We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avinka Holiday Home
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

my friend and i stayed here for two nights, no noise at all, great nights sleep after previous noisy hotels. lovely grounds to relax in, clean, fresh rooms and lovely modern bathrooms with hot water if required, good wifi and the family owners were very welcoming and friendly. its also on the main road but the rooms are set in the back garden area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatty_Rascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
37
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This was the cheapest and best place we stayed during our trip. Owners were really friendly and also arranged a driver to Yapahuwa and Kandy for us. The bungalows are very clean and it's just next to the main road, in a little garden..so quiet but also centrally located. Few minute walk to the cave tempels and golden tempel. Seriously,stay at avinka!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MTax2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

In dambulla, many people will spent lots money in some luxury hotels. but for budget travelers, i think avinka is a best choice. rooms are quiet and clean, location is good, and rate is very reasonable even in high season! although they can not provide breakfast or dinner, you can find many restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheapmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Dambulla is a great place to visit, not such great to stay....not until you find avinka that is! Amazing value, good location and friendly family. Send them an email (one of the photos on here show the address) and they will confirm availability soon after..only downside was no breakfast or meals...places to eat slightly lacking locally, but owner will give you some recommendations.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jbuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We spend here 2 nights while visiting Dambulla temple and Sigiriya (which is just 40min away from here with local bus). Room was really clean (spotless), owners are nice and we liked location a bit away from centre and closer to temple. It is by main road, but not facing it, so its pracefull. We were really glad we found this place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zala K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days. We loved our bungalow! Very clean, new and big. The family is very welcoming and friendly. Reasonable price 1800 for fan room with hot water shower. Booked trip to kaudulla national park. We Saw allot of elephants! We would highly recommend it! We willen deze plek aan iedereen aanbevelen!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kristani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Based on the positive reviews, we booked and stayed at Avinka during end of Sep on our trip to Sigiriya Rock. What were mentioned as excellent were all sincerely true. Thanks to the Reviewer who did a brilliant job by posting his review with a picture of their name board attached otherwise we could not have contacted this place. This was part of our trip to Sigiriya Rock although we didn't expect The Golden Temple to be just walking distance from this place.
Avinka's accomodation is very clean, silent and worth the price. The place is run by Kamini a very hospitable lady, and her husband. Although food is not served, Kamini was kind enough to provide us tea, drinking water and a sumptous home cooked dinner. Kamini was also helpful enough to arrange a tuk-tuk to Sigiriya rock at a reasonable rate.

The place is situated on the Kandy-Jaffna A9 road and from what we understood Trincomalee is just 2 hrs drive from this place which means Trinco is even closer than travelling to Kandy from this place. We also saw a Restaurant near-by that serves local style lunch and dinner buffets at reasonable rates.

Tip to locate this place is to tell your driver "Dambulla Post Office" as it's just a minute walk or "Dambulla wholesale market" a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#3 of 15 in Dambulla
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dambulla City Hostel
Dambulla City Hostel
#1 of 66 in Dambulla
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dignity Villa
Dignity Villa
#1 of 87 in Dambulla
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avinka Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avinka Holiday Home

Property: Avinka Holiday Home
Address: No. 186 Kandy Road, Dambulla, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is situated by the Kandy- Dambulla road,(A9)around 300 meters approximity,close to Dedicated Economic Center. Waking distance,towards cave temple from dambulla main bus station. The first holiday homeAvinka at your left from the bus station towads the cave temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avinka Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing