri Lanka and it would be adviseable to check your usage at the villa if you are on a budget.
Lal made excellent jumbo prawn curry several times and introduced us to authentic Sri Lankan food, making us delicious breakfasts and dinners whenever we had enough of eating out.
Hikka Villa is close to all the sights, a half hour drive to Galle and Unawatuna, fifteen minutes to Ambalangoda, one hour to Kosgoda so it is very easy to get around. The train station connects you to Colombo...it takes two hours to get there for a day or two.Its a short walk to the beach and village and rickshaws are available if you need to go further afield.
We couldn't have made a better choice than Hikka Villa and cannot wait to return for a repeat of the quiet , relaxed and wonderful time had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and pool and kitchen.
Liked least: The bathrooms.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2012
Many Thanks for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewed May 24, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 24, 2012
Dear Sam,

Thanks for your feedback and I will certainly pass to our staff Lal and Chat. Hope to see you again in HikkaVilla.

Regards
Prasad
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing