We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good place to stay on the beack”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Six Degrees North

Pool from the veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool from the veranda
Spacious and so comfortable Heritage room, fresh and modern, combined with old world
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Pool from the veranda
Spacious and so comfortable
Heritage room, fresh and modern, combined with old world
Decorated by local artisans
Each rooms different with one thing in common, comfort
Bright and airy
Spacious and comfortable
Our Spice room, turned attic
Handloom bedding
Original Spice Room
Clean spacious bathrooms for each bedroom
cool space
Choice of Outdoor dining
Perfect for a card game in the evenings
Sunset
A Magical place for a wedding or special celebration
So relaxing
Peaceful
Relax in the comfortable hammock
Intimate Dinner
relaxing after a hard day
Our landmark at the end of a long white stretch of palm fringed beach
Lighthouse restaurant at the end of our beautiful beach
Dinner at Six Degrees North
Guests eager to improve their culinary art, they have a wonderful teacher!
Set for the cooking lesson
Result of 30 minutes hard toil in the kitchen. Well done to our great guests
Prawns aplenty
Handsome Waiters set for an occasion
The beach in front is perfect for a wedding
Kandy Dancers
The Famed Kandy Dancers make a party very special
Almost Nightfall
Night Lights
Beach without footprints, lone coconut
Our resident Kingfisher
A special gentle little friend
Water Monitor.... looks friendly enough
Super Squirrel
Built in Clothes Line
Fishermens boats
Tuk Tuks can go almost anywhere
Fishermans hiding place
Handsome Fisherman
Three beautiful little monkeys.....
Ambalangoda business centre
Sri Lanka V Australia featuring Shane Warne & Murilly
Beautiful Galle Fort
Galle Fort Building
Galle Fort Ocean
Galle Fort Lighthouse
Old Printing Hotel, Galle Forte Hotel
Wonderful Architecture
Our beautiful new van
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ykurtz
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay on the beack”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We Stayed at the Villa for three nights during October. We were 4 couples, so I did a pretty thorough job in searching for a villa that would accommodate 4 couples in separate bedrooms, all en suite. Suzanne, the owner, was very helpful and assisted in any request that we had.

The proximity to the beach (literally on the beach) was the best, and the villa and staff, especially Udith, the Villa manager, were very helpful. Udith also runs a small tourist agency, so he arranged for us a trip to Galle, transportation back to Colombo (including a boat trip on the Madu River, which was very nice), and even a birthday party with fireworks and a band!

The only issue we had, was with the fourth bedroom - basically, one of the three original bedrooms with a high ceilings was split it into two, thus creating another bedroom on the upper level. This room suffers from quite high noise, and the couple that stayed there was not very happy. Therefore I recommend this room for children of the family, etc., but not as a separate room for another couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: On the beach
Liked least: The fourth (upper) room
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Reviewed July 8, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2012
Hello, thank you for the lovely comments. The girls will be thrilled about the cooking, I'm pleased you enjoyed the food and chopping, and the wine.. Everyone really hopes you come back soon, thank you so much Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IzzyPacke...
Hamstreet, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Totally pampered!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The perfect beach house; spacious, fully equipped, divinely comfortable, elegantly furnished, with a view to die for!
As highly independent travellers, we originally planned to be completely self-catering, especially as we had had a previous bad experience of house staff making a fortune out of our food and drink. So the big kitchen at our disposal was going to be much-used. As it turned out, Sanjee the housekeeper provided such an excellent dinner on our arrival, at very little more than it would have cost us to buy the ingredients, that we instantly resolved to let her and her staff pamper us! They accommodated our lazy teenage sons by providing breakfast in stages as the boys woke up. They crept around so quietly we felt no intrusion of privacy, yet the moment we were up, there was tea or coffee prepared for us, just as we liked it. Total bliss. Do not miss Sanjee's Sri Lankan banquet, or her barbequed fish either!
We started our holiday with our relaxing week on the beach, yet we managed to do so many different activities as well; we saw the turtle sanctuary in Kosgoda, went on a fascinating boat trip round the lagoon, visited a spice garden where we had a massage, had a half day in Galle and another to Mirissa to go blue whale watching. All great experiences, and all organised by the wonderful Udi, who is the house manager and tour operator. He went on to help us organise the rest of our tour around the island, much cheaper than we had expected. We had booked all our hotels independently in advance, thinking we had got the best deals, but Udi could have got some of them cheaper, so let him plan for you, you won't regret it.
And as for the wonderful Suzanne, with whom I exchanged countless emails, I now consider her my penpal! Her help, advice and explanations made the holiday so much better, and her flair for design and chosing the right furnishings and linens made the house so beautiful and comfortable. Thank you to everyone for making our stay so perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The total experience
Liked least: The mosquitos and a bit of road noise, but these could not be avoided
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2012
Thank you so much Gillian. I am going to give the staff a copy of this, they will be so proud. Thank you for being such lovely guests Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kafman
Brockville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely brillant. Great location and staff!”
Reviewed November 24, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

I was thoroughly impressed with the house and the staff. The location was gorgeous, the house was well maintained and very modern. The staff were great and took care of every one of our needs. Udi was freindly, informative and took complete care of us. He set up multiple tours for us and each one was well organized and well executed. Wimal was a fun driver and very informative during our tour of Kandy and Sigiriya; I highly recommend a tour to Sigiriya. Pramer and Sanjay were impeccable cooks and all of the food we were served was unbelievable. We never ate anywhere but the villa it was so good. Meusinha took care of us at night and watched over the property, he did not speak english very well but we enjoyed his company nonetheless. I would recommend this villa to anyone travelling through Sri Lanka as you will not be disappointed. Thanks Udi for everything my freind!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location right on the beach and the exceptional staff.
Liked least: Could use a computer/printer and some bug lights.
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstenel...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Magical Sunsets, warm staff and great location for sun, surf and exploring”
Reviewed August 25, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

August is off season but we had fantastic weather and coming from dubai i was thrilled with the few downpours that lasted all less than half an hour. the property is stunning, all the doors open up and you can cook looking right out to the ocean. the beach is private and quiet with only neighbouring locals sharing in it - it is clean in front of 6 degrees north but if you walk in either direction the beach has garbage on it - as it does everywhere in SL. A nightwatchman is a nice touch as we already felt safe but that was a bonus. pool is quaint and perfect for taking a dip to cool off, they even put a rope over it for the kids to jump in. I spent hours laying in the hammock reading. the gal who works there brought fresh fruit every morning and made coffee which she brought to us on the veranda.She even taught me to make dhal and sent me home with some fresh herbs she picked up. the location is great for renting scooters (if you are a confident driver) and cruising into hikkaduwa along the coastal road, we went as far as Galle and back. there is great little restaurants and markets so we cooked and ate out. didn't get a chance to dive as it was off season but when i go back next in season will stay here again. we spent the last night dining with the property manager and he cooked for us - lots of laughs and will cherish the time at 6 degrees north always.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amazing views - milked it daily
Liked least: can't think of a thing.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida02
Flroida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place with great hosts......A MUST!”
Reviewed April 24, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We stayed at Six Degrees North for one week and had a wonderful experience. The villa is beautifully designed and tastefully furnished with views straight out over the beach and sea. The villa is on a beautiful stretch of beach that is very quiet and peaceful. There were six of us in our group, inlcuding two kids, and we were all comfortable and so realxed the entire time. The villa is very big and we all had plenty of room to stretch out and enjoy our stay. We did not want to leave!!

But what really made our stay special was the care and attention of the small team of people looking after us. They felt like family to us. They were all amazing people that went out of their way to take care of us and to make sure we had a fabulous time. The meals were outstanding and the housekeeper went out of her way to produced dishes she knew we liked. The villa location was also quiet and friendly - with not another tourist in sight (which was great).

All in all, an experience to remember for all the right reasons. Highly recommended. Our only regret was that we did not stay longer!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2011
Thank you so much for these lovely coments. I also heard from the staff they all missed you and your lovely family very much. We all hope that you come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippep...
Grasse, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
Google Translation

Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing