We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely People - Thoroughly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Star Holiday Resort
Ranked #20 of 163 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Star Holiday Resort is clean and offers exactly what you need from mid-range priced accommodation. The mosquito net and fan ensure a comfortable night's sleep. It is also only 5 mins walk or a £1 tuk/ tuk away from the beach and nightlife of Hikkaduwa.

However what sets this place apart are the owner Sampath and his lovely family. We were only there two days but were bowled over by their warmth and kindness (the fact they insist on a photo of them and their visitors upon departure for their scrapbook gives an idea of what they're like).

I would absolutely encourage people to stay in Star.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthCountryBoy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Star Holiday Resort is run by a nice married couple who are very helpful.
The rooms are fairly basic but clean. You can request mosquito net, fan and air conditioning in advance.
The resort is set amongst a well kept garden where if you are very lucky you may see humming birds, monitor lizards etc.
The location is close to the bus garage about 10 minutes walk up the first road on your left. At night the road is quite dark but seemed safe, if this worries you tuk tuk's are very cheap.
This end of town is less touristy than where most people seem to stay about a mile away but I liked that the area around the bus station is bustling and interesting.
I was satisfied with my stay

Room Tip: Asdk for mosquito net, air conditioning and fan in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pablo808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ganesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La clim n'est pas forcément nécessaire (séjour en juillet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.8 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#15 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
119 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Holiday Resort

Address: Contact No. 18, Amarasena Mawatha, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $16 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Star Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing