We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a sri lankan must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rotty Restaurant

Rotty Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 110 Restaurants in Hikkaduwa
Cuisines: Healthy, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Its a sri lankan must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

the cheesy rotty was like heaven in a spicy rotty! it wasnt too hot but it wasnt too mild and they prepared it just the way i asked! if and when you go to sri lanka you MUST try rotty and string hoppers!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    42
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

big portions, tasty food, cheap. The staff should smile more......
many options for a rotty, you can put whatever you want inside.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food - nice combinations!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very simple shop by the road, but lots of variations of fillings in your rotty. Fast service. A nice alternative to the hotel food!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PurplewallLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
177 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Delicious...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

An amazing and cheap place to grab lunch and a really broad menu - we had mushroom and cheese rottys and they were divine. One my not be enough for anyone with a big appetite (in my husbands case he was haggling to be allowed a third)

The recipes were interesting and many seemed designed for a western palate and market - compared with the local restaurants they did not seem to have the traditional recipes (like spicy fish) but the dishes were lovely and we returned here a number of times. Do try one of the local street food places off the tourist strip too as they are really good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzle-Bizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“There is a choice for anyone with the most weirdest of pallattes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were a group of 10 who got there hoping it will be a quick meal and we can move on back to Colombo soon! Oh boy - we were mistaken. For one thing it was busy times in Hikkaduwa - just before the New year, and Hikka gets choc-a-bloc with people, foriegn and local tourists alike.

What we realised was this is not a place for a quick snack. After all it says restaurant. You should be prepared to order your food and then sip a beer or two before the food arrives. And when it arrives - I felt it was worth the wait! Roti restaurant uses the Godamba roti - plain flour mixed with oil and water made in to a pan cake and the speciality comes with the fillings they have. Usually the godamba roti is filled with Egg, but at roti restaurant you have 100 of fillings to chose from avacado and cheese to shrimp and bacon if you like, and a variety of sweet versions with coconut and honey to chocolate to name a few!

Price is reasonable. Each roti is about Rs. 300 - 500/- rupees dependig on the filling.

The other thing really cool - is that everything, meaning the chopping of the fruits, vegetables and meat for the filling preparation happens after you place the order. This means it is really fresh made to order. And the kitchen is an open -kitchen. You can see the food been prepared.

Worth a try for sure!

You will not regret it - but as I said make sure you have plenty of time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DilSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotty Restaurant also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Galle District
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 

Been to Rotty Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing