We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, food, rooms and staff (and surf)”
Review of Hotel Royal Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Royal Beach
Ranked #86 of 158 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Do yourself a favour and stay at the Royal Beach Hotel - it is awesome.

Do yourself another favour and get the kitchen to make you some traditional local curries for dinner each night - they will blow your mind!!!!! Make sure you have coconut sambal too.

This hotel is right on the sand and is located at the southern end of Hikkaduwa away from the large ugly hotels of the northern end and right in front of the surf. The rooms are clean and tidy and moderately priced. They also have good day beds on the beach and you can chill all day on the beach.

The hotel is run by Kumara and his lovely trustworthy staff (possibly the nicest staff ever). This was the second time we stayed here since our first visit in 2010 and we will keep coming back.

I could not recommend a hotel is Sri Lanka anymore and could not fault the service, as the staff were always trying to help out and loved to have a chat.

Room Tip: Ask the kitchen to cook you local curries - they are not on the menu per se but they will do them fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJ83255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 132 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here as part of a G Adventures tour group for three nights. Our tour guide did tell us in advance that this hotel was not going to be the best but the location was good. We had to move rooms after coming back one day to find that the air conditioning vent had leaked over the floor. The second room took an hour for the shower to get fixed. Other group members also had toilet and shower issues as well. If I was going to the beaches down south of Sri Lanka again I'd bypass Hikkaduwa Beach and head onwards to one closer to Galle Fort. Like Mirissa Beach.

Room Tip: The top floor seemed to have the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have just come back from 2 weeks in Hikkaduwa. As per usual I read the comments placed by other users before we booked. Some of them are good and well balanced some are from people who booked Sri Lanka expecting San Trope.

Ignore these and travel with an open mind and a few expectations and you will find a absolute gem.

The hotel is clean. The rooms are serviced very well every two days and the staff are fantastic. Please don't forget to tip. This hotel is on the beach. I don't mean across the road from the beach or the beach is at the bottom of the garden, I mean ON the beach. The location is 5*.

The hotel owner Kumara and his team are great and very helpful. We met other guests from Australia who have been staying with Kumara for the past 30 years. You don't get a reputation like that without doing something right.

The food was great. The breakfast was simple with fruit and eggs every way. I didn't mind that we had the same every day but there is plenty of cafes and restaurants within strolling distance.

The restaurant food at the hotel was excellent. There is a menu that is good and tries to cater for the westerner but if you ask the chef, he will knock you up some fantastic local curry dishes. The fish and seafood is fresh and delicious.

The season in Sri Lanka is relatively short so the hotels and traders only have a small window of opportunity to win your tourist dollars. Consequently sometimes you do pay more than you think is reasonable but if you haggle a little with a smile you can get a bargain and the traders make a living. Everyone's happy.

Room Tip: A room by close to the sea is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WombatPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The only positive thing I have to say about this place is the location and adjustable shower head. If you are staying at this hotel, be sure not to pay for all your days in advance, as you will NOT receive a refund if you decide to leave earlier than planned. When asked why I couldn't get a refund the reply was;

-when it was handwritten in "check in" book, no refunds could be made.
- He had to give a commission to the Tuk Tuk driver that brought me there.
- He had to discuss it with his brother..
- I could eat for free at the hotel restaurant instead.

When asked him where it was stated that unused days were non refundable, his reply was the same. When I pointed out that I did not sign anything, nor was I informed of this policy, he didn't seem to care. There were 3 people staying at the hotel at the time, so it wasn't like I had made him lose money by occupying the room.

He will also tell you on the first day how honest of a guy he is, and that you should book your tours through him, and that everyone else will rip you off, but not him! Give me a break.. Do yourself a favor, and book another hotel..

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Berthina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Property is right in front of the beach.First we where offered a room away from the beach, we changed it to sea facing room, which has a balcony facing the beach. The room was clean. Breakfast was was basic. Dinner they served some excellent sea food. Six of us stayed for 2 nights no complaints. The staff and the owner where very courteous. Looking forward for my next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room no 18, don't take the room on the side of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samcbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. It looks modern, clean, also posh and all this for a decent price. The hotel is well equipped, room and bathroom were grand, the bed was big and comfortable. The AC was working well, hot water, and fan was fine. For a lower price u can ask for no AC in the room. There is Wifi as well, although it works best outside the room.
There is an upstairs area of the hotel with sofas, couches and TV which is quite relaxing in the evening if you can bear the heat and the mosquitoes :P
The beach is right outside from the hotel, there are some sun beds belonging to the hotel. There is even a beach volleyball net around. Plus, for the surfers there is a surf school right next door.
I loved the hotel since it was very relaxing, clean, and the beach right there. This is rather common actually, since most of the hotels have the beach right next to them.
I suppose the prices are ok, although this is really subjective. We paid 5000 for an AC room, in low season, although u can negotiate. We're still improving the negotiating skills....!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel are close to a bar next door which puts loud music in the weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simonetta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Hotel has a great location right on the beach. We paid 2,500LKR for one night without AC. The back of the hotel opens up right onto the sand.

The room was very damp with a lot of mosquitos. We didn't eat there (it seemed that no one else did either), so I can't say anything for the food, except that the restaurant was empty the whole time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hansa Surf Hotel
Hansa Surf Hotel
#98 of 191 in Hikkaduwa
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Why Not Guesthouse
Why Not Guesthouse
#89 of 191 in Hikkaduwa
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfing Beach Guest House
Surfing Beach Guest House
#48 of 191 in Hikkaduwa
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Beach

Address: 582 Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $87 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly built Hotel "Royal Beach" is situated at the famous Hikkaduwa Beach, where we, Kumara and family, were running our "Royal Beach Restaurant" since 1979 to gain our rich experience in the hospitality trade. It is in the best "happening" area with all facilities for water sports, shopping, and many more activities. We, together with our trained staff, will make your holidays a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing