We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“neglected property” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thilanka Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thilanka Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
293 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“neglected property”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

In a nice garden several bunglows with four rooms each form this hotel. Near the reception hall one finds a nice looking pool. The property could make up for a nice hotel...

In reality we found ourselfs beeing put into a dirty room, full of ants, spiders and cockroaches with dirty linen and windows so dirty that closing the curtain was the better option. Again room lay-out and facilities were not bad at all but in a state of complete neglection.

Dinner, available only as buffet, was almost ineatable, all the meat was cold as was the fish and the vegatables - obviously taken out of the fridge (I hope) and put into the heated buffet bins to get warm by itself). Breakfast was not the better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globusat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    193
    70
    21
    13
See reviews for
123
218
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and the setting is spectacular, but our room was just okay. For the price, I expected more. The sliding glass doors in our room wouldn't close, so all manner of frog, lizard, spider, you name it, came into our room. It's Sri Lanka, so I can deal with that, but our bathroom -- holy god it smelled like something was dead in there! I didn't even want to go in there to use it (and it was a lovely bathroom with a great shower) the smell was so overpowering.

That said, the staff was great and the food was very good. I just wanted a bit more polish for my $130.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katybetty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I spent a very enjoyable two nights at this hotel in the new year and it was a thoroughly relaxing and picturesque setting which was a pleasant retreat to return to after hot, tiring days exploring the surrounding area.

The reception and bar areas are effectively outdoors, although covered overhead and it's a particularly attractive area so sit with a drink in the evenings as the sun sets and the lights create a warm and homely atmosphere. The location of the hotel is very peaceful, with only the sounds of the surrounding wildlife to listen to. Although I'm not a pool person, the very long swimming pool and exceptionally well kept grounds provide a very pleasant view which extends to the surrounding countryside. I have to say how hard working the many staff within the grounds were, constantly sweeping and keeping everything tidy and always with a warm smile and a "hello" as we passed.

Our room was very impressive, with a very comfortable bed which made it hard to climb out in the mornings! The large bathroom was very modern and well appointed, with a whirlpool bath, very large rain shower enclosure and some soft lighting options. The hotel provide small spa products each day and the banana shower gel was just amazing! I didn't visit the spa during our stay but the prices were very reasonable and the range of therapies looked very tempting.

The staff at the hotel couldn't have made us more welcome, they were friendly and chatty and we got to know the manager and bar staff particularly well during time spent relaxing with evening drinks. They were always interested in what we'd been doing and made time to talk to us even though they were busy, they also had a wonderful sense of humour and made our stay really enjoyable.

The breakfasts and evening buffet meals were a little restricted and the food was a little cold which we found in many of the hotels and restaurants we ate in, however it was good enough and I have no real complaints. Breakfast is a choice of hot dishes, cereal, fruit, bread, jams etc and the chef makes pancakes in the buffet area when guests request them which was a nice touch. The evening buffet offered a selection of curries and rice, soup and desserts but as I said, a little restricted in choice. I recommend the lentil dahl however, it was delicious.

Overall I was very pleased with our choice of hotel and would definitely return if I was to go back to Sri Lanka, I wouldn't have liked to have missed out on the wonderful hospitality of the staff at Thilanka.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLeeSoulsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in December 2013 with my family. The property is very good but it needs to be managed better. Staff need to be trained in English. The maintenance is poor. The rooms were very good but there was a stench all throughout. The staff need to be trained to clean the rooms properly to get rid of the bad smells, insects etc. The tea/coffee maker was not replished with the consumables. Food was good and tasty with decent options. Dessert platter was good. Although it is named a spa resort, there is no spa. There is only one masseur who is overworked and is actually a junior. The cars cannot reach the hotel door. One has to walk with the luggage for about 100 metres. This is not much of a problem though because the staff come to carry the luggage. However, during departure it becomes a bottleneck when many tourists are leaving and no of staff are limited.

Overall, it is not a value for money. If one is looking for relaxation then this is not the perfect destination. If the management can maintain this property better, it has the potential to become a preferred destination.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Large grounds with mango plantation, numerous different fruit trees and even has it's own cricket pitch! Lovely bar and restaurant area to spend a relaxing evening sampling the cocktails made with fresh fruits from the gardens. Buffet style restaurant, lovely food especially the desserts! Bedrooms are large and modern and bathroom is great, powerful rain style shower and jacuzzi bath.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel last week and were very happy with our stay. The hotel is about 5 minutes out of Dambulla, but we had a driver so was not a problem for us. We had an upstairs room, down the path away from the pool area, which had mangoes growing over our balcony. Very quiet and peaceful. The room was large, as was the bathroom with a great shower. The room was not perfect: balcony windows could not be locked, curtain coming off its hooks, one light not working: but we didn't mind - the price of this hotel is mid-range, and for what we paid we think the hotel was good. Staff were very friendly, if a little too chatty - but they just wanted to practise their English! The restaurant was ok, breakfast good but evening meals strange - little Sri Lankan food, and one evening even a European set menu! We ordered fried rice (Chinese!) instead! Major annoyance was New Year's Eve, the day we arrived. We were not prepared to pay US$60 for the 'special' buffet but were told that was all that was on offer, other than room service. As the hotel is out of town, there was no other option for us. After great debate they agreed (begrudgingly!) to serve us a club sandwich in the bar area - not a great meal for new year in Sri Lanka!! A shame, as at all other times the staff and service were great. Pool terrific (but agree it does look better in photos, but most hotels look better in their photos!) We would recommend this hotel, and would happily stay here again. Some reviewers, we think, expect too much of mid-range hotels!!

Room Tip: We had 211 - top floor away from pool/reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizandMikeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel and we couldn't wait to leave. The only nice thing is that they take you in a rickshaw from the parking to the hotel and that was about it. At the reception the waiter "interviewed" us, which was quite uncalled for. We were on holiday and did not desire to discuss what we do for a living and how long we have been working in our trade etc. He was not friendly at all, just nosy. we were told that we were going to be staying in one of their best rooms with a jacuzzi. The room was quite large but not very well kept. There were stains on the pillows and the "jacuzzi" was so dirty we didn't use it. The food was below average. Overall not worth the money and very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
4.8 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 15 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#3 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
13.2 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thilanka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thilanka Resort and Spa

Property: Thilanka Resort and Spa
Address: 51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Family Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thilanka Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel- 24 luxury Suites with AC, fan, TV, DVD, mini bar, safe, telephone, WIFI, jacuzzi or plunge pool. Ayurveda spa, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, tennis and colleyball located in a 25 acre orchard with 2 rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Thilanka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing