We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suite Lanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suite Lanka
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nice place and you can tell that the best is yet to come. The place has a perfect location in Hikkaduwa. Close enough to check out the surfer/backpacker/laid back area and its night life but with such a tranquility and feeling of privacy that allows you to forget how close you are to all that. The food is awesome, they probably have the most decent wine selection in town and definitely the coldest beer in town. The rooms are tastefully decorated and using local products. The staff was very friendly. The manager was super helpful supporting us with some planning for our tours and even making some additional research on rock climbing sites for me. On top of the food and drinks they already had, at the time I was there they had just opened a really nice beach bar with a decent cocktail menu and a great music selection. Even though I went with friends and we anted to go out more, the place just had everything we needed and we just couldn't scape out of it. I totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the lower floor. The price difference is not that big and you just feel at home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexican_Curiousin_AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    24
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Absolutely beautiful piece of paradise, very peaceful and quiet location. Beautiful hotel premises and helpful polite staff. Our room was standard superior which was nice but a bit small, would maybe recommend the deluxe as it is not that much more in price. Our room was in a need of refurbishing maybe. Fridge was a bit rusty, one picture missing from the wall and the nail just left there and the shower head was a bit broken. Over all still our stay was superb and very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna_180213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Suite Lanka seems to be in a limbo between fancy boutique hotel on the beach with the prices to match and backpacker hostel where you just empty the Carlsberg ashtray and call it service, and they should either lower the prices or better the service.

It is placed perfectly on the beach and in walking distance of the bars and restaurants. From every balcony there are views of the waves and it could be amazing. Unfortunately the management hasn't got the attention to detail that would make this place fantastic.The breakfast is fruit, eggs and toast - at least every day for the 6 days we were there. If you need anything during the day you have to hunt staff down because they hide in the kitchen. Only exception is when they want to clean your room and they hunt you down because they only have one key. However all of the staff members are friendly and probably just need training.

We ate dinner at the restaurant one time and where very underwhelmed. The price is about three times as expensive as other Hikkaduwa places and the quality is the same. (Try Asian Jewel boutique hotel if you want great rice & curry and Spaghetti & Co. for great and cheap Italian food).

Cleanliness and size of the room was fine and we didn't mind the wear and tear.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fusentaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland G, Inhaber at Suite Lanka, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear "Fusentaste",
first of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel.
I like to clarify some points for future guests, who might read this.

1. Of course we have a wider range of breakfast items than what you have called "fruit, eggs and toast". We even have a breakfast menue. Besides eggs any style, it includes pancakes, lassies, srilankan varieties such as string hoppers and vegetable omelettes and many more.
I apologize, if the menue has not been handed out to you. Probably it happened, because the staff assumed that you were aware our wider range of breakfast items, as you probably have seen other guests enjoying them..
2. We try to have steadily somebody of our staff available, to assist, if the guest needs help. Even the roomboy or security guard is able to take orders. One will find other staff in the kitchen only, if they take their own meals and by rule, they don´t do it at the same time.
3. We are used to tell our guests when making up the room. This is a gesture to avoid a surprise, when a guest returns to his room after taking a swim or sunbath and suddenly finds somebody else inside the room. Besides that we have indeed experienced the loss of many keys, as many guests simply forget to return them.
4. With regards to our food I feel that you must have bad luck. As you can read, almost all guests are overwhelmed by the quality of our cuisine and the capabilty of our chef. If you will come again to Hikkaduwa one day , I would be happy to invite you for a meal to prove the above.

Again I thank you for your constructive feedback.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

All rooms have view on sea, but the pool is more hidden on backside between rooms and reception/kitchen.
Rooms are in 3 classes and we had the most luxury one ...very spacious indeed. and with wifi.
Food a-la-carte is good ...but slow in serving out.
Lies approximately 2 km's south of center though good to know that this town is more of a backpacker's place, good for surfing and scuba-diving.
Beach is not very clean, with plastic lying all over but also lots of nice activities, fishermen active etc.
Be aware ....no credit-cards accepted!!

Room Tip: Ask for ground-floor location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolasHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a delight. What a dream.

Forget the all inclusive mega resorts, this what a coastal, tropical hotel should be like. A handful of rooms beneath the listing palms, two steps away from the sand of the beach, and the sound of the surf at night. Great staff - always helpful and friendly. And the chef here in particular is a real find.

Great with children. My three year old loved it. Recently renovated. Peace and quiet, yet just a ten minutes' walk to bars and restaurants.

Looking for a piece of paradise? Here it is. Inspiring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TFenton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Suite Lanka is located at the far south of Hikka but is only a 10-15 minutes beach walk from the center of things. We stayed for two nights and had a really good time. It has great bathrooms! Saw somewhere that they renovated in the summer of 2012, and they really did it! Some more pressure in the shower and it would be a ten of ten for it.

On the downside: A little to hard beds for me though (186/87).

This is the place for honeymooners or just for the ones who want to relax and have a nice stay in Hikka.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrikJarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
315 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Sadly only spent one night here but it was perfect. The location is about 1k down from the busy surfing backpacker strip of Hikkaduwa so the hotel gardens lead straight onto a perfect quiet stretch of the never-ending sandy beach. The hotel itself is beautifully designed with a small swimming pool - who need with the sea 100 metres away - a delightful shaded garden with lots of shady sitting places and a patio for dining overlooking the beach. The rooms are in a two-storey building each with their own entrance and balcony, fabulous large bed, A, and spot-on bathroom. The food was brilliant. The staff couldn't be more helpful and charming. If you want the bars and night-life - walk up the beach for 15 minutes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Lanka

Property: Suite Lanka
Address: Galle Road Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Lanka 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Boutique Hotel with only 7 rooms and suites at premium ocenfront location, just completely renovated in 2012.Rooms and suites are between 42 and 112 sqm, all with spectacular oceanview from spacious terracces or verandas. Furthermore we offer a restaurant with awardwinning local and international cuisine, pool with pool bar, lounge and beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Suite Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Lanka Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing