We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Time N Tide Beach Resort
Ranked #74 of 152 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Value, great location.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Start by remembering that you are only paying a few dollars a night here... then you'll love this one.
This hotel is great. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a balcony which had nice views of the beach. if we had a complaint it would be that the shower was hot in the evening but we struggled to find warm water first ting in the morning.
Breakfast is served in the gardens, overlooking the beach and the sea, Fantastic location. The choice of food was very limited. but its a lovely place to start the day.
Staff always seemed keen to help, even if it did take a little while for things to be actioned.
If we are back in the area. We will stay here again as it was comfortable and good value for money.

Room Tip: choose one with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    20
    6
    9
See reviews for
9
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had stayed at this mini hotel on the beach several years ago and at that time,had a good experience and so decided to stay again. I had made our booking for 2 rooms 7 months in advance (quoted $70 p/n) and had regular contact to ensure the reservation. The last email confirming my booking was 3 days prior to arrival. When we arrived at the hotel, I was disappointed as the grounds at the beach side of the hotel looked quite run down, with rubbish, old loungers and blocks of concrete lying around in front of the breakfast area. There were also two bulldozers parked on the beach directly in front. The front room on the ground floor that I suspect was designed as a restaurant area was also now being used as a store room/garage and was not attractive at all. Not to despair, we were asked to wait for our rooms for an hour so left our bags and went to get some lunch. When we got back, the manager advised that they had just had a new booking with 14 guests arriving, and that we could not have our rooms. Unashamedly, without blinking an eyelid he denied that he had sent me an email confirmation and that there was a mix up with the booking that was my error. He said that they could relocate us in a nice 1 bedroom apartment elsewhere (not on the beach side). I was in disbelief that just 3 days I had an email from him to reconfirm the rooms and that I had kept in contact with him for 7 months.
Needless to say I did not want to give my money to these disreputable people, so I walked a few doors down and got a fantastic walk in rate at another hotel.
Needless to say that I feel these people are untrustworthy after this experience.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hostel is an hour or so away from Galle by local bus. But it's worth the time taken to get there as the Indian Ocean was so close to my room - the beach is quite short. The breakfast was very sumptuous and it's great a place to just chill and enjoy the view. The rooms are clean and good though the wifi signal was slightly weak in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhebeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights at the end of March. The room was clean, had hot water, fan and mosquito net. Could not complain for the £18 per night bed and breakfast.
Breakfast right on the beach with fruit, eggs and toast.
No complaints.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucre, Bolivia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I'm staying here for 5 nights, it's a clean hotelroom (standard one) with hot water, fan and mosquito net. There is no fridge but it's cheap ($17,50 per night). The party people better go a little further south where the beach is bigger, the surfing (lessons) and the party's are. It's only a 300mtrs walk, but at night as a girl by myself, not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

we had booked 10rooms for group of 20people.we got 5good rooms and other rooms were ok very small, very average and no hot water.3rooms facing the sea were good with AC and hot water.Hikkaduwa is very hot and u need to take A/C rooms.staff were very friendly.even the owner good guy.it has a decent pizza serving restaurant at night.
breakfast was good. one day we got srilankan breakfast.the sitting area is very nice.even out side garden next to the sea very fine.over all its a nice place.get a A/C room.around 45$ per a/c room breakfast included.

Room Tip: get a A/C facing the seaside on first and second floor.the room on ground floor next to the ocean is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank priyankgowda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed for two nights before checking into another hotel down the road. Our double room (3,000 Rs a night without breakfast) was basic and quite clean but there was a persistent musty / damp smell and the sound of the surf kept me awake each night. Gorgeous view of the sea (hence the sound of the surf!) and friendly staff. There is no beach this far North. You need to walk 5-10 mins down the road to the South to find the widest stretch of beach (which is in front of Neela's and the Drunken Monkey). 3 minute walk to the main surf peak though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CasaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.0 mi away
Nippon Villa Beach Resort
Nippon Villa Beach Resort
#24 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#115 of 152 in Hikkaduwa
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Golden Gate Hotel
#57 of 152 in Hikkaduwa
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surfing Beach Guest House
Surfing Beach Guest House
#49 of 180 in Hikkaduwa
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Note
Hotel Blue Note
#33 of 152 in Hikkaduwa
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Seas Beach Hikkaduwa
Coral Seas Beach Hikkaduwa
#32 of 152 in Hikkaduwa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time N Tide Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time N Tide Beach Resort

Property: Time N Tide Beach Resort
Address: 412/E Galle Rd | Wewala, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Time N Tide Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a perfect beach-front position and directly in the center of Hikkaduwa, the Time'N Tide Beach Resort is the ideal place to enjoy your stay in Hikkaduwa Beach. As one of Hikkaduwa's well established hotels, the Time'N Tide Beach Resort always provided the additional touch to travelers while never losing their personal and friendly style. The 17 rooms of the Time'N Tide Beach Resort are divided into Luxury and Standard rooms, fitting every requirement and budget. All rooms are en-suite with running hot water. The well designed restaurant of the Time'N Tide Beach Resort offers local and international specialties with one of their main specialties being an original wood fire pizza oven.The in-house travel agency not only looks after all your transportation, tours and transfer needs but offers international airline ticketing as well.Time N Tide is one of the most comfortable Hotel situated in Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka. As a qualified hotel from the Sri Lankan Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Time N Tide Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time n Tide Beach Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing