We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel - great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The staff are the thing that really make Asian Jewel a special place. They are so friendly and accommodating and I would like to thank them for making our stay so pleasant. We stayed 4 nights and ate at the restaurant 3 nights out of 4. The food was really good and I would highly recommend it. My two suggestions to Asian Jewel would be to add real coffee to your breakfast menu - nescafe just doesn't cut it! and secondly to add day curtains to the room to allow for some privacy without having to close the full curtains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoInSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 425 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent 5 days at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. Tanya and Dale were very friendly and helpful, and all staff (Anura, Sunil, Cyril, apologies to the others I can't remember the names of including the chefs) were fantastic. The rooms were comfortable and clean, we enjoyed the hotel's facilities (e.g. pool and DVD library) and the food was great. Advice given to us about various things (e.g. transport, logistics etc) were much appreciated.

However, this hotel is not for everyone. As advertised and stipulated on their website, the hotel is located 2km from the beach up some winding roads (around 5 minute ride by tuk tuk which the hotel are happy to arrange). This was perfect for us as this allowed us to enjoy the hustle and bustle of the beach and the main road, as well as the charm of being inland and near the lake. We would often walk to allow us to take in local day-to-day life in these back streets. So if you're solely in Hikkaduwa for the beach and parties, then a stay at one of the beach resorts directly on the beach would probably be more to your liking. But if you're after a little more diversity, this hotel will be right up your alley!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Let me start by saying that everything you read on here is absolutely right, you simply can't go wrong by booking this hotel. In all honesty, I am a pretty demanding hotel guest, always looking for things to criticize. The only negative comment I have about this hotel is that it was foolish of me to book it at the start of our trip because all other hotels simply won't compare after this one. Seriously, go here at the end of your trip because it's the best way to end your vacation ever!

Based on their website, I wasn't sure why this hotel is so popular, but the website clearly is a bit outdated and doesn't represent this place in the way it clearly deserves. All rooms are extremely spacious and clean. The food at the restaurant is by far the best I've ever encountered on a vacation, the nature surrounding the hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the pool is the perfect place to truly relax during your vacation.

My favorite thing about Asian Jewel was its staff though. All staff members (including the owners) are very friendly and go out of their way to make this the best vacation of your life. I'm a picky eater but I had no trouble at Asian Jewel because they serve absolutely delicious food. Even better, if you want something that isn't on the menu, they are actually *happy* to try and make it for you... The key word here being 'happy', because most of the time, I feel hesitant to even ask for a special dish, but over at Asian Jewel, everyone was so happy I felt totally comfortable requesting something special. (Ask for a mango milkshake!)

Some more highlights of our trip arranged by Asian Jewel include the river safari: a very nice day out, saw lots of beautiful animals and the tuktuk driver is super nice. Our scooter safari with owner Dale was ever better though, because you get to experience the Sri Lankan life up close. You drive up into the mountains, are greeted by random people smiling and waving at you from their houses and get to see breath-taking views of the Sri Lankan landscape (including tea plants, rice, rubber & palm trees). If you're in for a bit of adventure, you definitely don't want to miss out on this!

I could continue this review for days because I had such a great time at Asian Jewel, but to summarize: it's the best place I've ever been and I simply can not wait to go back. Thanks so much to Dale, Tanya and their entire team!

Room Tip: If you love bird watching, ask for a room that faces the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sabrina_SNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Initially planned to stay in Asian Jewel for Easter but the hotel was fully booked. So changed travel dates by couple of weeks so we could stay there. Suffice it to say it was totally worth it! Great hosts, service - attentive without being overbearing, good spacious clean rooms, very good food. Scooter trip with Dale is great fun. Everything is really well organized and runs smoothly from airport collection to airport drop off. One of those places you'd definitely return to.

Elena & Gary
Dublin-Doha

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We just spent 4 days here and wouldn't have stayed anywhere else in hikkaduwa. We were the only people there most of the time which was great! Galle, Unawatuna and hikkaduwa beach were all an easy tuktuk ride away.

Food was great and the staff were fantastic. They couldn't do enough to make sure we were looked after.

Dale and Tanya, the owners, we're most welcoming and we would happily go back for another stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I think everything's been said already, Asian Jewel is what it is: a jewel. Cut off from town, situated in the midst of the nature, overlooking a beautiful lagoon with lots of birds and insects noise (in a good way), the Asian Jewel is a small place with just 5 rooms (one bigger family room), which all look beautiful and are tastefully decorated. The English couple owning it, is nice and authentic: they mean what they say. Especially the wife is a darling, you would love to give here a big hug each day you wake up. You can tell she has a big influence on the style and look of things also, lots of nice details going around in and outside of the rooms. Her husband is a little bit more tough English guy, but in a good way ;-)

The swimming pool lies in a small garden full of beautiful palm trees, and is very nice (altough, if i remember correctly, the water was a little but warm, which would be the only minor miniscule point of criticism i could think of, apart from the Abba soundtrack during dinner ;-) Well dinner, the word's been said. This is by far the best place to eat in Hikkaduwa. Best rice and curry we had during 3 weeks in Sri Lanka, and man, that chocolate cheesecake (oh, yes) was amazing as well, as was the Sri Lankan breakfast in the morning (dal, sambol, string hoppers).

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JohnKingZwolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We are a family of 5 and stayed at the Asian Jewel for 6 nights in April 13, the hotel rooms were excellent and maintained on a daily basis. The food is fantastic, particularly great for our kids as all their favourites were available, we really enjoyed the house special curries and chocolate.brownies!. Apart from the setting, what really makes this place special and worthy of the reviews on Tripadvisor are the owners and their staff who really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and ensure you have a great time, you will be hard pushed to find service like this in some faceless corporate 5 star hotel.

Thanks Dale, Tanya and all the team for such a great and relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Family room available as well as double and triple rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,722 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
364 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel

Address: lane 3Field View Baddegama Road | Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $43 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its unique location, the Asian Jewel Hotel, Hikkaduwa - Sri Lanka combines the best of both worlds. Enjoy the tranquility and serenity of the picturesque Bird Lake while being just 2 km inland from Hikkaduwa, one of Sri Lanka's oldest and most established beach resorts. Ever since the very early days of travel, Sri Lanka has been known as one of the world’s most beautiful, diverse and exotic holiday destinations. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian Jewel Boutique Hikkaduwa
Hotel Asian Jewel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing