We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amaya lake one of the best hotel we hv been”
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amaya Lake
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amaya lake one of the best hotel we hv been”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

we spent two days at amaya lake dambulla in superior suite..and it's been a wonderful honeymoon
specially the hotel service n foods been excellent...first time we saw it from the internet and all locations and the room is exactly same quality like we saw it on photos.. we recommend Amaya lake for all kind of vacations... Definitley we want to go back there again and sure we'll do..

Room Tip: superior suite is the best one to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    525
    191
    79
    50
See reviews for
413
668
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trnava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The resort we arrived in India after we spent one night in a beachside hotel in the capital city of Negombo. The resort was chosen because of the strategic sights as we traveled with our daughter who was 2 years old, so it was not so difficult to travel.
regarding the hotel:
Rooms - We stayed in the house which are located in a green oasis. Equipment is pleased, It's just we had a problem with ants in the bathroom. I'm not the type of person that bothers insects but when you cleaned up the room and left you there dead ants around bathtubs, toilets and even in the bath, it pleases. At the insistence of us in the reception instead of cleaning rooms exchanged complete whole house :) While satellite television has but most programs surcharge :)
As to the restaurant, the hotel provides the possibility buffet or menu. Pork do not expect (to inform you that the contractor them not to take anything that week) :)
The lobby bar is a pleasant and well stirred drinks.
Pool every night after a day of clean and flushes feels good :)
Wellness center is at A man can really rest.
You will meet here with the staff that wishes to do for any assistance or services Financial reward :) But by the Sri Lanka tourists known.
The lake in which the resort is planted while bathing but it is a beautiful place. Strategic advantages to travel around the area.

Room Tip: Apartman have private pool.... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinaSupolova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gampola, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I went to the Amaya Lake in the Dambulla for a 3 days of our honeymoon in may 2014.

The land and nature was untouched and the rooms and facilities simple and elegant.

We enjoyed our breakfast at poolside table every morning at the main restaurant. The breakfast food was delicious with many options, Western and Asian, healthy and indulgent. Also chef made us special chicken curry. “Thank you chef” It was delicious.

The service from the staff was just outstanding. So many staff would make conversation and check in with us to make sure we are enjoying our stay. Even the hotel manager - Priyanthi is so friendly and kind.

Overall, we would recommend Amaya Lake to anyone looking for a special romantic getaway that you will not forget for a long time.

Our sincere thanks to Priyanthi (Hotel Manager) Hemantha (Food and Beverage Manager), and the all staff for an unforgettable experience.

Anyway, we will definitely go back and plan to on the first anniversary.
we would like to recommend this resort to all our family members and friend.


Thank you to all staff for taking care of us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Service from the staff was good. Management was slow to react to issues. Food on the first night was good and had a lot of variety but subsequent nights was more limited and uninspiring. The ayurvedic centre was poor.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Poe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

No words to tell about the surrounding over there.We really love the place.Cool !!
I have traveled there twice.i think the staff needs to train well on customer service.I have blocked the dates by paying through credit card to the head office of Amaya group at World trade Center,Colombo.And we have traveled there after 3 months time.When we were at reception,they even didn't know that there is a booking like this for that date.There is no proper way of communication is happening with head office and hotels it seems.After a tired journey we went there and we have provide them all the details where we have already provided the same to the head office as well.It is a bad experience to any guest when check in to the hotel after a long journey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveesha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed F/B basis for one night in a deluxe room. The room was a bit small for our liking, but the bathroom was comfortable. There is a wooden seat in the room which was so comfortable The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Food doesn't have much variety except for the breakfast. The scenery is marvelous and garden is well maintained. Lot of space to relax and walk for sight seeing. Nice traditional and cultural events were there. I liked the evening flute play in the tree house. Naming the plants was remarkable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anuruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Amaya lake Dambulla is a super hotel for a weekend break or even to stay for a longer period. Set amongst nature it faces the serene Kandalama tank. You could also see Kandalama hotel across the lake. The newly refurbished rooms are luxurious spacious and very state of the art. Modern comforts blended perfectly with nature. The staff are very helpful and the service was very prompt. The private balcony which overlooks lots of greenery is very restful to the eye. I would always recommend this hotel for its service, food and of course the friendlyness of the staff.

Room Tip: The newly refurbished rooms are super luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carinivictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#3 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Property: Amaya Lake
Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing