We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price for basic standard”
Review of Appolo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Appolo Hotel
Ranked #105 of 146 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Prague
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Reasonable price for basic standard”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Appolo is a Sri Lanka style hotel located between the main road of Hikkaduwa and the beach. It is near to many restaurants and shops. The owners of the hotel - friendly and relaxed family - are helpfull with arrangements but the hotel offers only very basic standard. I had a small room with AC, fan, small fridge and access to WiFi and it was closer to the beach. I did not like the ilumination of the room - just energy saving bulbs with cool green light. If you stay there ask for room which is not facing the noisy steet. All basic services like cleaning, changing towels were on request only, but if I asked they did everything.. It was possible to use the safe in their office for passport and cerditcards. Breakfast was nice but simple - eggs or omelette, fresh fruit salad, juice, tea - but very pleasant and relaxed on the teracce with a marvelous sea view. Overall pleasant stay..

Room Tip: First floor beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
11
25
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We paid SLR4000/nt for a very small room. It had a fan and good AC, and a mini fridge(which is essential in this weather). They provided extra towels for the beach. Nice pot of brewed leaf tea, and nice fresh bread with breakfast.
Bad- the toilet and room smelled bad for 1 of the 3 days we were there. The managers did nothing about it except to give us some toilet perfume to put into the toilet after we flushed. They did not offer to relocate us at all. The eggs at breakfast were like rubber no matter how we asked for them to be cooked.
They also lost our room key 1 day, as we had given them the key to allow them to clean the room. Apparently another guest picked up our key and took it with him. We had our passports and sig. money in the room, which the other man could have taken. The managers knew nothing about loosing our keys until we came back in the afternoon and asked for them back.
Our room was not cleaned once during the 3 days we were there. They do not have mosquito nets, as they believe that they do not get Mosquitos on the first floor. We had mosquitoes and had to ask for "Good Night" mosquito repellent. I was given the plug in machine, but told to go and buy the liquid myself as they didn't have any. I did what they should have done and went across the road to a little shop and bought the liquid.
Much better value elsewhere. We are currently staying Ina lovely big AC apartment for SLR3000/nt. Not booked on line, but just searched along the Main Street where there are lots of signs for rooms to rent.

Room Tip: They have apartments, which may be better. Check the price for these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights at Appolo and I'll start with the good parts. Location is very good, central and on the beachside of the road. Nevertheless the beach in front of the Hotell is not very nice, and there are other stretches that are much better. The rooms are clean and upon request we could borrow an extra set of towels for the beach. 

The room we stayed in was on the second floor, unfortunately closer to the road than the beach. Very uninspiring rooms with terrible lighting, bright shining low energy lamp and no bedside lamp. Meaning either complete darkness or sharp blue industrial light. Also wifi slow and sketchy and AC is either everything or nothing, meaning other you wake up alternating between freezing or sweating a couple of times per night. 

The bed is probably the worst I've ever slept in, you feel the hard planks through the mattress and sleeping on the side actually hurts. When turning it sound like the whole thing is about to collapse. 

When speaking about sounds we've also been disturbed by noises. It feels like we are situated right on the road and also every morning I've been woken up by neighbours chatting or the staff shouting at each other. 

The woman who seems to run the place has been very helpful and willing to help. For the rest of the staff, working the restaurant, I must say that I am everything but impressed.. Unable to even say hello after seeing us for four days in a row. Breakfast is alright but not more, toast, jam, butter, eggs and a small bowl of fruit, two of the mornings there were a couple of ants in the scrambled eggs. One day coffee tasted next to nothing, the morning after it was thick. 


So conclusion, clean but uncomfortable in a good location. However the village is very small so location doesn't really mean that much. Price, 4000 rupies per night. 

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Apollo was our third stay during our 2nd Lanka holiday. We got there after the high season so we got a good rate for a big room on the 3rd floor. It looked like 2 bedroom apartment. We got the Master bedroom and a French couple checked into the second bedroom the same evening. We spend many hours sitting at the restaurant enjoying the view of the Indian Ocean. I asked the owner if he could suggest a place to learn cooking Sri Lankan food. He told me to learn at his restaurant, no payment just order the menu and go watch in the kitchen. I was very excited even though the cooking was the tourist version of just 1 curry and rice (the real Sri Lankan curry comes in a 6 dish set) it was still pretty awesome to see it done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank octobersym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked an apartment but they were on the ground floor a bit dark, they gave us a room on the top floor, which was huge, AC, cable and a large bathroom. Great place to stay, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, cold beer, right on the beach with many restaurants not far away (try number 1 roti house). The place is basic no 5 star resort but clean and comfortable. (58 & 60 year old couple)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maroubra53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruokolahti
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We,and our friends spent our vacation in Sri-Lanka in the beginning of February and enjoyed that time a lot, Appolo hotel is a perfect place to stay! Hotel, including rooms is clean and good looking. We were on the second floor, and we were satisfied with our room. The bathroom equipment was broken but manager Attula fixed it soon. AC and fan worked very well. The hotel is so small that everybody knows all quests and you can be sure that there are no robbers.There are lots of good restaurants near Appolo hotel, Manager Attula and his wife, they were so friendly, nice and helpful, maybe it helps them because they have been in Europe and they have learned what kind of servations we need .We have been in many hotels in Hikkaduwa, but Appolo,there was no problems with anything. we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kossis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Rather budget and cozy place for rest with friends. Losation between sea beach and Galle road. There are clear rooms and spaciouc hallway. Food very limited and without diversity. There is big bed, condition, good bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hikkaduwa
0.6 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shehan Guest House
Shehan Guest House
#6 of 9 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
YKD Tourist Rest
YKD Tourist Rest
#48 of 146 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Star Holiday Resort
Star Holiday Resort
#21 of 146 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appolo Hotel

Property: Appolo Hotel
Address: No. 412A Galle Road, Wewala, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Appolo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hikkaduwa is a very famous city in srilanka. Because Very beautiful Hikkaduwa Beach, Corals and Surfing Point. The Appolo Hotel is Nicely situated for a beach side Holiday resort in Hikkaduwa. Appolo Hotel faced to beautiful beach area and very close Surf point. We have comfortable full air condition rooms, apartment as your choice. Appolo hotel provide foods and wireless internet service for the any guest stay in Appolo hotel. We can provide many services for our clients. Such as Corel tour, any tours, Ayurvedic treatment, vehicles for hire. Appolo Hotel birth 2003, have more than eight (8) years experience in hotel industry and more than 16,18 years experience in Italy. Appolo hotel got New Look and Modified Fully Condition rooms and others since 2009. We can provide any Italian foods with Italian recipes. Appolo Hotel have different language handling staff; you can use English, Italian, German languages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Appolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing