We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amaya Lake
Nearby Hotels
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Signature(Dambulla)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$511
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Lake(Dambulla)
$143
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$99
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$37
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,692)
Filter reviews
1,692 results
Traveler rating
732
605
211
89
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
605
211
89
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsculture clubsri lankaswim up barsitting areaswimming poolsignature restaurantbeautiful locationmain buildinga la carterestaurant staffbuffet stylebird lifedeluxe roomhotel is situatedbird watchingnice pooltree house
Filter
Updating list...
1,207 - 1,212 of 1,692 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2006

I stayed here for two nights and had a great time. The hotel has a pet elephant which can be spotted drinking from the swimming pool and sharing the breakfast rolls from the outdoor dining room.

Really nice place with pleasant staff and good rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2005

Well this venue is spectacular in its surroundings; breathtaking views, wonderful fauna and flora. As for the accomodation, the room itself is spacious with the bathroom area making half of the area with a choice of shower or tub. Service is good but the rooms need refurbishment, specially the plumbing: we had a major issue with flooding and that was really disapointing. Nevertheless, the magical suroundings make you forget. The food is quite varied but doesn't suit every taste. Overall, vey nice concept that needs to beef up against the recently refurbished Kandalama.


  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Choucrallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2005

Its now called Amaya Lakes Resort, was bought by large company in Colombo,Rooms are set in a park like setting and were beautiful,service in rooms is wonderful, but service in cafe was bad! and its sad because this is a beautiful resort . I wish I could say something nice re; service in cafe but cannot. I paid 118.00$ per nite I cannot say it was worth it, but their is only one other nice hotel in the area, so if it is full you are stuck! Call ahead and check area before you drive to Dambula, unless you are with a tour group (and I was not). Next stop Unawatuna!

1  Thank darjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary
211
Reviewed October 23, 2005

This is one of the hotels I enjoyed the most in Sri Lanka. It is by far the best if you consider value for money as well. The spa services within the hotel are very well priced so take advantage of it before moving on.
They take care to maintain a serene, natural environment. The theme of the hotel is that of a Sinhala village. There is no TV. The AC, plumbing, etc all works, the service is good, the food is good and the evening entertainment was always muted and in good taste unlike most other resorts. For example in the evening go for a dip in the pool and a flutist will be playing softly in a small enclosure in the middle of the pool. The pool is a good size and clean.
My only complaint was being awoken by construction nearby by 7 in the morning (some people like to sleep in)! The front desk assured me that would not happen again but next morning the same thing happened.
It is difficult to get to - yes the roads are bad! You would be better off getting a full board option at the hotel itself. The first day we stayed on a BB basis and went into town to have lunch as we were visiting the caves and the fort as well. We found that a lunch from a good place cost us more than we were being charged at the Culture Club so we switched to full board. There are three ways to get to this hotel - one road is slightly better, of the remaining two, one is long and very very bumpy, the other is very scary (only wide enough room for one and half vehicles on a two lane road, which seems the norm in Sri Lanka but in this case the Kandalama lake is on one side so better trust your driver).
Oh and BTW the guy who stands under a tree near the restaurant is there to chase mercenary squirrels away from guests and more importantly their food!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2005

Stayed here for 8 days in July/August 2005. It's okay, and really there is not a great deal of choice.

Location is a problem - it's 10km down a very bumpy road and feels like you are going to the end of the earth.

Staff

When you arrive, women start playing drums outside the hotel. Check in was a little slow. Restaurant and bar staff were efficient, room staff a little too eager knocking on the door too many times each day to check on various things. There are people working in the gardens all day long, and one guy who just stood under a tree outside the restaurant. All day.

Communications

In room telephone was a problem. The staff told us there was no direct dial - you had to go through the operator each time, which we found out several days into the stay was incorrect. Internet in the "business centre" was S-L-O-W and expensive. Again, for several days we couldn't connect from the room until the staff figured out how to open the line!

Grounds

Really nice if space and wilderness are your thing. Pool looked good but was almost always unused.

Rooms

Okay. Bathrooms need better lighting and better cleaning each day. Rooms are basic but okay if you;re not there all day. No television at all.

Food

The menu here, as with every place we stayed in Sri Lanka, was terrible. You could get some decent things in the buffet but its operating hours were limited. Other than that you had a choice of sandwiches, samosas and spring rolls, all accompanied by french fries.

Ayurveda Centre

Had a facial here - it was totally relaxing which I needed the afternoon I arrived and realised that for the next week I would be completely cut off from the world. An extraordinarily stressful concept for me.

Entertainment

Nothing except a magic show! And not a good one.

I wouldn't like to stay here again, but it could be the best the region has to offer.

Not sure I'd advise people who were coming there for a holiday to make the long drive from Colombo. It gets boring quickly, and and it's too far from everything to come in only for a day or two. We were there for work and had no choice but to stay for the length of time we did.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeeisyourfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews