We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the nature....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Paradise Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Wonderful welcome. It was at night and raining when we arrive here, we stayed for 2 nights here..

Felt welcomed by the GRO..
We got the 2 storey room, it was big and clean but I think that the bed should be on the 2nd floor, while the sofa on the first floor for watching tv.
Toilets are clean, nice shower even though we had some issue with the warm water, got it sorted out fast. Bed and pillows are clean.
TV had no watchable channels, evangelical channels and french channel.
Love the surrounding, the nature.

For dinner, it was tedious affair. The hotel insist we have a sit in course meals after a tiring day out when all we want to do is eat and go back to the room to sleep. We had to wait for the starter, soup, appetiser, main meal and dessert and it took 1 and half to 2 hrs! And there was no variety, only western meal. There should be a choice of Asian/Sri Lankan or western, even though I dont see the reason for western. We are in Sri Lanka for goodness sake.

Overall, good service. Will still go back there again, just hope they make the right changes.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank SingaporeFarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Farida,

Your feedback is much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.
Your comments concerning the delays and menu choices has been discussed with the Chef and Restaurant teams and corrective action has already been taken to improve this.
Your comments regarding the location of the bed in our Superior Duplex rooms have been passed on to the owners of the property. The TV channels we have are limited at the moment as we in the process of upgrading the system to be compatible with local providers feed and we hope to have this fully back on-line soon.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the service provided by our staff during your stay, and that you plan to come back in the future. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 606 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Well it was a very big area with many greens. Its definitely suit their hotel name. The hospitality on arrival was good. Hotel room was really big with a separate TV area. Very big bathroom. The room was good. But I was wondering why there was no comforters. There was power supply for few hours and it was warm. only after half way through the night we realized there was no comforter. than we had to switch the AC off. We had the buffet by the lobby.Food was nothing great. They nix water in their milk and yuks its tasteless milk. thread-mill in the gym was not working. Staffs were friendly and polite. Helpful too. Well the location is way inside. Guess it was not too bad. Just some improvements required.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SARALAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Saralae,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and your comments are much appreciated. Your concerns regarding the food have been discussed with the chef and action has been take to correct this. We did have an extended power failure off the national power supply and an error with our generator due to the constant power fluctuations we experienced at the time and our engineering team put in great effort to get it back on line. As a practice we do not have comforters in all room categories, however they are available on request, we have noted your comments regarding this and look forward to including comforters/blankets to all our rooms in the future.
We are please to hear that you have enjoyed the service of our staff and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This new hotel purports to be Eco friendly despite importation of engineered timbers for its construction. A truly Eco friendly structure would have used all local materials. During our 2 night stay we ventured upstairs in the main building to find the floors and furniture covered in gecko and bird/bat droppings. When reported to reception they shrugged it off by saying that it was a meeting area. The real concern about this filth was the fact that it could easily fall from the top of horizontal structural beams onto uncovered food and drinks below. Our driver, who has worked for a major local travel agent for 10 years, told us that it was the worst driver accommodation he had come across. When raised with the hotel manager, he admitted its shortcomings and said that hotel staff accommodation was equally below standard. How can a hotel hope to look after its guests when it cannot look after after its staff properly? Finally, the approach roads to this hotel are heavily pot-holed and make travelling times appreciably longer when visiting tourist sites in the cultural triangle.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to give us you feedback, you comments have been discussed with our housekeeper and team and cleaning schedules have been revised to attend to the concerns raised by you.
With reference to the comments regarding your driver, we wish to keep you informed that the resort provides limited accommodations and it is an optional facility provided free of charge and on availability, all our travel agent partners are specifically informed of this and they do provide their drivers with an accommodation allowance as is the case with your travel agent. Regarding your comments concerning our staff accommodations and facilities we wish to inform you that they in par with all other hotels in the region, in our conversation I did mention that we have limited bed space available which has given us an opportunity to provide jobs to over 60% of our staff requirements from the local and surrounding areas.
With regards to your comments regarding the road conditions it would seem that you driver has opted to use some of the alternate roads leading to the area where the resort is located rather than the main approach road, these alternate roads are not recommended by us and is not used by many others due to their condition. We have already taken up our concerns with the Local Council which controls the last 500 meters approach to the resort regarding repairs, as well as passed on your comments concerning the other approach routes which also come under their control.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the Green Paradise for 3 nights during our tour of the cultural triangle. The drive up to the hotel is in itself impressive. The architecture is stunning and sits beautifully in its surroundings. On arrival we were greeted with cold towels and fruit juice and then shown to our room. Wow! Incredible two story wooden alpine style chalet, with contemporary clean lines. To the ground floor was a huge bed, fitted wardrobes and vanity unit. There was also a dining area that could seat 4. The bathroom was huge, his and her sinks and a massive power shower that could fit a rugby team in (sadly none were available!). To the upper floor was a sitting room with stylish sofas, a perfect place to just chill. The room boy came in the evening and replaced anything we needed, plugged in the mosquito repellent and sprayed the room. Didn't get bitten once whilst I was staying in the Green Paradise and that is amazing for me.

I could wax lyrical about this beautiful jewel but the most important part of staying at the Green Paradise was how efficient and friendly the entire team were. Nothing was too much trouble. We had spoken to the manager, who had introduced himself to us whilst we were having a drink in the bar the first evening, we said we really wanted to experience Sri Lanka and Sri Lankan food. The next day at breakfast the chef had prepared various SL curries especially for us, served with rice and string hoppers. I asked if I could also have some fruit and within minutes a selection of fruits were brought to our table. They really would bend over backwards and provide us with whatever food we wanted. I can not praise this hotel highly enough. Beautiful architecture, clean, modern and comfortable rooms and possibly the most amazing staff I have ever come across at any hotel I have stayed anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Verbow,

We are really pleased to hear of your experience at Green Paradise and appreciate the time taken to give us your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you have also had the opportunity to sample some of our Sri Lankan food during your stay and that the entire team has done their very best to make your stay comfortable and memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sri Lanka and do keep us informed in advance so that we can organize the rugby team.

Kind regards,
Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is situated beautiffuly in 14 acres of lush land in Dambulla. The journey getting there is also quite exciting, passing tanks and well irrigated fields. The hotel is newly built and the architecture very modern, based on some lovely wooden structures. The feel is very homely and the ambience very relaxing.
Although I only spent on night there, I definitely would love going back whenever I can get away. The facilities are excellent - 33m pool, and an enormous baby pool as well; good restaurants; shops and spa; gym and a ground for sports like crickets, etc.

The room we stayed in was a Superior Deluxe and it was a beautifully set duplex room, and the furnishings were of the highest quality. Bathroom had ample room and the shower was so refreshing.
The service was charming and cheerful, although the food was a bit of a disappointment. We were made to feel welcome and plenty of attention given to our needs and requirements.
We trekked to see some ancient ruins about 3km from the hotel, guided by an off-duty staff member who was very willing and enthusiastic to take us to see all the interesting places set deep in the forest.
All in all, it was an amazing short holiday and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone - especially those seeking a peaceful and quiet hliday close to nature.

Room Tip: They have 3 types of rooms- Deluxe, Deluxe Superior and Garden suites. The Garden suites are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuk_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Anuk,

It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay and I am really glad to hear that you have enjoyed the service and facilities the hotel has to offer even though it was a short visit, and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We hope that you will be able to come back for a longer stay when next in Dambulla and look forward to having you back.

Kind regards,
Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a perfect 3 night stay in this brand new resort located in an excellent location ! The team is so friendly that even if the resort is very large, you feel quickly at home ! Very nice buffet Breakfast and Dinner -the best we saw during our 17ngts in Sri lanka ! Huge Duplex room All the best to this entousiastic team !

Room Tip: Try the Duplex Suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poloBiarritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Polo,

Thank you for taking the time to give us you feedback and we are happy to hear that you have had a wonderful experience during your stay with us and that you enjoyed the food and the enthusiasm and service of our team.
We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Sri Lanka.

Kind regards,
Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Visited the hotel in October 2012. Would rank the hotel right at the top of the places I've been to. Beautiful place, peaceful atmosphere, delicious food, gorgeous rooms, superb pool, well equipped Gym and fabulous services. What more could we have asked for. Visitors coming from Colombo or overseas should at least stay for a couple of nights to enjoy the stay. Would recommend Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel to any one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparadiselk, General Manager at The Paradise Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Jagath,

We thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have enjoyed the facilities the hotel has to offer and that the team has taken efforts to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Dambulla.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.8 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,673 reviews
6.3 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 16 in Dambulla
171 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 16 in Dambulla
119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amaya Signature
Amaya Signature
#4 of 16 in Dambulla
252 reviews
8.0 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 16 in Dambulla
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paradise Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paradise Resort and Spa

Address: Kubukkadanwala, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka (Formerly Green Paradise Agro Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range: $103 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paradise Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the middle of the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka, about 160 km from the International Airport, this hidden gem offering ultimate luxury and isolation is tucked away amongst lush vegetation amidst the mystery and spirit of the past. The resort offers easy access to the nearby historical sites like the Dambulla Rock Temple and other cave temples dating back hundreds of years ago and the Sigiriya Rock fortress and the ancient cities of Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa, as well as short drive to the East Coast beaches of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Paradise Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing