We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil retreat in the historical triangle of Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thilanka Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The entrance to this small and tranquil hotel is stunning. Lovely gardens and a long drive to the foyer where a beautiful pool surrounded by rice padis. The rooms are comfortable and the staff friendly and welcoming. The rooms are well placed throughout the hotel and the spa was an experience. We loved returning to this quite and peaceful hotel after a busy day visiting the ancient sites of Anurhadapura. Wifi was only available in the lobby. The buffet for dinner was good value and the breakfast varied. A hidden gem!

Room Tip: Check the windows close properly to prevent mossies.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet5710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Thilanka Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 536 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Big large rooms, excellent condition. Lots of greens around have to be careful of mossies but kids enjoyed satellite tv. No internet in room, only in lobby. You get chariot from car park to reception . 100's of mango trees! There's a green luscious paddy field next to it! A true Hidden spot!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank DJ_Creations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Friendly floor manager. Great pool and location. The rooms are clean and big. Everything looks beautiful and the bar is nice too. It's a shame there was no wifi in rooms but just in public places. Breakfast is great (you can request omelettes which are nice) and the optional dinner is pretty good too if you like Sri Lankan food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

this resort is my favorite out of 3 hotels stayed during my ancient capitals trip in Sri Lanka. This hotel is based on European style design with spacial rooms. Smart and valuable choice for anyone who wants to visit Matele district (Sigiriya).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanWuTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Thilanka hotel in Dambulla have a huge area with a wonderful pool and fruit garden. The room was clean and comfortable with air condition. There was only wifi connection in the restaurant, the bar and the lobby(we did miss it in the room). The bathroom was luxurious, even with an jacuzzi.
But the best of all was the personal service. The receptionists was excellent in english, they did always solve our problems and made us feel welcome. Especially I would say thanks to Vajira Luckmal, for his great hospitality and good mood.
Overall I warmly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Lovely hotel with a pool over looking the green paddy field and a large garden area you can walk around for hours.
The rooms are spacious, although some things need a little touching up. The room I stayed had a nice jaccuzzi which worked fine, but my friend's room had issues. The staff is friendly but sometime a little clueless. They were in the midst of a renovation so hopefully the hotel is doing much better now.
The food was ok, nothing much to rave about.The menus can use some more variety.. Its been more than 2 years since i visited so hopefully they have got all these little things right by now.

Overall enjoyed the stay..specially that raw mango juice which I have not had anywhere since..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

great service, great atmosphere with a beautiful pool, and awesome personalized service at the restaurant. the only gripe I have is the food was a bit salty for my taste. I think this is a chain company since we also stayed at the Thilanka in Kandy and it was perfect there too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 572nancyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
5.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,588 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 15 in Dambulla
119 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
118 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#11 of 15 in Dambulla
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thilanka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thilanka Resort and Spa

Address: 51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Family Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: $53 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thilanka Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel- 24 luxury Suites with AC, fan, TV, DVD, mini bar, safe, telephone, WIFI, jacuzzi or plunge pool. Ayurveda spa, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, tennis and colleyball located in a 25 acre orchard with 2 rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Thilanka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing