We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amaya Lake
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

It was one of the most enjoyable stays for me and my little family at Amaya Lake during the Wesak weekend.
We were warmly greeted at the check-in and over all services were very much up to the high level of expected standards. The most valued quality was "never say no to a guest's need" attitude.
The surroundings were fantastic. My 2 year old baby had so many new things to see and do... Normally a very behaving baby, we found her doing all sorts of little little mischievous things, overjoyed by the large playing space, a variety of animals, 360 degree view and of course the nice swimming pool. Butterflies, wild rabbits, vivid birds and insects were her toys during the stay...
One concern was the safety of little ones when running around the large garden where some unsafe drains could be seen....We felt those should be covered.
Finally I would highly recommend this hotel for anybody who wish to experience the beauty of the nature with other comforts and forget the busy urban life for a day-or-two and have a "real" rest.Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    532
    193
    80
    50
See reviews for
425
673
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Amaya Lake Resort has lovely surroundings and they really take care of the gardens. The service, however, is weak and the rooms are a bit tired (though, pretty comfortable). It has a nice pool, though it is not a very relaxing one as guests can get rowdy. We also had bad experience with the restaurant: we had asked for the price of a specific dish (the price was not included in the menu). We were told one price but then charged higher. We complained and the waiter would not take responsibility for having giving us the wrong price (he basically did not check the price before telling us). We had to ask for the manager before he would change his tune. We also got a massive charge for a car rental to Ella. While it is a long trip, they charged us 26000 rps for an air-conditioned vehicle (they had told us the drive was 6 to 7 hours and it ended up being 4.5 hours). The hotel charged us directly for the car, so we assume they take a cut. All in all, it is a good option, if you are open to dealing with their shortcomings (and if you are traveling by car, try to arrange a vehicle elsewhere).

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room 47 by the lake. If you book 60 days early on line you get a discount. We pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

A nice place to stay and relax to see the cultural triangle. Hired a tuktuk and took it here. Not cheap but food is good if you can get over the buffet. Expensive drinks. Huge pool. Breakfast ends/disappears at 0930 sharp.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

rooms were massive!!! we stayed at room 316 (executive suite) the bathroom had a bathtub, shower and toilet of the best and highest quality.

you can phone the operator for club car service to ring you to and from the rooms

only down side is the amount of bugs in the room since the property is built around a lake.

pool was superb, family atmoshphere was felt all around. lots of european foreigners as well as locals who stay here. would definitely come back, five stars!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheymoure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Amaya lake is one of the best hotel I've been.the setting is stunning, built within the trees on the edge of the lake in a bungalow village.the rooms were comfortable and spacious.The food is good -The buffet had a good spread, with musicians entertaining dinners with local songs.The breakfast ,though good.The staff were really amazing.the service is discreet....it is an experience to stay at this property....
Highly Recommended ............

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Germany, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our experience in Amaya Lake was unique. Upon arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink. Our room was a inside the forest and just next to a lake.
Every room is a lovely cottage that is spread around this sprawling property. The set up is of a Sri Lankan village. The pool is amazing and the bar in the middle of the pool is outstanding.

In the evening a flute player sits atop a tree house and plays the flute to fill the atmosphere with a lovely music.

Dinner was brilliant - there was a grill at the buffet with seafood kebabs, various meats, tandoori chicken etc..best I had in Lanka.

I wish I had more time to stay at this location and enjoy the services but sadly ours was a short trip but if I ever go back this place would be our first choice. ENJOY!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have been to few Hotels around Dambulla, but this place takes the cup. Beautifully located by Lake Kandalama and spread over a large area, sits the chalets surrounded by nature.

Chalets were clean and beautiful, with all amenities. The interior decor was splendid. All you needed was included in the room.

When it came to the Dinner buffet, I expected a better spread all together, and ultimately ended up ordering off the Menu which was disappointing. Breakfast on the other hand was good, so I guess it balanced things over.

Staff were always very professional, extremely friendly and would go out of the way to help you out.

The Ayurveda Spa offered so many different types of massage which I felt was little over prized, but still opted in for a massage, which was excellent having been to few in well known resorts.

Point to note.. do not use the mini bar unless absolutely necessary as even a small Cola can set you back about $3.

Room Tip: any chalets offered would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiriHewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
226 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,591 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,450 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Property: Amaya Lake
Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing