We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot as our first stop in Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelwehera Village Resort
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Dambulla
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Purely this Resort deserves a good rating..It was first stop after long journey directly from Airport.

Received the refreshments as step down car, and then boys took over luggage and directed to our room 201..the resort was superb, wooden restaurant and I liked that style..then enter our double room where the bed well decorated as you can see in pics..

The view from balcony was pleasant.Took good rest and headed towards to Sigiraya Rock and elephant ride..returned to hotel in evening..

The set menu for dinner we had spinach soap, fish fingers, chicken pasta..taste was so good..credits to super chef

We enjoyed our stay over here for sure.

Room Tip: we stayed in new built rooms after restaurant take left.201 I guess not sure..balcony towards road s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shree432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 198 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

I cannot understand how some travelers do not rate this place. Compared to some of the other 3 star hotels that we stayed at around Sri Lanka this resort deserves 4 stars. Ok its not the Marriot- but it more than met our standards.
We stayed one night, went toTrincomalee and then came back for a second night. Why ? The room on the ground floor was large clean and with a massive shower/ bathroom area.
Good TV , minibar, aircon and mossie repellants in the bedroom.
The outlook from the deck at the front of the unit is a tranquil area of trees and gardens with the swimming pool out to the left of the mini forest. We had the pool to ourselves until the evening when visitors to Sirigriya etc returned.
We had an excellent lunch- mine being a pineapple cut in half and filled the mushrooms,chicken ..and pineapple( see photo) .The restaurant is open to the outdoors and overlooks the pool and gardens . A good buffet dinner and breakfast with enough variety if you don't do spice
The staff were attentive without being intrusive and upon our departure there was a young lad not far away waiting to take our bags to reception.

As is the case in SL the internet only worked near the reception area - the only negative is the mossies. We carried a can of Mortein with us everywhere we went even though there were plug in repellants in the room.I sat out side the unit in the early evening with a Gin in one hand and the Mortein in the other. If you follow cricket the score was 10 without loss( no bites) to me when we adjourned to the restaurant.
A resident iguana ( see photo) wandered around on both occasions that we were there along with squirrels and a variety of birds. Between the main road and the resort are paddy fields which featured the rice being harvested by hand.
Well done to the owners and staff of this establishment

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms that we had were close to the restaurant and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDRennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

They received us with refreshments.

The room was super big, nice terrace, very quiet and peaceful.

The diner/breakfast were good and the staff friendly. Which is not always the case in Sri Lanka.

Nice place to relax after a visit of the cultural triangle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christophec638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our organised tour. The family room (we are a family of 4) consisted of 3 beds, which seems to be the norm for Sri Lanka and was fine for night stop over. The room was clean but basic. The swimming pool was good size and the evening/breakfast buffet was good. It's a good base for exploring the Cultural Triangle and seems to be used by touring groups.

Room Tip: We were on second floor (facing garden/pool area) in building set-back from road- family room with 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed hier for 3 nights (30.12.2012-02.01.2013). The hotel is centrally located for visiting all the major sites like Dambulla, Sigirya, Aukana... The room we got was located on the second floor. It was very spacious and clean. The hotel is rather far from the city center and you need a car to get there. The food at the buffet restaurant was really good. Breakfast was fantastic and the dinner buffet was cheap and with a lot to chose from. There is a small pool which is great after a long day of visiting sites. This hotel caters for large groups. Considering the price and what you get for it it's a good hotel for those who need a basic, clean and comfortable hotel for visiting the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reispiranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pelwehera Village Resort was a last minute find (on the day we arrived!) and what a blessing it was. We stayed in a room on the ground floor in the newer wing for 3 nights, facing some paddy fields. The room itself was basic but reasonably modern, spacious and comfortable. It was equipped with a TV with some cable channels, mini bar fridge, kettle, strong air-conditioning, en suite bathroom with good shower pressure and solar-powered hot water, and a decent sized-balcony. However we never sat on the balcony for fear of being eaten alive by mozzies. The room was generally kept clean though some insects and bugs made their way in (probably due to the gaps in the wonky balcony doors). We amused ourselves by trying to kill all the mozzies before they got us. The hotel does provide a mosquito plug in the room so that helped.

Wifi was available only in the restaurant and pool areas. There was meant to be wifi in the rooms but we never received a signal. We were on half board and so had buffet breakfast and buffet dinner at the hotel's restaurant. For dinner, there were about 8 selections and the food was a bit hit and miss. The curries and vegies were generally good and I loved having the string hoppers with curry for breakfast! For breakfast there were lots of pastries, bread and some hot food (sausages, baked beans, etc) plus an egg station. Coffee was awful so if you're a caffeine fiend you may want to bring your own supply! Pool is great for kids as there is a shallow end that they can play in. Not many lounge chairs so head there early if you want to bag one. The hotel has pretty gardens and there are benches you can relax on.

Service staff, like all we encountered in Sri Lanka, were friendly and earnest, but a little slow. For example, we would sit down for lunch and the staff would smile and say hi, but instead of bringing us the menu, they would proceed to clear the table of a group that had just left. Perhaps I just needed to chill out and take a slower pace since I was on holiday.

Location-wise it was a good base from which to see the surrounding sights. We were very close to the Dambulla cave temple, 15min drive to Sigiriya rock, 30-45min to Minneriya for the safari, and about 2 hours to Polonnaruwa. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missduhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Whilst we actually prefer smaller establishments to stay this was a very good choice of hotel for visiting the area. A medium size modern hotel situated just off the main road down to Dambulla with a pool. One or two small shops nearby to buy water.

We stayed here for 3 nights in February as a base for visiting Sigiriya, Polonarwara and Mineriya Nationa Park. On arrival we were greeted with an ice cold towel and a refreshing drink. We were then quickly shown to our room on the second floor, room 126. We liked the room as it was quiet, very spacious, although plain, clean, with a very large bed. Air conditioning, fan, mini bar, TV (English Channels) and wardrobes. The safe is a locked drawer inside the wardrobe. This room has a very large clean bathroom with a good shower and plenty of hot water. Individual toiletries are provided. No mosi net but a plug in was provided and we were not bothered by them at all. When we sat on the balcony we plugged it in and again were not bothered by mosies.

To get to the bedrooms you have to walk over other people's large balconies. Room 126 is at the end of the block so no one walks over this balcony. It also had 2 very comfortable chairs and a table on the balcony.

The grounds are very attractive and there is a nice swimming pool with a few comfortable sunbeds around it. Only problem was it rained so only got 10 minutes on a sunbed.

Meals are all buffet style but a good choice of both western and Sri Lankan food both at breakfast and dinner and Lion Beer at a reasonable price for a hotel (385) the hotel is popular with tour groups but they do not tend to go for dinner before 8pm so get down before then to avoid the queue.

A couple of things to look out for, it is very easy to lock the bathroom door on leaving the bathroom, just a button to press in, resulting in not being able to get in to the bathroom from the bedroom in the night. After doing this twice they gave us a key for the bathroom. Also the toilet seat kept coming off, despite them supposedly repairing it.

This hotel was booked by our driver way in advance and he had quoted us the price. The hotel then increased the price and our driver had to pay the increased price. We went to see the manager about this but got nowhere with him.

Room Tip: Room 126 is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skier54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.5 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,686 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 17 in Dambulla
174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gimanhala Hotel
Gimanhala Hotel
#13 of 17 in Dambulla
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 17 in Dambulla
129 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
273 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 17 in Dambulla
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelwehera Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelwehera Village Resort

Address: Habarana Road | Bulagala Junction, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: $57 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelwehera Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelwehera village resort is an eco-friendly resort located in Dambulla, Sri Lanka. Wonderful natural surrounding and just 3 km away from most famous Dambulla cave temple. Also it is the perfect base to explore the nature, culture and Sri Lankan history. Pelwehera village resort is one of the most famous nature resort in cultural triangle in Sri Lanka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pelwehera Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelwehera Village Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing