We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food of the trip”

Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 110 Restaurants in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Reservations are essential to avoid dissapointment, group bookings need to be reserved in advance to avoid dissapointment and long waiting times, Sri Lankan rice and curry needs to be booked in advance. Hours of Business 8am last food orders 2130pm Check website for reservation number
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best food of the trip”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

By far the best food we ate on the trip. So good that we traveled the 20km twice to go there.

The Indian curries were some of the best I have experienced and worth a try.

Prices of food and drink are very reasonable for the quality.

Service was exceptional as was the ambience

Visited July 2014
Thank Gee_Erm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A treasure in Hikkaduwa!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

By far the best meal we have had in Sri Lanka. The srilankan curry was astounding with 8 different dishes (1400 rupees each). My daughter's fish and chips had crisp, fluffy batter and chunky crisp homemade chips that were fluffy in the middle. The spaghetti bologanse was a welcome western treat for our youngest and was delicious. The best mojito outside of America in 7 countries. Our favourite dessert was the lime pudding and the brownie is worth a mention. Service was superb, view astounding, atmosphere beautiful and the owners charming. We will be back! Highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3 Thank tea-and-truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for lunch on the way to Thalpe from Colombo. It's located off the main road, which makes it quiet and peaceful. The decor is quaint and comfortable and the service was attentive but very slow.

The food was very mixed. Fish and chips were under seasoned and not crispy, burgers were nice and the battered prawns were fairly decent, but no better than that. The stroganoff and the drinks partially made up for the overall disappointment.

1 Thank HammerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hikkajewel, Owner at Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Many thanks for reviewing our restaurant, and sorry to hear it was`nt that good for you. I was there when you actually came so i got to meet you, i was concerned when you asked the waiter to use water in the batter instead of the small beer we use which is what makes our beer battered fish crispy, so we are looking for a recipe we can use as an alternative for the batter, we are also sorry for you having to wait the 40 minutes for the 10 main courses, this was due to everything is cooked from fresh, and also this being the off season we try and work shifts out with the kitchen staff so we maximize our busiest time with more staff, as its very quiet at the moment, you arrived at 315pm so usually this is one of the quiet times, but that is no excuse just an explanation.
we are 7 minutes from Hikkaduwa beach, so yes we are not right in the center and as many of our reviews and our websites claim we are of the beaten track, think it was a little out the way for you and seemed a little more so as you had been travelling in a minibus for 3 hrs with 10 passengers.
We do appreciate your feedback and have taken your negative points on board, have a great rest of your stay in Sri Lanka following Pakistan in the Cricket kind regards the Management and staff at Asian Jewel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went last night to the asian jewel hotel to eat at their famous restaurant.
It was fantastic....we were not disappointed! The food, service and setting was absolutely perfect!
The owner is a lovely british lady, who give us so much advise on Sri lanka, she really made us feel special.
I cannot recommend this place enough!!
We ordered pomodoms, asian jewel chicken curry and a beef burger. I can honestly say it may have been the best curry of my life!!
If you are in Hikka beach, do not miss it!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden treasure with an outstanding curry”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We came here on our last evening in Hikkaduwa and we couldn't have made a better choice. First of all, we felt really welcomed, as the british owner took the time to look after us and sit with us for a little chat. The two waiters, who took care of us, were impressively friendly, attentive and polite. After the monsoon rain started, we were offered to sit in the living room, which was really cozy and felt a little bit like home.

The food tasted amazing, especially the curry, which was probably the best we have had so far. The delicious dessert completed this culinary highlight.

Last but not least, everything was spotlessly clean, including the kitchen, which is sometimes not always that easy to find.

All in all, we enjoyed our evening here very much and we would highly recommend coming here, if you're in Hikkaduwa, it's worth it! Next time we're in Sri Lanka, we would definately come back and stay here if we could.

Sabine & Leonie, Switzerland

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Leonie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel also viewed


Been to Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing