We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Kalundawa Waterfront Resort
Kandy, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great Hotel with panoramic view food was very nice and the location is fantastic next to the Dambulu oya great place for honeymooners you can have your food next to the beautiful dambulu oya visit and see u will feel how nice this place

Asanka sanjeewa

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asanka s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Male
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good choice for those wanting a very comfortable base to visit Dambulla, Sigiriya and the "elephant parks " of Minneriya and Kaudulla. You could visit the Polonnaruwa and Anuradhapura ruins from here, very good service, relaxed pleasent surroundings, excellent food..
We will definitely visit again.

My sincere appreciation goes out to the management, staff of the Grand Kalundawa as they have achieved a high level of guest service.

Keep it up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dj_ranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is based in some wetlands and spread over a large piece of land. The hotel is very different to anything else we stayed in and for that reason we would recommend it. It is a very romantic setting. Room was clean and tidy.
This is the second time I have been to this hotel and on both occasions I have been blown away by the beauty of the property. Worth every penny you pay. The service is fantastic. Highly recommended.
A beautiful setting, wonderful service and excellent food contributed to a memorable stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank malaka_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombaro di Corte Franca, Italy
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The setting the decor the food and staff were very good.The stay was very pleasant. It was centrally situated to launch trips to Sigiriya polonnaruwa and anuradhapura
We stayed here for 2 nights when visiting Dambulla and Sigiriya rock

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuwanknsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is an amazing, calm and beautiful place to visit at least once in a life time. No such words to explain the hospitality of staff members, facilities they provided as well as quality of services for their guests. Never had such concern from any other place earlier in my life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanishka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a super place for to enjoy and stay away from the rush life. they treat me well and I was extremely satisfied with the service and also the environmental view is so relaxing and also they have arranged places to see and visit around the city. This is absolutely a good place for nature lover people who willing to spend their vacation with the nature and relax their mind. Also this place is perfectly safe and staff was very friendly and supportive. I just have to say me and my family enjoyed lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGalaniha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuwaraeliya
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Grand kalundawa is very spacious, comfortable and lovely place. beds were comfortable and new, the bathroom was clean and had a hot shower. homely atmosphere. hotel aren't that far from the main road, and it is very easy access to many interesting places to visit.
Had a wonderful refreshing experience with the swimming pool

Dinner was fantastic so we ate there for two of our nights and were really impressed. We loved English breakfast they offered us by beautiful Dambuluoya with cool breeze. The service was excellent from all the staff.Enjoyed a lot at here.I feel that lots of improvements can be done here.Hoping to have our next gathering also at this comfortable and lovely place where we feel that we are at home...away from home

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadunNuwaraeliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#3 of 15 in Dambulla
83 reviews
6.9 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#12 of 15 in Dambulla
185 reviews
5.4 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
MPS Village
MPS Village
#11 of 82 in Dambulla
195 reviews
6.6 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kalundawa Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kalundawa Waterfront Resort

Property: Grand Kalundawa Waterfront Resort
Address: Kalundawa Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Kalundawa Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes off the bustling and vibrant ancient city of Dambulla is the tranquil river fronted oasis of Grand Kalundawa Waterfront Resort with its majestic century old kumbuk trees and relaxing lush greenery. The charming getaway is a modern semi-boutique style hotel in a colonial themed building with an outdoor swimming pool overlooking a natural river. Rooms feature typical Sri Lankan-style furnishings, attached bathrooms, satellite TV, fans and air conditioning. With dusk fall, sit down for romantic candlelit dinner with wine and a western or traditional meal, custom planned or by our chef, at our tree house and let those bonds rekindle. You can also try the medieval BBQ diner by river. We serve western, Chinese and Sri Lankan dishes at the restaurant, Alternatively, you may also opt for room service or packed lunches. Our staff will happily provide individualised services and Day trips, Village excursions, elephant safaris or canoeing. We are centrally located to Dambulla Cave Temple (2 min drive), Ibbankatuwa anciant cemetery (8 min), Sigiriya lion rock(25 min) and Minneriya safari national park (30 min). Bandaranayake International Airport (Colombo) is 2.5 hour away. We can arrange Airport pickup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Kalundawa Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing