We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“idyllic location with great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Garden Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cinnamon Garden Hotel
Ranked #22 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Wales
1 review
“idyllic location with great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

LOVED staying here! The atmosphere is really chilled and with the hotel right on the beach is the perfect location. We wished we could have stayed longer than 10 days as the staff made us feel so welcome. The food was delicious and was certainly among the best I tasted in Hikkaduwa.. make sure you try the stuffed crab! Mmmm. The owner was super helpful in organising some local trips for us with the hotel driver Anura which really felt like we were getting an insiders view of the surrounding areas. We are thinking of making Sri Lanka an annual trip and would definitely stay here again..it ticks all the boxes!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
25
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

Stayed here for two weeks, the location is wonderful, right next to the beach, but also fairly near the main town. Staff are very welcoming, the food was excellent , especially the fresh fruit breakfast and the fish curries. The place had a good atmosphere, the right balance between lively and relaxing. Will be returning later this year, work permitting !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

I was introduced to this place by a friend of the manager that I happened to meet on the train from Colombo. The hotel appealed to me as it's away from the main part of town, and therefore quieter, however the traffic noise from the main road is awful and defeats the purpose of living by an incredibly beautiful beach.

My room cost US$45 per night. I stayed only for one night as it reeked of damp and didn't feel very clean or secure. The mosquito net collapsed and could have been dangerous.

My neighbours in the next room thought it was ok to play very loud music, usually starting at 2200 in the evening.

The food in the hotel restaurant was ok, but the vibe was not. It was full of people who seemed to be friends of the owner (english and very loud) and/or the manager (local guy). The music was blaring and consequently all these blokes were shouting over the music. I just wanted a calm place to enjoy my trip and to listen to the ocean more than these people setting the worlds to rights getting loaded on booze.

I left very early the next morning - nobody seemed interested in whether or not I'd enjoyed my stay - always the sign of a bad hotel. Get them in and get their money, and provide the minimum service possible. That is what this place is all about. Avoid!

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank flyingscotsman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

A group of three, then eventually six friends and I stayed here for 3 nights. Its a bit down the beach from the "action"--the backpacker haunts--but we really enjoyed the relaxed vibe. Nice green area with beach chairs under palm trees leads out onto the beach. The staff is SUPER accommodating, the breakfast and food in general is amazing, the showers have hot water, and the bedrooms are acceptable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarOrk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.4 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Avenra Beach Hotel
Avenra Beach Hotel
#17 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#16 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Garden Hotel

Property: Cinnamon Garden Hotel
Address: Galle Road | Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cinnamon Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the quiet end of the strip - with extensive beachfront gardens, a large sea-front restaurant and just 11 rooms all with sea-views - the Cinnamon Garden Hotel is certainly one of the most beautiful private hotels in Hikkaduwa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cinnamon Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing