We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great pool and garden, service without smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thilanka Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Recommended, for the tranquility, the landscape, the long-shaped pool in a ricefield landscape, the architecture, the restaurant, the trees and vegetable garden... here, only a receptionist without a smile can spoil your day.

Room Tip: Buildings have 4 appartments (2 up and 2 downstairs) and are located in a long lane. When having di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 548 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed four nights at THILANKA in Dambulla and couldn't say enough good things about it. The staff are lovely, the facilities good and the rooms are great. It's a great place to base yourself while you travel the Ancient sites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is set within beautiful gardens and the layout of the buildings is interesting (part of the pool is next to reception). The pool is nice and the rooms are great. But the best thing is the bath tub, it took several hours to fill (which isn't ideal as we obviously used a lot of water) but it was quite special and looked out onto a little garden. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was standard Sri Lanka rice and curry and good for the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First night in Sri Lanka with my 16 year old son. Loved the pool after very hot day. Very quiet not many other tourists. Think we were there in off peak time. Staff attentive mainly because no one there. Food fantastic and restaurant was great. Really loved our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in July 2013 and it was lovely. The room are spacious and nicely decorated. There was a huge bathtub sort of situated on the outside of the bathroom which looked like it could be great fun although we didn't have time to try it. The pool is stunning and the mango orchards and rice paddy just outside your room. Food was excellent and the chefs couldn't do enough for my fussy kids. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and will try to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DohaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights in this fabulous hotel in July 2013. The hotel is a typical boutique hotel with great and spacious rooms. We stayed with three people in room 215 and even had a Jacuzzi in the bathroom. The hotel consists of 8 blocks with 4 rooms each and overlooking a garden and rice field. It´s situated a little outside of Dambulla guarantying a peace and quietness you wouldn´t expect.

Service was excellent, food was great and adjusted to our dietary wishes as requested and the spa was really good too with reasonable prices. The only minus is that there is no Wifi in the room, but there is good coverage in the lobby area.

Overall, this was our best stay in Sri Lanka. Want to thank everyone at the hotel once again for a fantastic stay and definitely would choose this hotel again if we come back to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. Don´t know if all have jacuzzi in the bathroom, but room 215 has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartfysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Sadly, the look of this hotel is the only attractive part of it. The service is awful..the staff don't seem to know what they are doing..seems like they are just wondering around, this is especially uncomfortable when you are sitting at their restaurant and the waiters just keep walking around your table and just watching you eat. The food is horrible and not by any means even to a three star standard..the breakfast is minimal and bland. They should really re-evaluate their standards if they claim to be a top resort. We stayed at a lot of other hotels and B&Bs while in Sri lanka and they all served much better food and friendly, great service. It's a shame that a hotel in such a beautiful location, does not have the proper management to run it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anav e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
5 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 17 in Dambulla
174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 17 in Dambulla
130 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#12 of 17 in Dambulla
198 reviews
5.7 mi away
Amaya Signature
Amaya Signature
#5 of 17 in Dambulla
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thilanka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thilanka Resort and Spa

Address: 51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: $78 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thilanka Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel- 24 luxury Suites with AC, fan, TV, DVD, mini bar, safe, telephone, WIFI, jacuzzi or plunge pool. Ayurveda spa, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, tennis and colleyball located in a 25 acre orchard with 2 rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Thilanka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing