We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thilanka Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor hotel”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Perhaps it was a blessing in disguise that we only spent the last night of the 3 nights booked at this hotel.Our guide was informed about midday by mobile phone that there was no room available for us for the first 2 nights due to "electrical problems" (as it turned out, we spent the 2 nights at a much better hotel called the Camellia at Kimbissa near Sigiriya).
The room we were given had seen better days. What's more, during the night a pipe broke in the bathroom flooding it. We informed the front desk before breakfast and an hour later the mess had still not been cleaned up.
Food was mediocre at dinner and at breakfast, many of the foodstuff trays had not been replenished.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    203
    71
    21
    14
See reviews for
131
232
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

book a luxury room if you are going as a couple as I found to be at 4 star quality. really nice location friendly staff. always book in advance if you.won't a room here 25 acres of beautiful lush farm land which if you love nature take a stroll through the land
and the rooms has a Jacuzzi also fully worth the money !!
I was satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 636nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel is set in an old mango plantation and the grounds are stunning. Rooms are contemporary, large comfortable king bed, contemporary bathroom. Bath/plunge pool shown in the hotel room pics does not fill so pretty much useless. We had no safe or fridge in the room yet they are supposed to be std inclusions. When we asked about them told no sorry repair madam. We therefore had to keep ordering soft drinks via room service as no mini bar, they were a little miffed at having to come to us a couple of times and even said don't you have mini bar, he looked puzzled when I said no and even checked the cupboard. Not sure if he thought I was mad or fibbing lol.

Such a lovely looking hotel and with a little more attention to a couple of hiccups it could have been a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Get one with all inclusions in it and you should be fine, they are all modern and comfortable and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatsotsgreatplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
794 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel itself is very well placed for the local sites,but we were horrified at the state of the rooms!!room had not been checked no water provided and dirty. In fact when the manger eventually came to see our room the curtains had to be replaced.
In the restaurant the meals were cold and had to be returned ,the dinner was of poor quality no meat on the pork chop!!!coffee machine was broken.Breakfast was disorganised ,no one in overall charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary38677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a tranquil haven after a day of sightseeing, look no further!

Beautifully located amidst mango trees and rice fields the airy modern structure of the main building with its gorgeous pool is hidden away from the road. The twenty-four rooms are divided up in little houses of four. The rooms are modern, spacious, clean and bright with all amenities like in a big hotel.

Unfortunately we only stayed one night, but nevertheless we received the royal treatment from all the staff, from manager to room boy. Always smiling, helpful and friendly without ever being pushy.

The full-body massage was pure bliss! Would have loved to have tried more treatments.

We had dinner and breakfast there and the food was delicious with a wide variety of options.

Highly recommend Thalinka Resort & Spa to every traveller.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sfoersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

we spent 3 nights here and had such an amazing stay. staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and were always smiling. the room was clean and very well presented each day and the food was amazing with a wide variety of choices.
we were unfortunate to have had rain all three nights but the staff did their utmost best to keep spirits high and we could not find a single fault with this hotel or the team. would definitely recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We LOVED this hotel. The location is so beautiful, the room was great, the food delicious and the staff super nice.

Honestly, I cannot understand how anybody can give this gorgeous place a bad rating!

The manager welcomed us in a very friendly way. He organized a tuktuk driver for us who took us to Sirigiya and the Cave Temples at a reasonable price. The next morning we went on a hot air balloon ride and only came back after breakfast time. Nevertheless, we still got breakfast, even with a freshly prepared omelette.

The spa is wonderful, too. We can only recommend the full body massage!

We only stayed one night and didn't want to leave. It's the perfect place for a weekend getaway. I really hope to go there again Vee soon!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadinoschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
5.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
103 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
115 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gimanhala Hotel
Gimanhala Hotel
#11 of 15 in Dambulla
179 reviews
5.7 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thilanka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thilanka Resort and Spa

Property: Thilanka Resort and Spa
Address: 51 Godawalayaya | Morogollawa, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Family Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thilanka Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel- 24 luxury Suites with AC, fan, TV, DVD, mini bar, safe, telephone, WIFI, jacuzzi or plunge pool. Ayurveda spa, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, tennis and colleyball located in a 25 acre orchard with 2 rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thilanka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing