We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in srilanka!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Paradise Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best hotel in srilanka!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one day, the road to the hotel was dark and scary at night but we were shocked to see the lovely hotel. The hotel is new and the rooms were beautiful! Huge bed, rain shower in the bathroom, lots of tv channels to watch and the room was nothing but perfect. The food at the restaurant was very good and there were a lot of options to choose from. The staff there were very friendly and service was excellent.

Since the hotel is new, it would be great if there were comforters or thick blankets for the bed. Also, the shades covering the windows in the toilet and room were not adequate. I was paranoid as there were slits where people could see through and had to cover the window with my towel.

Overall, this was one of the best hotels in Sri Lanka. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnyaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    175
    58
    16
    13
See reviews for
186
203
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Note:
We stayed one night in the hotel.
We selected garden suite. Room 901

Plus Points:
1. Wonderful location. One of the most beautiful hotels in the north central part of the Sri Lanka.
2. Superb room condition. Nicely built with modern equipment.
3. Friendly staff
4. Nice pool

This is a lovely place with a beautiful surrounding

Negatives:
1. Water is for fee; only bottled water is available but you have to pay for that, even if you are having your meals in the restaurant [1000ml, 100 rupees].
2. No iron available for us to iron our cloths. When we request an iron from the reception, they said only the Laundry service is available, but that is for fee. So if you are going to this hotel better take an iron 
3. Less choice of foods at the restaurants if you go on Full Board or Half Board. This is a bit of a frustration.
eg. For the dinner we had to choose one starter out of two. Even one of that is made in beef that we are not eating.

No buffet. So better go BB basis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, Susantha Bandara/Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Kasun,

Thank you very much for taking a bit from your valuable time to write this eview about us! it is great to hear hat you liked the hotel, sorrounding, its rooms etc, also we regret to hear that few things youhave highlighted here have made you little unhappy about us!!

We serve mineral water during meals and are priced at cost! also we provide two bottles of water complimentory everyday! we really do not encourage house water for anyone as we think your health is our priority!

We dont provide irons to room as a house policy! but we provide laundry facility like in other hotels but at a price! this is not an unusual thing!
We are very flexible on our menu's. it is true that when we have few guests in house, it is a complete waste if a buffet is thrown! but even in set menus, we add variety and our chaf would cook anything accorording to your likings! it is unfortunate to note that this was not effectivly communicated to you!

Having said that, i am extremly happy that you have come up with these points as the management can always consider changes in its policies!

We look forward to see you again at Green Paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This little gem is hidden though bound to be discovered :-) The service was first rate and the setting sublime. The monkeys and peacocks playing on the rocks made for wonderful entertainment while we watched the sun go down. The food was fantastic. I cannot commend the staff and developers of the hotel as to the fantastic job they have done. The rooms lack wifi (though this is very common in Sri Lanka) and that would be my only constructive feedback. Everthing was lovely and our night's stay here was just not long enough. We were tempted to adjust our itinerary to include another night though we had too much to see!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, Susantha Bandara, the Resident Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Leanne,

Thank you very much for your compliments! also for the costructive thoughts about us! Yes, there are many to see and indulge around! one day is not really enough!

We as a new hotel in this area, we know that there are many areas which needs improvements! infact we have identified the room WIFI issue and will be taking immediate actions to improve the signal!

We really admire your honest and jenuin comments about our resort and these constructive thoughts help us improve further!

thank you again and look forward to see you at GP during your next holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A lot of time, energy and money has gone into Green Paradise, and in time it is going to be brililant. That's not to say that it's not already very very good.

As a new hotel, the staff and buildings are finding their groove but knowing they are brand new you can easily forgive simple things. There was nothing that could fault your overall experience.

It is brilliant that the hotel is using local staff from the village and training them rather than bringing people into the area with existing expertise. And they are doing a really, really good job.

The pool and rooms were both the largest of anywhere we stayed in Sri Lanka (and we stayed in average $200/night properties). The rooms we were in all had separate upstairs areas which are better if you have small kids travelling with you. We were all adults, single sharing in our rooms. We didn't use the upstairs parts, but downstairs was still larger than almost everywhere we stayed on its own.

The pool area is amazing and huge, but its the setting and grounds that make Green Paradise great. Apparently people complain there's bugs around the property - not that we noticed (though we are Australian), but that's part of staying in beautiful, natural reserve.

The only other area for improvement is for driver quarters. Our driver is a long term friend of ours, and they don't have a TV because they share with staff. I would imagine if we had stayed a few days there our friend would have gone stir crazy the poor man!

We highly recommend Green Paradise, it's a little trek to get to but when you're there it's a real treat. The manager Michael greeted us and took some time to tell us about the property. The small amount of issues (for us it was just our lunch took a while to make) will all sort themselves out as they progress and as the local staff get a bit more experience - but we think it's great now! Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after a very tiring and long drive from Colombo airport. But it was soothing to see the reception building / lobby with wooden panels everywhere ( roof , walls & floor). The architect of this resort has really done a great job !

Our room (Superior Duplex) was beautiful with linen curtains and the top floor had leather sofas but no TV. The area provided for walking is clean but would recommend that they plant more trees / plants to make it more greener. There is a lake just outside the hotel gate and the roads to the hotel with the lake on one side is beautiful.

The bar and the restaurant is great but the bar has very limited choices and the dinner buffet is very expensive. The buffet breakfast is good with a live hoppers & omelette counter. On one of the nights there was a Sri Lankan singer and he even managed to sing couple of hindi songs on our request.

The top management tries to check with the guests on their comfort level and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Suggestions : They should try to organise more events in the resort during evenings, to entertain the guests. Service levels ( room service) can be improved. The living room upstairs does not serve any purpose without a TV / Bed.

May not visit again as i would love to try other resorts around that area. But for sure would recommend it to couples and family.

Room Tip: If you don't like to walk a long distance for dinner & breakfast, request for a room closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suraj_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Suraj_dan,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your holiday with us. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff has made your stay comfortable. Your suggestions and comments concerning the room facilities, pathways and entertainment options have been taken into consideration and we plan to correct these in the very near future.
I trust that you also enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Sri Lanka and will be visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the green paradise . The hotel was nice and perfect. The room was huge ( garden suite ). Clean and comfort. Cleaned everyday and changed the towels everyday . The service at the restaurant was just perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The only negative point was the accommodation of our guide/driver who stayed with us for 3 nights. He had to rent out a room in Dammbulla for his comfort. We kindly ask the hotel management to consider on this regard. We love the hotel but our guide said he would not bring tourists any more because of the service they got.
The garden could be improved.

Room Tip: Garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valgatara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Valgatara,

We appreciate the time taken to give us comments of your stay with us, and happy to hear that you have enjoyed the services and facilities the hotel has to offer and that you were well taken care of.
In regards to our drivers accommodations, we wish to inform that this is an option available due to limited space available and all our travel agent partners are informed in advance and aware of this, Nevertheless we have been taking steps to improve and expand the accommodation availability within the hotel for drivers.
I trust that you have enjoyed your holiday in Sri Lanka and will be visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

It was heavily raining the day when we reached the hotel. It was 3 p.m when we reached the Kandalama lake bridge and was flooded. We saw vehicles and staffs from other hotels helping their guests. But none from Green Paradise. They were not even called us to inform to use alternative routes. We ordered lunch for our kids an hour before we reach the hotel as they were hungry. However, we received it only after 45 mins of reaching.
It was difficult to contact front desk as intercom was not functioning properly. They had few umbrellas to share among rooms and one of them was broken. Restuarant was severely understaffed. Buffet wasn't bad but set menu was average and not to the expected standard.

Jacuzzi was located outside the room and uncovered. It was uncomfortable for women. Despite all the above, this property has a great potential if they hire right set of trained staff and beef up the operations.It is ideal for family holiday, kids would love this place. Spa facility could be improved. I hope the hotel will take this positively.

Room Tip: Duplex with whirlpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuzraan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Nuzraan,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay in December 2012, your comments regarding the services, food and facilities have been discussed with the team and steps have been taken to correct these issues for the future. We did have issues with our road access and communication systems due to the heavy rains we experienced during the month of December 2012.
We always welcome feedback from our guests as this helps us to improve standards as well address operational issues. We look forward to seeing you again when in Dambulla.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.8 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,523 reviews
6.3 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
118 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
232 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
116 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paradise Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paradise Resort and Spa

Property: The Paradise Resort and Spa
Address: Kubukkadanwala, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka (Formerly Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paradise Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the middle of the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka, about 160 km from the International Airport, this hidden gem offering ultimate luxury and isolation is tucked away amongst lush vegetation amidst the mystery and spirit of the past. The resort offers easy access to the nearby historical sites like the Dambulla Rock Temple and other cave temples dating back hundreds of years ago and the Sigiriya Rock fortress and the ancient cities of Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa, as well as short drive to the East Coast beaches of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Paradise Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing