We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In short "Can we come again please?!" A Superb Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, U.K
1 review
“In short "Can we come again please?!" A Superb Holiday!”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We went to The Asian Jewel to celebrate my brother's wedding and have nothing but good things to say about it. The Asian Jewel and it's staff are brilliant!
Beautiful rooms and garden - a pleasure to relax in and soak up the Sri Lankan sun. So restful with only the odd Tuc Tuc to disturb the peace and quiet. Great views of the Lagoon - such a lovely setting.
Dale, Tanya & staff are very accomodating and strive to make your holiday as special as it can be. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Their attention to detail is impeccable and I couldn't recommend it enough.
We had a great holiday, many thanks!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowerHull_U_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    29
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
77
258
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Just arrived back in Bahrain after a short break at the Asian Jewel. From the moment we arrived to the time we left (1 week) we were made to feel at home by Dale, Tanya and all the staff. Both Dale and Tanya are extremely helpful with suggestions and arrangements for the various activities and places to visit. The room we stayed in had a magnificent view, perfect for watching the birds and chips monks wake each morning,and the sun come up with a cup of coffee on the balcony. The hotel is beautifully decorated, clean and well maintained. The food is second to none and always served with a smile. I could go on and on but the bottom line is the Asian Jewel is the perfect place for a refreshing holiday. Few hotels we have stayed in, in various countries, offer the standard of quality and service as this hotel. We look forward to going back in the not too distant future. Stu and Jenny

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for 9 nights in February after doing a 1 week tour of Sri Lanka. We received such a warm welcome from all the staff and a big hug from Tanya.

We stayed in Lady Rose room which was truly beautiful. The bed was a large kingsize bed and was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were very spacious and the furniture and decorations were stunning. Fresh flowers and romantic candles were just some of the special touches left for us.

The location of the Asian Jewel is perfect. It is about 5 minutes in a Tuc Tuc to the beach where there are lots of bars and restaurants. The main beach can be very busy so the hotel offers total peace and tranquility with an amazing view of the lagoon.

We travelled for a week before arrival and had eaten in a lot of different restaurants but nothing touched the food served here. We only went out for dinner one night during our stay to nearby Aditya which is a 7 star hotel and even that did not beat the food here. The menu at the Asian jewel is very extensive, including fresh fish caught from the lagoon and our favourite the best traditional Sri Lankan curry in Sri Lanka. The chef however will make anything you want. The setting for dinner is beautiful as the veranda is lit by fairy lights and romantic candles.

The pool and facilities here are great. There are lots of books, board games and dvd’s for guests. There is lots of nightlight in Hikkaduwa including bars and clubs however we enjoyed drinking at the Asian Jewel. In the evenings we would sit and chat with the other guests and the staff. While we were there Tanya’s family were also visiting like Tanya her family are also the nicest people you could meet and provided us with lots of laughs through out the holiday. I really enjoyed my girly chats with Tanya. Tanya has her own little jewellery collection which I could not resist getting some pieces from and I also had to bring home some of her hand made soaps.

We did a couple of day trips which Dale arranged for us. Dale is a great bloke and has fantastic knowledge of the island and will arrange any trip you want. Nothing is too much trouble. He has a great network of Tuc Tuc drivers who will all look after you. We loved Anura who took us on many trips including exploring all the beautiful south beaches. He even picked up his friend along the way to teach my boyfriend surfing.

We would like to say a huge thank-you to Dale and Tanya we feel like we are leaving two new friends. Also thank you to all the staff including Cyril, Hashan, Sunny and the chefs for making our holiday so enjoyable.

If you are thinking of staying here you will not be disappointed it is 5 star all the way and Dale and Tanya really known how to look after their guests. This hotel was perfect we loved every minute of our stay here and were very sad to leave.

Elaine and Tom

P.S. We miss Bridie

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westy4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH EAST ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

The service we received from Dale & Tanya started many months before our arrival on the 20th February as this was not just a holiday it was also where we had planned to get married.

We experienced our first taste of genuine Srilankan hospitality at the airport when we were greeted by our smiling mini bus driver. He proved to be an excellent guide, explaining and pointing out areas of interest on our journey. We even stopped of for a refreshment break on the way.

When we arrived at the Asian Jewel we received a warm welcome from Dale & Tanya, we chatted over drinks whilst the staff took our cases to our rooms. This provided just enough time to take in the wonderful vicinity of the hotel. The views are absolutely breath taking.

The rooms are beautiful, each individually designed with personal touches including flowers and hand made soaps to name but a few. We had the Jasmine suite, this has a four poster which when coupled with the view of the lagoon felt truly romantic.

Our party of six tried just about everything on the extensive menu and each meal we had was simply delicious. We travelled to various parts of Srilanka after our stay at the Asian Jewel and I can honestly say nothing matched the food we had received there. Hats off to the chef and kitchen staff who work behind the scenes at the Jewel.

The front facing staff, including Cyril, Sunny and Ashan were fantastic throughout our stay. The personal service they provide is second to none. One evening we asked for particular drinks that the staff had not prepared before, not phased at all by this, they simply looked it up on the internet and within minutes we had our freshly prepared drinks.

Dale, whom we jokingly renamed the fixer, is always on hand to provide his knowledge on where to go and when. He arranged a number of short and long trips for our party during our stay at a very reasonable cost. The Tuk Tuk drivers were great. When one of the group experienced problems gaining access to cash at the ATM at the local bank. Dale jumped on his bike and was back in a flash with the changed money. We all agreed there was nothing he could not fix.

Tanya, joined us on a number of nights and chatted over drinks. By the end of the stay we felt we had been in the company of friends and not simply a number like you sometimes feel in larger establishments.

I am sure like us there will be couples out there who are considering getting married in Srilanka so these are our thoughts on the wedding package arranged by Dale & Tanya. Firstly the practicalities, we sent photocopies of documentation a couple of months in advance, we agreed the type of package we required by email and telephone. Dale took us to visit the registrar at her home on the second day of our stay, which took about twenty minutes. After looking at some photographs and discussions with Tanya we agreed the flowers, cake, wedding meal and photographs. You can have it as formal or informal as you like. I would recommend the kandy drummer and dancers they were fantastic, starting with a traditional dance leading the groom and best man and then doing something similar with the bride (me). After the wedding service they provided a brilliant display of dancing and somersaults. The traditional outfits were beautiful. We then had a champagne toast and cut the cake (with colour co-ordinated flowers and frills). We decided we would like to have photographs on a secluded beach, the specially decorated Tuk Tuk to get us there provided by Dale was fab. The Srilanka people we passed on the way were delighted by the procession. The day was finished off with a barbeque, this was our choice but a more formal meal could have been arranged if we had wanted that. Obviously I am biased as it was our wedding day but I can honestly say if I would not change a thing. You can have all of your friends and family stay in a beautiful private location, the ceremony is lovely coupled with excellent hosts and facilitators (Dale & Tanya).

In summary, the service you receive throughout is excellent, the location is breathtaking, the food is to die for and you come away feeling you are leaving two nearly found friends, Dale & Tanya.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DESMOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Arrived as a group of six for a weeks stay before moving furher North.

We were greeted at the airport by a driver/mini bus, which was arranged by one of the owners of the hotel (Dale). After a beautiful 3 hour drive down the coast (okay i didnt see all of it as jet lag was taking hold) we arrived at the hotel. We were greeted by smiling staff and Dale and Tanya. Within minutes we were in our rooms (all of which were individual, stylish and offered great views). Me and my partner chose the smaller room with amazing views over the lagoon.

Big shout out to the staff at the Asian Jewel (never met better) as nothing seems too much trouble. Particular nod goes to Cyril, great man with a lovely heart and Ashan (sp?) always smiling, especially if you mention cricket.

Getting out and about couldnt be easier. We simply told Dale where we wanted to go and what we wanted to do and a couple of minutes later a pick up would be there. Dale seems to have a great network set up (the tuk tuk drivers are all brilliant company, Anura is a winner!) and has sound knowledge of Sri Lanka. He sorted us many a trip round the south coast and also arranged our train travel to Kandy from Colombo!

Tanya is a very warm and person always up for a chat (and the odd bevvie). My partner enjoyed many a discussion about the soaps/jewellery etc. on offer (to buy) at the hotel. The cases were certainly heavier by the time we left.

Moving on from the staff and service, the food at the hotel was the best we had during our weeks stay. The breakfasts (fruit platter) are beautiful and the evening meals are well worth the price. We had a few chats with the staff (Cyril again) about local traditional dishes and the staff were only too willing to knock a few of these up. String Hoppers and Curry for breakie was gorgeous and the Sri Lankan Curry was amazing!

All in all its agreat place to stay, in beautiful surroundings with a great atmosphere and even better service. In the words of Arnie "il be back!"

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp51080l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2010

we travelled with friends for a wedding, our friends found this hotel through trip advisor and we read the reviews before we went and was very impressed. But they did not do this beatiful location justice no matter how well it was rated!!

Travelling from Columbo for four hours, so we were desperate to get to the hotel and when we arrived we were greated by Cyril (lovely man) and the two owners Dale and Tanya. They were so warm and friendly and got us settled into our rooms within a matter of minutes.

The rooms are stunning, all indivudully decorated and named, we were in Kingfisher, which is the family room. It was spacious and very comfortable with excellent air con.

Dale, Tanya and the excellent staff couldnt have been more helpful and I only wish I could take Dale with me on all my holidays as there was nothing that he could not sort or arrange. He was so knowledgable and offered sound advice when we wanted to go out and about as to where to go and what time. He arranged a boat trip in the first couple of days and recommended an early start to avoid large tours and he was spot on and we had a brilliant time on the bost. The trip consisted of 3 tuk tuk's picking us up at 7am (Ulpul tours, we used these guys all the time and they were so helpful and accommodating) the river trip, mask factory, Tsunami museum, peace pagoda etc were amazing.

The food at the hotel is very good and varied and the chef is willing to cook traditional Sri Lankan food on request with a bit of notice, i would recommend the Sri Lankan curry and rice or Devilled chicken/Prawns.

The atmosphere and staff at the hotel is very relaxed but attentive, but not overlly so. I cannot praise the staff enough, they are friendly and always smiling.

The rooms are cleaned every day to a high standard.

And finally!! Dale and Tanya, what can i say, good company, always helpful, they have created a beatiful hotel in an idylic location, we will be going back for definite.

Thankyou so much for such an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazzab01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

There are many regular guests here, and it's easy to see why. Dale & Tanya do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Rooms are good, dinner is excellent, and the fruit platter at breakfast is historic. It would be worth eating here, even if you're not a resident guest.
Dale has arranged a set price for the tuk-tuk ride to the beach (LKR250), and can arrange trips and excursions fo ryou. we did the river trip, which was excellent, especially as we could choose what we did and didn't want to see.
This is a hidden jewel, that's not so hidden anymore.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,636 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
233 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel

Property: Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Address: lane 3Field View Baddegama Road | Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its unique location, the Asian Jewel Hotel, Hikkaduwa - Sri Lanka combines the best of both worlds. Enjoy the tranquility and serenity of the picturesque Bird Lake while being just 2 km inland from Hikkaduwa, one of Sri Lanka's oldest and most established beach resorts. Ever since the very early days of travel, Sri Lanka has been known as one of the world’s most beautiful, diverse and exotic holiday destinations. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian Jewel Boutique Hikkaduwa
Hotel Asian Jewel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing