We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
109
9
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
109
9
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar beautiful hotel glass water bottles the salt water pool design hotel ingredients are locally sourced tea production rooms and public areas light switches stylish rooms tea shop sri lanka amazing chef indian ocean russian guests enjoyed our stay small property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a two nights visit where the hotel was fully booked and was impressed to get the best service ever despite the busy schedules. We observed the most accurate reception who fullfilled our needs within a very short time. The location was superb and you should not miss the japanese cusine. Everyone from the restaurant staff to pool attendent to general manager were at our service any time.
This was my best experience at Hikkaduwa and will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sunali e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiffHikkaduwa_SM1, Guest Relations Manager at Riff Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sunali,

We would like to first thank you for this lovely review and recommendation. At Riff Hikkaduwa we strive to provide our guests with a unique and memorable hospitality experience and we are pleased to see that we were able to achieve this during your stay. We are also delighted to hear that our services standards were able to exceed your expectations, and that our staff was always there for you. We are also extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Japanese cuisine, and the beach front location of Riff Hikkaduwa!

Once again thank you for this review, and we hope to see you back at Riff Hikkaduwa soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

As I visited the Riff Hotel over this weekend, I was extremely impressed with the level of service that was offered from the front desk staff and the rest of the staff throughout our trip.

He rooms looked exactly as they have shown in their website, in fact it’s better when you visit because your actually get to see the ocean and the interior design was indeed refreshing.

The most important fact in any trip is the food. And they got it perfect. We stared with Rice and Curry, which is a must try. It’s fully worth it was the price you pay. Dinner too was a brilliant set menu and each dish was complimentary to each other. Breakfast was a fest and I think we made it more of a brunch due to the amount of food that was given.

All in all I rate this hotel as the best hotel I have stayed in Hikkaduwa, and I am sure hoping to come again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sheron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiffHikkaduwa_SM1, Guest Relations Manager at Riff Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Dear Sheron,

Firstly we would like to thank you for this review and recommendation! At Riff Hikkaduwa we strive to provide our guests with a unique hospitality experience that they would not forget, and we are extremely pleased to see we were able to achieve this during your stay. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room, along with the architecture and deco, especially the stunning views of the Indian ocean!

At Riff, we aim to provide our guests with a gastronomic experience like no other, and once again we are thrilled to see that we were able to accomplish this during your stay. Thank you for your positive comments on our breakfast, the rice and curry, and dinner!

Once again thank you for this lovely review and recommendation, and we hope to see you at Riff Hikkaduwa again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

We stop for lunch at Riff Hikkaduwa while we were at Hikkaduwa. Food was amazing. We had their Japanese food, it just kept coming like a feast ☺️ and just amazing
Sanuka was really friendly in fact all the staff was really friendly and chef came and explained about all the Japanese flavours
Hotel was beautiful and clean too. Located in a nice place with a great view.
Have to comment about the lifeguard. Sea was really rough and my husband was holding my little at the beach. Lifeguard came rushing to us to warned about the conditions. He was really concerned seeing my little one and got really worried
And we are really grateful and thankful to him.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Ohasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiffHikkaduwa_SM1, Guest Relations Manager at Riff Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Dear Ohasha,

Thank you for this lovely review and recommendation. At Riff Hikkaduwa we strive to provide our guests with a unique gastronomic experience, and we are delighted to see that we were able to exceed your expectations. We are also extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Japanese cuisine!

We are also very pleased to note your comments on the cleanliness and the architecture of the hotel. In addition, all our rooms come with stunning views of the Indian ocean! We also thank you for your comments on Sanuka, our General Manager, and our lifeguard. Our guests well being and safety is always our number one priority.

Once again thank you for this lovely review and we hope to see you again at Riff Hikkaduwa soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 13 nights at The Riff Hikkaduwa (originally 8 but we extended for another 5 - it’s that good). It was one of the best hotel experiences we’ve ever had. As a hotelier with 20+ years in 5-star properties I don’t say that lightly. We had the opportunity to meet the owner, Mr Gamini who was charming. He’s built something to be proud of. We will return to Sri Lanka purely to stay at The Riff Hikkaduwa.

DESIGN - Beautifully designed in a thoughtful yet understated way so that you feel both at home and that you’re staying somewhere very special. It’s more of an exclusive resort than a hotel. We loved the constant sound of the sea, the natural wood and stone design restrained, so as not to compete with the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. Whether you’re swimming in the salt water pool, eating breakfast, lying in bed, or even in the shower, the sea view is always centre stage. I was struck by the attention to detail: the beautifully sculptured wooden benches in the lobby, the carpentry of the shutters in the corridors, the use of natural colours and textures from the flooring to the lighting to the napkins and the local earthenware dishes, the complimentary refilled glass water bottles and, of course, the noticeable absence of plastic. We stayed in a standard room which we initially thought might be a little small but soon realised it was perfect. Every room has a sea view and a balcony. We ended our stay with a couple of nights in one of the suites which was superb.

FOOD - The food is exceptional and very reasonably priced. They have some seriously talented chefs which we never expected in such a small property. The a la carte inclusive breakfast is perfect. We ate delicious, beautifully presented sushi for dinner nearly every day. Chef Pradeep is an outstanding Japanese chef. Literally some of the best sushi we’ve ever eaten. We also tried other dishes such as the Sri Lankan curry and the snapper. Delicious. We normally explore places to eat outside but, other than one evening in Galle, we ate on the stunning hotel rooftop every single night. The food is that good.

SERVICE - Outstanding. The staff are very well trained and the service is personal and genuine. It was a pleasure to see them every morning. The pool attendant (Jay) looked after us every day, remembering our preferences and preparing our sun beds so they were always ready for us. The staff really made our stay what it was. From the GM Mr Sanuka, Solomon (F&B), Madiska (Font Desk), the hotel driver, House keeping room attendants and all the restaurant staff.

TRANSFER - If you’re flying in to SL, we highly recommend booking the airport transfer with the hotel’s Mercedes van. The driver is excellent. Safe and kind. We felt our holiday started once we were picked up at the airport. Whilst you might find a cheaper price, it’s a good couple of hours drive before/after your flight. We really appreciated the comfort and fully reclining seats of the hotel luxury van. Please note the driver is waiting for you once you exit the airport main door (not inside the arrivals terminal).


Date of stay: August 2019
4  Thank HamishOnTour2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiffHikkaduwa_SM1, Guest Relations Manager at Riff Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

Dear Mr. Hamish,

We cannot even begin to thank you for this lovely review and recommendation of Riff Hikkaduwa. We are truly speechless to hear just how much you enjoyed your holiday. At Riff Hikkaduwa we strive to provide our guests with a hospitality experience that they would remember, and we are quite certain we were able to achieve this during your stay!

Firstly, we are absolutely delighted to see that you enjoyed the design of the hotel. We placed a lot of emphasis and spent a lot of timing planning the design of the hotel to ensure that we get everything absolutely right. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the stunning views of the Indian ocean present in all our rooms, and from almost every important place of the hotel.

We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food. At Riff Hikkaduwa, Chef Pradeep and the entire kitchen staff aim to provide a unique gastronomic experience to all our guests. We really are pleased to see that you enjoyed the breakfast, sea food and the Japanese cuisine at Riff. We are also delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy True Blue, our rooftop bar and lounge.

We are also extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service of our staff. Every single staff member at Riff Hikkaduwa aims to provide international standards of hospitality, and we are delighted to see that we were able to exceed your expectations!

We also thank you for complimenting our transfer service. Since it is a bit of a drive from the airport, our thought process was to ensure that our guests are able to enjoy luxury right as they exit the airport. The Riff Hikkaduwa experience stems out to our airport service as well and we are really glad that you were able to enjoy it!

Once again, thank you for this lovely detailed review and recommendation, and we really do hope to see you back again at Riff Hikkaduwa soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019 via mobile

This place was amazing!! A brand new hotel which is only 1 year old. Was very clean and well kept. The included breakfast was like a 3 course menu and the food just kept coming, and to such a high quality. The pool was the perfect temp and always clean. They have a roof top bar where you can have sheisha and take in the view. The staff were so friendly and attentive. A special shout out to sugath who was so friendly and we talked to many times about a wide range of things. The lifeguard was also a good laugh and always willing to help. It's a 200rupee tuk tuk ride to hikkudawa beach and about 35min walk. We came in august and the sea was to rough to swim in so had to go to hikkaduwa beach. Would recomend this place to all.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Beckybrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiffHikkaduwa_SM1, Guest Relations Manager at Riff Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review and recommendation. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel clean and well kept, since cleanliness is one of out main priorities. We are also please to hear that you enjoyed our salt water infinity pool. At Riff Hikkaduwa we strive to ensure that our guests have a gastronomic experience like no other, and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and its quality.

We are also glad that you were able to enjoy True Blue, our rooftop bar and lounge. We are sure you found the view jaw dropping! Sugath passes his wishes to you as well!

Once again, thank you for this review and we hope to see you back at Riff Hikkaduwa soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews