We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nothing Better - Thankyou Six Degrees North”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Six Degrees North

Pool from the veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool from the veranda
Spacious and so comfortable Heritage room, fresh and modern, combined with old world
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Pool from the veranda
Spacious and so comfortable
Heritage room, fresh and modern, combined with old world
Decorated by local artisans
Each rooms different with one thing in common, comfort
Bright and airy
Spacious and comfortable
Our Spice room, turned attic
Handloom bedding
Original Spice Room
Clean spacious bathrooms for each bedroom
cool space
Choice of Outdoor dining
Perfect for a card game in the evenings
Sunset
A Magical place for a wedding or special celebration
So relaxing
Peaceful
Relax in the comfortable hammock
Intimate Dinner
relaxing after a hard day
Our landmark at the end of a long white stretch of palm fringed beach
Lighthouse restaurant at the end of our beautiful beach
Dinner at Six Degrees North
Guests eager to improve their culinary art, they have a wonderful teacher!
Set for the cooking lesson
Result of 30 minutes hard toil in the kitchen. Well done to our great guests
Prawns aplenty
Handsome Waiters set for an occasion
The beach in front is perfect for a wedding
Kandy Dancers
The Famed Kandy Dancers make a party very special
Almost Nightfall
Night Lights
Beach without footprints, lone coconut
Our resident Kingfisher
A special gentle little friend
Water Monitor.... looks friendly enough
Super Squirrel
Built in Clothes Line
Fishermens boats
Tuk Tuks can go almost anywhere
Fishermans hiding place
Handsome Fisherman
Three beautiful little monkeys.....
Ambalangoda business centre
Sri Lanka V Australia featuring Shane Warne & Murilly
Beautiful Galle Fort
Galle Fort Building
Galle Fort Ocean
Galle Fort Lighthouse
Old Printing Hotel, Galle Forte Hotel
Wonderful Architecture
Our beautiful new van
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
658samf
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing Better - Thankyou Six Degrees North”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

From the initial email and conversation 6DN were on top of their game.

Udith and his team were fantastic from our arrival thru to us sadly leaving at the end of our stay. The villa is set up perfectly for family, kids and friends getting together and relaxing.

We were on our final days in Sri Lanka with my wife and 18month old boy and left 6DN and Sri Lanka extremely happy and relaxed.

The pool, kitchen, living, bedrooms area suit all different holidays with the beach metres away.

We look forward to staying here again (and seeing the newly built 6DN villas next door.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complete Service
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2013
Thanks so much Sam. it was our pleasure to have you, the girls loved your little boy and would have gladly kept him! We are all just sorry we couldn't take you for longer but please come back soon, you were all a delight. By the way, the new place is reall lovely. Thanks for the support with this project.
Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Villa”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I stayed here with a group of 7 in the main villa.
Big comfortable clean rooms, big lounge and living area and awesome pool.
The beach is right out the front should you want to swim in the sea.

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left the service was nothing short of amazing. Udith and his team made us feel very welcome and nothing was ever problem.

The food was delicious, especially the seafood bbq which is highly recommended, especially the crab !!

Location wise, its a short trip into Hikkaduwa for local shopping and whatever else you may need.

There is nothing bad to say about this place, I would go back in a heartbeat, it was a shame we had to leave.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seano100
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa!!!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Myself and 5 friends stayed at the villa for 4 days. It's simply amazing and the staff are great. If we are in SL again we will be staying at Six degrees north for sure.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa's sunsets
Liked least: very slow wifi
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2013
Hi there Sean,
Thanks so much for this, we really appreciate the kind words.
We are all really happy you had a great time, and we hope to see you again soon,

Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ksd211220...
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutly perfect for our family vacation”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My family and I stayed at 6 degrees for a week in February 2013 and found that the villa and its staff far exceeded our expectations in almost every possible way. It started before our arrival with the owner, Suzanne, who provided answers to my every little question and suggested ideas for excursions based on my input. Every one of her recommendations turned out to be exactly what my family and I (including my wife, her mother, and our 2 little girls, ages 2 and 4) were looking for. Then there is her staff, who understood exactly what we wanted and needed without us having to tell them. Udith, the manager, worked within the guidelines I gave for excursions and worked out the best days and times to do each, arriving at each excursion at the ideal time of day in terms of crowds, sunsets, et cetera, to get maximum enjoyment out of them. Plus, he was a real joy to sit and talk with at the beginning or end of each day! Then there is Kalum, the chef. He is a fabulous chef (and my wife and I can be tough critics in this department, as can our children), with a repertoire of amazing dishes, including Sri Lankan and Thai curries, grilled seafood (you must try the lobster!!!), as well as nice pasta dishes and sandwiches, with everything seasoned and spiced perfectly - not "native Thai spicy", and not bland -- just right. Dambi, the driver, is incredible at his job -- and be glad you have him, because you don't want to try to figure out the well-choreographed dance that is driving in Sri Lanka. He made all the drives (and 1 or 2 of them were somewhat long) very comfortable for us and our children, and he did all the little things, like stop for bananas so that we would have something to feed the gi-normous squirrels during the river cruise, show us where to stop for coconut drinks and fresh pineapples on the side of the road, and get us the locals' price for each, and where to stop for a good photo opportunity. And the house staff were incredible too -- they took care of everything we needed without intruding or anything -- their presence was exactly as you would hope.
The villa itself is so charming. It is a little hidden gem -- when you turn off the busy street onto the property, it is just its own little slice of paradise. Parrots chirp in the coconut palms at sunrise and sunset, the kingfishers dive into the pool, chipmunks race along the top of wall, and the sunsets over the ocean viewed from the upper-level deck are second to none. We were happy lounging in the hammock, splashing with our little ones in the pool, or enjoying a drink in the shade. The pool was quite small, but was adequate for our small children. However, when we were there some contractors came to do estimates for the job to make it much bigger and include a bar in the pool at the other end. Hopefully when you go there (after May 2013) you will have a bigger pool to enjoy. But that did not detract from our stay at all.
Whatever you need, the staff will make it happen -- Udith is a guy who can get it done, whatever it is. We would love to come back to Sri Lanka, and if we do, there is no other place we would consider staying.

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the staff -- thank you!!!
Liked least: the road noise -- but it wasn't a big deal. i was able to let the waves drown that out.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2013
Oh my goodness thank you so much.

We truly all aim to make our guests as happy and comfortable as possible. It is just incredibly rewarding to know when we succeed, you are so very kind.

Sincere thanks, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Fantastic value for money. We came here thinking we were going to eat out every night but the cook has such delicious food we have stayed in to eat each night. Udith the manager is so obliging and all the other staff cook cleaners and security staff are fantastic. We will definately come again to stay. Our meals were fantastic....everything you need is at the villa

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2013
We all really thank you for these kind words. In particular, Kallum will be delighted to hear you enjoyed his cooking.

We do hope that you come back and stay,

Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heleneand...
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely & relaxing stay at 6 degrees north!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed a week at this beautiful villa during last Christmas and had a wonderful time! Large and nicely decorated villa with a garden right on a stunning beach which we most of the time had on our own! The staff was very helpful, genuinely nice and spoiled us with delicious meals. Definitely try Niahs Springhoppers for breakfast and her Rice&Curry which was the best we had during the whole trip in Sri Lanka! Udith at the villa organized different excursions and booked secure Tuk-Tuk, all very good and efficient!
We went to Ambalangoda maskmuseum&factory which was very interesting and here is where you find the best handcrafted masks in the country and at the best prices. On the same day we did a cruise on the lakes next to Ambalangoda which was very beautiful and relaxing! (make sure to bring a lot of small currencies as you tip a lot...) Unawatuna was not worth it, too far and too crowded beach... Hikkaduwa, a cool surf city, was a nice halfday-trip with Tuk-Tuk!
Of course, you can also just stay and relax at the villa, read in the hammock, take a dip in the pool or take a walk on the beach... It's a lovely place!

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff&location
Liked least: Irregularity of the wifi
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazysuz
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Six Star Service and unforgettable smile!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

My husband and I had stayed in many villa rentals before, just the 2 of us or in groups, never had we been so satisfied before. This was our 1st trip in Sri Lanka and 1st stay at SDN. 1st week of December, 4 nights altogether. From the moment we were picked up at the airport til the moment we left we were very well taken care of and well fed. Our villa manager, Udi,his knowledge and friendliness guided us thru the trip. His driver took us everywhere we wanted to go, never a sleepy moment even driving us 3 hrs to airport at 3 o'clock in the morning. He continue serving us with his head up back straight just kept driving and driving. The housekeeping team, 2 gorgeous ladies and a wonderful honest doorman gave us a home to stay. We loved the local food but if you cannot handle that, the staff there would cook you anything you want (well most stuff). The rooms were clean and just everything you need are available to you. The private beach at the front was beautiful, the locals are so friendly, they are open to conversation and you will see fishermen early in the mornings if you stroll down the coastline. My fishing loves fishing and had caught some good size fishes there.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff, the villa itself, the beach and the food
Liked least: Not enough time to enjoy it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing