We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No recommendation”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Ray Inn

Sun Ray Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Ray Inn
Ranked #61 of 79 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No recommendation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in several guesthouse at my trip through sri lanka but this was the worst one. The room (No 4) was dark. The light produces a strange ambient....a bit industrial. Mosquito net was too small for the bed and had holes. Hot shower didn´t worked. The shower was a really strange construction in the bathroom. Room was dusty. Seemed to be not cleaned since a while. Toilette was unacceptable dirty! Bed was dirty (hairs). And there was constantly a noise outside (maybe a compressor). I asked for another room and they gave a more clean, quiet and bigger room. But the matrace from the bed was wet. My overall impression is, that they should invest a lot more more in atmosphere and cleaning!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahi_Mahi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Smile guys guests love it.Clean the muck off the bedroom walls and clean the filthy bathroom tiles.
Find someone who can cook good food and you are going to see improved business.
The hotel has potential being within walking distance of the temple and caves.

Room Tip: Until they get their act together avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dambulla hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Well, we selected it because of its price, cheap and location. Thats exactly what you get. Nothing more nothing less. I agree with other reviewers and all what they have said its correct. If you have no other choice and if you are very budget conscious then Sun Ray may be your choice..

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Niel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place was abysmal! The absolute worst place we stayed in the whole of Sri Lanka. The rooms were filthy. There was black fingerprint smudges all over the walls (and the roof!) and the bathroom was really grimy. Our room had no hot water and no toilet paper provided although I believe other rooms did - not that we wanted to take our chances in the dirty shower either way. Our room also stank of cigarette smoke

The air con was broken in our room and the fan barely made any difference in the sticky heat. The restaurant was also not very good, although edible. The mosquito net was full of holes. There was noisy traffic as it was on a busy road. The atmosphere was incredibly depressing and we couldn't wait to get out of there.

We booked this place because there seems to be little else available in Dambulla for a budget price, so my advice would be to skip staying the night in Dambulla and continue on to somewhere else for the night. Dambulla cave temples are lovely though and worth a stop in.

Room Tip: We had the room directly across from the reception desk and it was appalling, other rooms may be bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QiTian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Previous reviewers have complained of this place being dirty etc, however you must keep in mind how much money you are paying per night. For example, we paid 1500rs a night, hence we understood that the hotel was not going to be perfect, but for the price I was impressed and would recommend it. The room was clean enough, the water was hot, the wifi was free and fast and the staff friendly. The only down fall was that the room was a bit damp. They also have a reasonable resturant on site. Check it out, you could do a lot worst.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Orwellwasright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new west, bc
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed on the 19th of Dec,2012. They have nice Pub and Restaurant but the rooms need to be cleaned vey badly. Wall-paint gone, not enough light bulbs, wet and bad smell, toilets are falling apart and so dirty, found the used soap in the shower. Price is not so bad, good for one night sleep only. We stayed in this hotel in 2004 and was very good that time. Roomboys did not clean the rooms properly but did not forget to watch TV! They need training to clean the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywithanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just avoid this place! Dirty, very expensive when you book online and not helpful. It was awful for us! Water noise in the bathroom, room smells awful (pee!!) and the road noise never stops! AC doesn't work, and when we asked to change they said no!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wafasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Wood Laands Hotel
#39 of 79 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lark Lodge
Lark Lodge
#10 of 52 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Water Llily
Hotel Blue Water Llily
#47 of 79 in Dambulla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shan Inn Dambulla
Shan Inn Dambulla
#14 of 79 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oasis Tourist Welfare Center
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Lihini Village
#31 of 79 in Dambulla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Ray Inn

Property: Sun Ray Inn
Address: 156 Kandy Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 6 rooms at this hotel are tailored to satisfy guests' needs. All rooms have ironing board, air conditioning, shower as well as other amenities. The hotel boasts restaurant, 24hr room service, family room, laundry service/dry cleaning as part of its superior facilities and services. Those looking for first-rate sporting and leisure facilities will find garden. With a full range of popular amenities and a friendly, caring staff, it's no wonder guests keep returning to Sun Ray Inn. Sun Ray Inn Sigiriya / Dambulla. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing