We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gimanhala

Gimanhala
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Dambulla
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I visited Gimanhala on my way to Colombo for Tea Time with my friends, The staff was very kind and helpful, Fast service and the food was good, The hotel was clean and nice, I have told my friends about Gimanhala and definitely we will visit again :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rehana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    47
    38
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Chill out in jungles!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

On our way from Sigiriya we had a lunch in Gimanhala Restaurant. Impressive location, mountain view and pool view, clean. Waiters were responsive but uniform could be not spotted. Food could be more presentable (lunch cost 1000 rupees). Wi-Fi was free (username: wifi; password: dialog).
Payment by Visa or MasterCard on POS is available.
Special thanks to our waiter Lahiru.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruslana0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“break journey for breatfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

warm welcome as we arrived for breakfast. Delegates from all SAARC countries really enjoyed the food, starting with the herbal gruel, roti, stringhoppers and kiribath. staff was very friendly and the restaurant was very clean, very airy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food limited choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was our first meal in srilanka , so we liked what we ate , just that it did lack in terms of choice . small buffet .but guess thats teh way it was .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank trishla99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
806 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My first night in Sri Lanka, Feb. 4 2014, went with our guide. Like the traditional dress of workers. We were served nicely, variety of tasty dishes. My first experience to eat fish, prawn with omlet. It was dinner, so view was not so clear, but one man was playing music standing far in the dark and wearing dark, so camera could not catch him. Cost is reasonable.
Only mosquito was our enemy there.
Highly recommended place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abu_Firas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gimanhala also viewed

Dambulla, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 

Been to Gimanhala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing