We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet”
Review of Gimanhala

Gimanhala
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Dambulla
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
Restaurant details
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
“Buffet”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went there to eat lunch after Sigiriya - place was beautiful but the food was so so! The price was reasonable - per person 1100 LKR and you can get various types of salads, main courses etc.
I was surprised about beautiful view - swimming pool, mountains - Gimanhala is like small oasis in the city!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LonijaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    51
    44
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good restaurant....”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We lunched there, good and clean restaurant with nice staff. All the varieties are there - SL, Continental and Chinese... Though the main course selection was limited, there was a good set of desserts...:) Good place in the middle of Dambulla town,,,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charu45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A good place to have a meal”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place on our way back to colombo from trinco and stopped there for lunch. It is located at the heart of the city, however, once you go inside you do not feel that you are inside the city. Food is superb with both buffet and alacart options.

Helpful?
1 Thank mahesh9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Staff”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I visited Gimanhala on my way to Colombo for Tea Time with my friends, The staff was very kind and helpful, Fast service and the food was good, The hotel was clean and nice, I have told my friends about Gimanhala and definitely we will visit again :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rehana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Chill out in jungles!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

On our way from Sigiriya we had a lunch in Gimanhala Restaurant. Impressive location, mountain view and pool view, clean. Waiters were responsive but uniform could be not spotted. Food could be more presentable (lunch cost 1000 rupees). Wi-Fi was free (username: wifi; password: dialog).
Payment by Visa or MasterCard on POS is available.
Special thanks to our waiter Lahiru.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruslana0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gimanhala also viewed

Dambulla, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 
Dambulla, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 

Been to Gimanhala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing