We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for relaxation in Hikkaduwa.”
Review of Suite Lanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suite Lanka
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect place for relaxation in Hikkaduwa.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Suite Lanka is located at the far south of Hikka but is only a 10-15 minutes beach walk from the center of things. We stayed for two nights and had a really good time. It has great bathrooms! Saw somewhere that they renovated in the summer of 2012, and they really did it! Some more pressure in the shower and it would be a ten of ten for it.

On the downside: A little to hard beds for me though (186/87).

This is the place for honeymooners or just for the ones who want to relax and have a nice stay in Hikka.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrikJarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    25
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
319 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Sadly only spent one night here but it was perfect. The location is about 1k down from the busy surfing backpacker strip of Hikkaduwa so the hotel gardens lead straight onto a perfect quiet stretch of the never-ending sandy beach. The hotel itself is beautifully designed with a small swimming pool - who need with the sea 100 metres away - a delightful shaded garden with lots of shady sitting places and a patio for dining overlooking the beach. The rooms are in a two-storey building each with their own entrance and balcony, fabulous large bed, A, and spot-on bathroom. The food was brilliant. The staff couldn't be more helpful and charming. If you want the bars and night-life - walk up the beach for 15 minutes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have visited this place 3 times in the last two years and each experience is far better than the previous one. Level of services, quality of food, everything which I expect from a luxurious hotel, all are there. Building is beautiful and rooms are decorated in a traditional way. Communication was an issue the last time, as the staff could not speak English well. Best place to stay in this city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Awesome place in terms of location and the chef was excellent ( elderly man I forgot his name sorry) he made special vegetarian dishes for us, highly recommended for a relaxing holiday! The AC did have some problems hope it is fixed now after the renovations!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayesh-1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our expectations from the holiday were rest and relaxation. Suite Sri Lanka fit the brief perfectly.
The property is simple and well-maintained. The staff is extremely diligent. The food is delectable ( in fact we overate a lot during our stay). The view is breath-taking.
The highlights for our stay there is the breakfast on the deck by the sea and sleeping to the sound of waves crashing.
We were assisted during our entire stay by a guy called Namit who was earnest and polite.
If you are keen to explore Hikkaduwa sights and sounds they're a 15 minutes walk away. But the beauty of Suite Sri Lanka is that you can spend a week easily lounging there. It's a complete experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor rooms for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayesha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just finished our holiday at hikkaduwa and stayed at the Suite Lanka for 3 nights (we were 3 couples). The Hotel is better than it looks in the pictures. The staff are awesome and really friendly. The food we had the first night was great, although it may take 30 mins for it to arrive. Please note that for 6000 to 7000 INR this is great value for money. The hotel manager Sharath was very helpful. We dint use the beach much since it was rough due to off season. You can hire a scooter for Rs 400 INR per day to travel around Hikkaduwa and do try the lobster at Mama's and the party at Happy Banana in Unawatuna beach.

Room Tip: You can choose any rooms... There are just 7 rooms.. the superior and deluxe is what we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul270780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel because it is a little bit different from all the other hotels in Hikkaduwa. With its well-furnished rooms, the lovely garden with palms and a sala overlooking the wide ocean while you have a tasty breakfast, you can enjoy the sound of the waves without having any other noises around you. The Suite Lanka is situated a little bit outside of the city center, but only a 10-minute walk along the beach to the shops and restaurants. But just as well, you can have a delicious dinner inside the hotel. The cook and the staff in gerneral take great care of yourself. The manager told me that there have been a big refurbishment in the Superoir and the Deluxe Rooms. And obviously the bar and the restaurant were renewed as well.
If your are looking for a quite, modern and individual place to stay, go here!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,609 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
598 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
1.5 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Lanka

Property: Suite Lanka
Address: Galle Road Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Suite Lanka 2*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Boutique Hotel with only 7 rooms and suites at premium ocenfront location, just completely renovated in 2012.Rooms and suites are between 42 and 112 sqm, all with spectacular oceanview from spacious terracces or verandas. Furthermore we offer a restaurant with awardwinning local and international cuisine, pool with pool bar, lounge and beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Suite Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Lanka Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing