We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, very relaxing with great staff 10/10 !”
Review of The Oasis Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oasis Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just spent a long weekend break at the Oasis Villa in Hikkaduwa, I shared a double room which was clean, spacious and only $35 a night. The breakfast was good, standard toast, scrambled eggs and coffee the pool area was clean and the staff are really helpful, laid back. They also helped book the taxi from the airport and back, all in all really good and highly recommend hotel if you plan to stay in this small sea town close to the beach, restaurants and bars.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 151 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

THe best guest house we stayed at in our 3 week holiday. TRied to book direct but eventually through booking.com. We had a downstairs room with a huge bathroom and big bedroom which also had a kitchen off it that we didn't use. AC, internet, and a pool which was wonderful because I didn't swim in the ocean. ACross the road is a laneway to the beach and the main surf break which was perfect for my husband. THere is a cute little eatery on the laneway with lovely people and good food too. LOts of restaurants around and we spent alot of time at the Funky D bar watching the amazing sunsets with beers, cocktails, meeting other travellers and felt really at home. BReakfast was good with the usual eggs and toast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at the Oasis Villa and the place is very good value. Clean rooms and good ac and fan, the pool was clean and we had couple of swims there after being sunburnt down the beach :) Staff is very friendly and helpful! We got a guided tour around several attractions and managed to see so many things in one day that our heads were spinning, all in a good way though :)
Breakfast is simple but nice. Fruit and eggs and toast if you want. The villa is just over the road from the beach so very close indeed. Def would recommend if you want a friendly, clean and cheap stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindylooroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

An Oasis in Hikkaduwa

We had been looking for a nice guesthouse near the beach. Based on excellent reviews by several travel websites, we booked to stay in The Oasis Villa.

Oasis is the right word for this little gem. This small family run guesthouse is located in the centre of the town but set back so there is almost no noise from the road. There is a railway line nearby but the trains didn't disturb us. It’s only 50 meters to Hikkaduwa's beautiful sandy and wide beach with immediate access just across the road. In our opinion the Oasis Villa is quieter than the accommodations directly on the beach front.

The Oasis Villa has 3 apartments and several rooms in different categories. Our well-equipped spacious standard room with terrace was basically furnished but perfect for our needs. It had a private bathroom with a shower, which had hot water and a strong water pressure, a quiet air conditioner, a fan, a fridge and a safe box in the wardrobe. Our double bed with mosquito net was huge and very comfortable. The Oasis Villa is a lovely guesthouse not a luxury hotel so bath products (shampoo, soap) are not provided, but the bathroom was cleaned meticulously every morning and the sheets and towels were changed every other day. Free in-room WIFI Internet was available and worked well.

The very tidy public terrace area had a mini bar (non alcoholic) and TV with local stations. The guesthouse's private garden with a little fish pond was romantic and offered peace and tranquillity to relax and read a book. The new swimming pool was really beautiful and spotlessly clean. It was also a very safe place, there was always a friendly night-watchman who took care of everything. A laundry service for cheap money was also offered for the guests.

There is a friendly familiar atmosphere and we met some other european guests, which stay in the Oasis Villa for months.

The price we paid included a simple but nice breakfast with a delicious plate of fresh fruit (papaya, the best we’ve ever tasted, pineapple and banana), toast, eggs done to your liking, jam, yogurt, butter, coffee and tea. The guesthouse offers no meals but it’s a short 1 minute walk to excellent beach bars and local restaurants.

Mr. Kingsley the owner is a really nice man: very friendly and polite and very trustworthy and experienced. He is doing everything to make you feel welcome, and won’t be far away if there is anything you need. He really made us feel at home. The very friendly, supporting and attentive staff who was always busy also made us feel comfortable. The service was friendly obliging and thereby very quick. Fabulous!

There was really nothing to complain about and we got excellent value for money.

I celebrated my birthday in the Oasis Villa. We were invited to a wonderfully delicious BBQ and Mr. Kingsley and his staff made us feel so happy. Once again I want to say thank you to you Mr. Kingsley and to Rohan and Chaminda for this wonderful experience and the very nice birthday party I'll never forget.

The family of Mr. Kingsley run a small shop and a taxi / tuk tuk business, so they are very knowledgeable about the local area and know everyone in town so they give good advice on where to go. A transport from/to the airport of Colombo was arranged for us for a very reasonable price.

We had also booked a 2 night 3 days tour to Kandy / Nuwara Eliya / Yala with the tour guide Yaza directly in the guesthouse and we visited Dalada Maligawa Temple (Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic), the Elephant Orphanage, Royal Botanical Gardens, Nuwara Eliya, Macwoods Tea Factory, Yala West National Park and other famous places of interest. The tour was very well organized, everything was covered and the hotels in Kandy and Tissamaharama were good. Yasa was well prepared, knowledgeable, friendly and caring. Mr. Lal our professional and punctual friendly driver was very cautious and a defensive driver being very careful in inclement weather and heavy traffic. And so was his brother who brought us to Colombo. Also our safari jeep driver Tanura was very friendly and experienced. The car and the jeep respectively were in very good condition. These tours are absolutely recommended and Yaza also offers shorter tours, f. e. the Hikkaduwa Lagoon-tour.

From the moment we sent off an email to Mr. Kingsley to the day we left waving goodbye to him, his family and the nice people who work there at the Oasis Villa, it was truly a wonderful, relaxing and unforgettable vacation.

We were upset to leave and if we return to Hikkaduwa we will be very happy to stay in the cosy, lovely Oasis Villa again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SabineK971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Really large room with a nice balcony. Clean toilet. Good AC. A small pool. All this for less than 40 bucks is surely value for money. Breakfast is nothing fancy but decent. Fruits, toast and eggs. Its not on the beach, its on the other side of the road but just a 2 minute walk to the beach. Rohan the caretaker will suggest a good place for a massage should you need it. Kingsley is the owner and is friendly. He gave us a drop at the railway station too. If you are staying for more than 2 days, hire a bike which will work out much cheaper than the tuk tuks who charge you a lot.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank AjitMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very good service, friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable price, clean rooms, good breakfast.The beach is just across the road, Hikkaduwa is a fabulous place for snorkelling. We stayed here for 7 nights and would definitely come and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie_C_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

After travelling around Sri lanka we decided to revisit Hikkaduwa and stay a few days in a property that we'd seen from the road. What a find, excellent value for money, spacious room, huge bed and bathroom and very modern. We also had a small kitchen which was a real bonus. Price included a lovely breakfast and the staff and owner were super friendly. With only 10 rooms this place is booked early. Oasis is the right word for this place, it's in the centre of all the action but set back so there is no noise from the busy road. They have also added a small swimming pool. Top marks for this place. You can also arrange safari trips with Yasa and he arrangd our taxi to the airport, a really knowledable friendly guy. Top marks for Oasis Villa, we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms with the kitchen are great for a long stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skudderbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.6 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roman Beach
Roman Beach
#1 of 197 in Hikkaduwa
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Villa

Address: 466 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 197 Specialty Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $37 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Oasis Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oasis Villa Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing