We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food... friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 152 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food... friendly staff”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed a little bit up the beach but we ate there on two occasions. It is located on the beach with good access. We wanted to try the food as some of our friends were going to stay there. The food was really good and fresh. The prices were quite reasonable. The best was that the staff and the family who runs the place were really friendly. They were quite prompt to attend to our requests and also made us feel welcome. My friends who stayed there said that the place was clean and nice and that they will try to stay for 12 days instead of 10.

Room Tip: Ask for a A/C room with a sea view, second floor is pretty good and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hakimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    44
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
127
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lippstadt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I was at Neela´s (Hikkaduwa) in Jan 2012, it was so good I´m going back again in 2013 ! The Family and team , Chamara , Suranga , Benni were just fanastic folk like the Food , Drink and Veiw are just amazing ! They really made me feel welcome and we all became good freinds for life . In my Eyes it is the best Guesthouse along the beach and the food well just unbelievable. Very clean and tidy , with very good prices ....A1

Room Tip: They are all really good and clean + tidy ....Just check it for yourself , you will not disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank walise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
global
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

what can i say about neela`s guesthouse and restaurant other than.......go there!!!
it has the best food in hikkaduwa,(possibly even sri lanka) and at an affordable price.
the rooms are very clean and comfortable.
but on top of those two things,the most important thing.....the family and staff that own and work there are what make neela`s the best place to stay in hikkaduwa....if you have known them for a longtime or have only just met them they make you feel like part of the furniture with their happy and friendly welcome.
i have spent a lot of time in hikkaduwa over the last years and will always return to neela`s place as i know exactly what to expect when i get there.......a warm welcome.....amazing food and a great friendly atmosphere right on the beach. what more could anyone ask???
they cater to all tourists from backpackers to families,young or old,and can arrange tours or help you with mostly anything.they just make everything so easy for the guests and always with a smile.
i cant wait till the next time i can visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank padaththalaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matara, null, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Thank you Neelas´s for making ouer first visit to Hikkaduwa so special. Whit your great location ,friendly staff and delicious food you manage to make a great impression and create memories that will last for a long time. We will be in Sri Lanka for 6 mounth and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Booking a room in Neela's was the best thing I have done on my trip to Hikka and everything else fell in place. The owner Chamara was amazingly friendly and was willing to help at every request.

There are a few different types of rooms, I found all of them quite clean and nice. Restaurant is good too, but would have probably liked if they added more local flavors. Friendly staff, and very helpful.

Just imagine visiting a childhood friend who owns a guesthouse in a holiday spot, thats what it feels like at Neela's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DileepKumarM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just returned from a 2 Day stay at Neelas. I really had a pleasant holiday with my wife and 2 year old son. Following up with the value theme discussed by previous reviewers, I must say you definitely get your money's worth here. The rooms are huge, clean and well organized with quality furniture. The staff are extremely friendly and you will get your home atmosphere. The staff at Cafe are fun and engaging and are fun to talk to. They also make some nice dishes and it’s a good place to have delicious meal. The menu was so big and the prices are very reasonable to order the food whatever we like. The beach is so great. The staff service was a great touch and they were diligent in keeping our rooms clean and the towels fresh. We also enjoyed making our own breakfast in a full service kitchen - saved us lots of cash that we could use to spend on meals and room. Highly recommended for those who wanted good value for their money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dushy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Neela's was recommended to me for my first visit to the beautiful country of Sri Lanka in 2004. Neither the rooms, nor the restaurant, staff or proprietors disappointed. Well-proportioned, good value, delicious food from one of the most hygenic kitchens I have seen on the island. Staff who remember your name aswell as your favourite dish, with ready smiles, jokes & laughter & who really make you feel at home. Neela & her family have become life-time friends & the restaurant is a home-from-home with well-kept beach beds in the perfect spot. Chamara (Neela's son - & manager) is a mine of information - trains, buses, taxis, tours etc - & will help you with anything you need to know. Sunset from the roof is amazing & if it rains, Neela's is the perfect place to hang out, with plenty of books & games (scrabble, anyone?). Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clareisaacClareisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
1.0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
421 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant

Property: Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant
Address: No. 634 Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neela's Neela's Guesthouse offers a warm welcome, delicious food and a friendly atmosphere. Our beachfront location means you can walk out of your room onto the sands. Hikkaduwa is a paradise for the swimmers, sun worshippers, surfers and snorkellers. Popular surf breaks are minutes away or just relax on a sunbed and watch the turquoise waves roll in. Our restaurant is only a few short steps from the sea. Begin the day with a leisurely breakfast or join us for a lazy lunch. At the end of the day enjoy an amazing sunset followed by dinner under the stars. Our family have been welcoming tourists to Hikkaduwa for more than 30 years. Our experience ensures great service and attention to detail; whether you're a first time visitor or one of our old friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neela`s Guest House And Beach Restaurant
Neela`s Guest House & Beach Restaurant Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing