We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A private hideaway in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A private hideaway in paradise”
Reviewed January 8, 2010

The Asian Jewel is an almost perfect little hotel.

With only 5 rooms, the owners (a charming English couple named Dale and Tanya) are able to devote a good amount of attention to making sure that you are well looked after - without them ever making it feel like too much or like they are invading your privacy. In fact one of the best parts of the place is that you can get just the amount of privacy that you want.

The Asian Jewel is about 2 km from the beach, which in actual fact is perfect. The hotel overlooks a lake and its distance and size provide guests with a great deal of privacy. That said, the owners have a few Tuk Tuk's they work with regularly, so if you want to get to the beach, it never takes more than 10 minutes and costs only what you feel is fair. We walked it one day, and the walk down is quite a ways in the heat, but really beautiful.

We stayed at the Asian Jewel at the end of our trip and found this to be perfect. The food there is very good, and with western owners, the western dishes on the menu are actually cooked properly. It makes for a really nice transition back. In actual fact, I would say that the food at the Asian Jewel was some of the best I had on my entire trip.

Another nice thing about the Asian Jewel is their desire to help you plan your holiday even when it does not involve staying with them. Dale (one half of the couple that owns the Asian Jewel) was really helpful in telling me about different places in Sri Lanka which I should see on my trip and in helping me to organize a driver prior to my arrival in Sri Lanka. I was not staying with him till them end, however, he had suggested some nice places to stay and nice things to do on my travels so I really felt great when I got there and was able to meet the people who had helped to create a really wonderful holiday.

I can't say enough about them. It is not the cheapest place to stay or to eat. That said, it is far far far from most expensive and the attention to detail, the hospitality and the kindness of everyone there makes this place a real gem.

I hope that many people get to enjoy what I consider to be a great spot on the coast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jupmoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    29
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
77
258
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

The hotel only has 5 rooms and as a result the service is first class - it's very relaxed and Tanya and Dale, the owners can't do enough for you. They make you feel as if you are in your own home and all the staff are excellent - particularly Cyril and Vejay! Our room was beautiful overlooking the lagoon, spotlessly clean with fresh flowers picked from the garden. Although you are not on the seafront, the beach is only a short tuk-tuk ride away and, as beach lovers, we didn't find this a problem at all. There is a lovely swimming pool if you just want to laze around. We stayed for 5 nights and ate at the hotel every night - the food was excellent. All-in-all we had a fantastic stay and we cannot fault the Asian Jewel. We'd love to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelly2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Dale and Tanya were the perfect hosts. Along with their friendly staff, who were always helpful without being overbearing, they made us feel as though we were staying with old friends. They even baked me a beautiful birthday cake.

Airport pick-ups can be arranged, as can local tours, and they know all the best local tour guides and drivers. Everything was very easy and relaxed.

Before arriving I thought perhaps I should have booked accommodation on the beach front, but by staying out near the lagoon you get peace and quiet away from the busy roads and noisy pubs. A quick call to a tuk-tuk driver and you'll be at the beach in 10 minutes anyway.

As mentioned in other posts, the food is wonderful. A large variety so something to suit every taste.

If we return to Hikkaduwa, there's nowhere else we would ever stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nztravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We decided to book to stay at this hotel for 6 nights after reading the reviews on this website and am pleased to say that we were not disppointed with this choice.

On checking into the hotel we were given a very warm welcome. The owners Tanya and Dale and all their staff are really friendly and attentive and provided a top service. Someone was always on hand to arrange a tuk tuk into town or daytrips... after leaving the hotel our next stop was Colombo and Tanya even kindly provided us with a list of shops and places to go to when there. Their knowledge of Sri Lanka is very good and Dale can arrange tours and a driver to take you wherever you want to go within Sri Lanka. Unfortunately we'd already booked all of our tour before leaving the uk and used one of the well known tours companies called reddottours who were more expensive and they complicated the booking process and didn't send drivers at the agreed time.

The hotel is not within walking distance of the beach but this didn't bother us as it was only a short tuk tuk rider about £1.30, the owners of the hotel have a couple of reliable tuk tuk drivers so this was easy enough and instead we were in a peaceful location and had lovely views over the lagoon.

The rooms were cleaned immaculately and fresh flowers in the room everyday was a really nice touch. We were in the room 'Lily' which was tastefully decorated and had great views over the lagoon and the pool.

Normally we like to eat at different restaurants each night when we are on holiday but we ended up having 4 dinners out of our 6 night stay at the hotel as the food and service was great, we didnt' feel the need to go out every night. The breakfast was also great and served anytime after 8am so we never missed out.

Thanks again to Tanya and Dale and all those working at Asian Jewel Boutique who made our stay just perfect!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zed2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hikkajewel, Owner at Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2009
On behalf of the owners and staff at Asian Jewel we would like to thank everyone who has taken time out to leave a review, We appreciate your views, comments and support Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2009

after travellin up a bumpy lane,the gates open to a sea of smiles from tanya ,and the wonderfull staff that make up the asia jewel .this is truley a wonderful place tanya puts her all into everything the attention to detail is amazing throughout and the food is fantastic,we loved are stay so much that when we had moved to our next hotel on are travells,we diddent like it as much i phoned tanya, and asked if we could go back for a night and we did tanya even came to are wedding shes a wounderful warm person with a big heart .thanks tanya with love fiona and matthew barker

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South west
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Hi, I want to thank Tanya & Dale for being first class hosts and making our short 3 night stay at the Asian Jewel just perfect, your knowledge of Sri Lanka is spot on and the two tuk tuk drivers you recommened were great just like the gentleman who picked us up and took us back to our hotel in Waikkal. The food was also excellent, highly recommended. If we return to Sri Lanka again it will be with out a doubt the Asian Jewel we stay in. Thanks once again. Tania & Mark...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthwestLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We're both very well travelled and are not easily impressed when it comes to hotels. However, the Asian Jewel was simply heavenly in every way. Everything about our three night stay there was just fabulous. The room was beautiful (we were in Jasmine which had a 4 poster bed) and spotlessly clean; the food was yummy; the service was fantastic (Cyril deserves special thanks here, as does Upal the tuk tuk driver).

The attention to little details also set the Asian Jewel apart from pretty much all the other hotels we've ever stayed in: the fresh flowers put on the bed every day; the home-made smellies; and the chef even cooked us food that wasn't on the menu (twice). All in all it was just wonderful.

Tanya was great fun (although we both left the hotel with hangovers) and very knowledgeable about Sri Lanka. She recommended accommodation/contacts for us in a couple of other towns and her suggestions, like everything else about our stay here, were bang on the money.

Jez and Sonia

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JezAndSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
598 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,609 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel

Property: Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Address: lane 3Field View Baddegama Road | Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its unique location, the Asian Jewel Hotel, Hikkaduwa - Sri Lanka combines the best of both worlds. Enjoy the tranquility and serenity of the picturesque Bird Lake while being just 2 km inland from Hikkaduwa, one of Sri Lanka's oldest and most established beach resorts. Ever since the very early days of travel, Sri Lanka has been known as one of the world’s most beautiful, diverse and exotic holiday destinations. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian Jewel Boutique Hikkaduwa
Hotel Asian Jewel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing