We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLIDAY WITH FAMILY IN DAMBULLA.”
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amaya Lake
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HOLIDAY WITH FAMILY IN DAMBULLA.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I would say one of the greatest hotels in Dambulla. Great staff they make you really feel that you are @home. Food As usual always Great .Great spread. Keep it up,the new rooms which we stayed was more an 7 star We have stayed in many hotels I would rate Amaya in the top three with out any hesitation.

Room Tip: New Rooms in the new wing are great other rooms are also fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear chris p,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review! And we are glad that you chose to stay with us again!

We are extremely happy that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we do hope you will visit us once again.

Cheers,
PR Team at Amaya Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    528
    192
    80
    50
See reviews for
417
670
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were at Amaya lake for few weeks, before and it was a stunning destination for Honey moon couples:
With it's excellent view facing to 'Kanndalama Lake' with the spectacular collection of trees which was preserved from the inception of the 'Hotel' and very much excellent cleanliness in the rooms, garden and the other areas of the hotel were maintained:

The friendly staff with broad smiles offer and excellent service in Rooms / Restaurant / Cooks prepared excellent taste of food / and welcoming Reception staff do a great job:
Hope to visit Amaya Lake on our next visit to Sri Lanka.
Good luck to Amaya Lake .......

Room Tip: Chose Lake Side Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Anne J,

Ayubowan!

Wow! Thank you for the 5 star review!

We do agree on the fact that the hotel gardens are awe-inspiring. We try our best to preserve the greenery and wild life around the resort and is very concerned about our ecological footprint.

Happy to hear our services, facilities and staff were upto your expectations. Yes, please do visit us again and we are looking forward to welcome you back!

Cheers,
PR Team at Amaya Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay and are surprised that this hotel has a 4 star accreditation. In our room, the toilet was not cleaned and the towels were full of stains. The ceramic commode was not cleaned and the waste of the previous occupier of the room was clearly visible. There were some mice droppings found on the mirror stool. The bed linen had not been changed and I found some hairs in pillow cases of the previous occupier of the room. We had to call room service to clean the mess and after a five-hour drive from Colombo had to wait in reception for another hour and a half for the cleaning to be completed.

The food was disappointing and tasteless. More disturbingly, the food areas of the restaurant were full of flies and no fans were switched on.

I booked the place for three days however, we decided to leave after two days of staying.

In addition, There were 150 local tourists attached to the Sri Lanka Pharmaceutical Corporation who arrived at Amaya Resort on Saturday, 5 October and they made significant noise (singing baila) till 11.30pm. I had to complain to the reception in order to to get attention about the noise. I have photographs and attached some for your attention.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jayantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Jayantha J,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. Your constructive criticism is valued, and it is one of the best ways for us to understand how we can enhance your guest experience in the future.

Your comments will be passed along to each department involved, and please let me know if you would like to talk to our hotel manager and we will make that happen.

We hope that next time you visit Dambulla, you will give us an opportunity to make it up to you and make your stay flawless.

Sincerely,
PR Team @ Amaya Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hidden resort at the edge of Lake Amaya has a marvellous welcome of two ladies drumming upon entrance with smiles of "Ayubowan" on their faces. There is a very large pool with a swim up bar and we were there in the slow season of late February and early March. The room we had was in a little cabana with a very large bed and a second smaller bed in the entrance for a third person. The bathroom had stone underlay for sink and tub. Buffet breakfast of Sri Lankan and western choices. Chipmunks ran about us and there were lovely little shops for jewelry and leather and crafts to purchase. It is very near Sigiriya and of course the Dambulla temple and caves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorisanna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear dorisanna2013

Ayubowan!

Wow! Thank you so much for your amazing comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a thoughtful and positive review and are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is located in Dambulla (Sigiriya) If you are visiting Sigiriya then this is one of the hotel which located in the area. This has a very nice garden where you could have a walk in the morning or evening. Hotel is located next to Kandalama Lake. If you traveling with a group then ask the hotel to organize a BBQ night next to the lake, they have a beautiful place for the same. Rooms are individual chalets. They are beautifully designed and constructed. No complains about food too. I have attached good amount of photo here for anyone to get an idea about this property. There are lots of attraction close by to this property, so speak to your travel agent and get most out of this place. One important advice, never swim in the lake !!! you mist have to have life guards. Do not take that chance.

Room Tip: Get individual chalets, some has 4 rooms in one (good for a group), if you are a couple get individu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyangaCFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I think Amaya hotel management has to redo all their rooms , old wash rooms not even a proper shower hard to take bath and room facilities can't believe that no flat tv evn , but the room price is expensive as a five star hotel .we expected a GOOD room but it was not good at all , food ok but range is limited . For the price and the distance not worth it at all !!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel two nights over the weekend in October.

The hotel is a nice, modern asian style place, really liked the reception and bar layout and there are nice touches everywhere. We had our own bungalow with an entrance area, an elevated bedroom and a bathroom.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice welcome drink. check in was fine, the room clean and up to the hotel's star rating. The lake and the estate is amazingly beautiful, it's like a little oasis, well kept grounds, nice clean pool and generally pleasant atmosphere.

The problem with this hotel is the small things: for example, we asked for a mosquito repellent plug and were told 3 times that we would get one right away, it never came. (But every time they smiled and said "yes of course"...). Or at checkout, we had to call reception 4 times to get someone to pick up our bags (it's a large estate and we were far), before someone came. also, we didnt have a plug in the bath, so couldn't take a bath, only a shower. n the plus side, bathroom cosmetics were lovely.

The bar was very nice, reasonably priced, albeit quite boring food - croque monsieur and chips, plus some samosas, nothing interesting or local. The restaurant was a mixture of experience, the food was nice although the flying insects weren't managed well and sometimes they ended up on the breakfast food. Dinner was a buffet as well with very nice selection, especially around desserts. We had a bad experience here though - we were on B&B, and in the evening when we were dining, three people came to ask separately how we are paying for our meal, and insisted on paying cash, instead of putting it on the room. They actually shoved a cash bill under our noses when we were still eating dessert. We ddn't pay cash and escalated it up t the management - what were they thinking, that we sneak out at the middle of the night with our 3 huge suitcases? Reception had our cards pre-authorised anyhow. Very poor experience and not a good reflection on sri lankan attitude.

And why did I say two nights, two completely different experiences? Because of the crowd. First night it was full of european tourists, mostly adults - the atmosphere was lovely, relaxed. Second day a large (70+!!) asian (indian) group checked in with about 30 children amongst them. The evening and the following breakfast was noise, kids were splashing around in the pool in a very unruly manner and we could hardly fit into the restauraNT for breakfast from all the people running around and shouting loudly. Probably a cultural difference, but based on the second night's crowd, i would not come back to this hotel. Based on the first night, anytime, even with the mistakes, as it was a pleasant enough place.

They also have driver accomodation if you come with a private driver, so that came in handy, it was even free, including food, but according to our driver, not the highest standard. .

Room Tip: Rooms to the left of the reception building tend to be nicer, as there are less of them. We had 92...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erika2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
221 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
81 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,432 reviews
10.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Property: Amaya Lake
Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing