We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, peaceful location, very good breakfast buffet”
Review of Amaya Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amaya Lake
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

By and large we had a happy time at the Amaya Lake, staying four days at New Year. The waterside location was a huge plus, it's a bit of a trek outside Dambulla but you come here for relaxation rather than encountering local culture. Unlike other hotels of this class, we were pleased to notice that this was not just a Western tourist enclave but had several Sri Lankan families. We mostly lazed around in the pool, but the hotel also organised a very good day safari to the Hurulla Eco-Park where we saw a herd of elephants up close, a highlight of our holiday. Plus points - the breakfast buffet is excellent, plenty of options from curries, hoppers etc to standard bacon, beans & eggs if that's your thing - we often went the whole day without feeling hungry again. Some quibbles: lighting in all the lobby/seating areas is too low to read properly in the evening. The in-house massage was rather a disappointment and you need to be very clear which treatment you have booked before they start or you will get the full works. Service was however generally very friendly and we left relaxed and happy.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mowerbyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our only regret is that we didn't get to stay an extra night at this beautiful property on the lake. When I inquired at the front desk whether we could extend our stay for both rooms, we were told yes, but at a 33% increase of what we paid the night before. We said, "no, thank you" and moved onto to Polonnaruwa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MpHav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a tough one to rate. The outdoor space and the pool at Amaya are very pretty and relaxing and some of the recently refurbed rooms are quite nice. I happened to stay in one of the older mangier rooms with stains everywhere, dark lighting and too much contact with nature. All the bungalows seem to let in a certain amount of critters. I was woken up to the chorus of five geckos! Our reservation was lost and we were placed in wrong rooms. You need to have a good sense of humour and lots of time when dealing with reception and wifi did not work for the whole time we were there. Oh, and the food is quite mediocre..so perhaps this is an easier review than I thought...

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the recently renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10mungbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Amaya is a large beautiful complex by the lake. The cabanas are overpriced for what they are, but they are well-appointed and clean. The food is also very good. Unfortunately the front desk staff seem indifferent and not particularly friendly. Perhaps it's because they work for such a mean-spirited company.

The management of this hotel is an embarrassment to the good people of Sri Lanka. The way they treated our driver was shameful, unethical and a throw back to the colonialist racism this country fought so hard to overcome.

How dare you refuse to let my driver play a simple game of billiards in the lobby, because he is a local. You tried to cover your pathetic, petty stance by saying the rule applied to drivers. What nasty rubbish this is. Over our 2-week tour of Sri Lanka, we had stayed at 7 hotels including Jetwing and Aitken Spencer hotels and at each of them our driver joined us for a game of billiards or two after dinner without any problem. Why does Amaya have such contempt for locals?

A good driver in Sri Lanka makes all the difference to your understanding of the country and the people. For many visitors he is the only real "local" person with which they will spend any significant amount of time.

The irony is that we were planning on staying elsewhere and it was he who recommended we go to the Amaya. What a charming way to treat the very people who bring you business.

If you are a traveller with a conscience, or believe that the local drivers should not be treated like 2nd class citizens, please vote with your money and go to another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneSevenOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we just visit Amaya Lake Hotel for a Lunch! Food was good! a nice Hotel. The Pool area , Restaurant & public ares are very clean. it is a good nature resort to be. Friendly staff. Hope if we can go back & spend in that awesome place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilakshika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went to Amaya Lake for the first time. They welcome you with drums and traditional Sri Lankan way. The welcome Drink is very natural and tastes so great. The rooms, Pool, Dine-Ins, Buffet, the service, The Location, are all excellent. We really want to go there again. The Buffet was always fantastic. Delicious food. I will recommend anyone to go there. We were 30 people together and occupied 18 Rooms. We all were very impressed. Great Place!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellent hotel near the lake.
Lodges great, the surrounding areas perfect.
Wifi is free at lobby area.
The only drawback is that I got food poisoned. Fortunately an ayuverdic doctor gave me a bunch of ayuverdic medicines and recovered!

And the mattresses were awful... Unfortunately.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andresit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#5 of 16 in Dambulla
248 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 16 in Dambulla
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,678 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 16 in Dambulla
119 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: $86 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing