We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, but always remember that owner is still businessman at heart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Sky Guest House
Ranked #31 of 86 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good room, but always remember that owner is still businessman at heart”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Like justgoanywhere (review below) we also stayed for 3 nights. Room was pretty good and spacious for the price quoted (1600 for non ac, 2500 for ac). Driver (not Upul) was very helpful and he tried to accommodate us as far as possible, though sometimes there were miscommunication due to language barrier (we had the hired vehicle for 2 days). We also wondered why the aircon was never switched on - luckily the weather was pretty cooling during day 1 and half of day 2. Be very firm with Upul, and make sure you do some background homework regarding the route and destination. We were definitely overcharged for the string hopper dinners that Upul insisted us to partake. He is after all, a businessman at heart.

Room Tip: Either room is ok, as both rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eureka_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    43
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
6
45
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Blue sky guest house is perfect for a budget traveller... cheap and very close to Dambulla's main attraction - The golden temple and rock caves temple. The owner even picked us up from the bus station.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable.. however, they are a little musty.
The food was definitely one of the best tasting Sri lankan food we had during our trip. I especially liked the 'banana flower' preparation.
We hired taxi from Upul for 2 days to go to P'nurawa/Sigiriya and Aukana/Ritigala.
When hiring a taxi with Upul, make sure you have a very good idea of what you want to do as the advice we received was not always the best for us, in retrospect. You also have to be firm in not being dragged to the spice gardens, gem factory and wood carving factories he will surely insist on taking you to. And Trust me, it's not going to be easy to shake him off.

Room Tip: Both rooms are the same. Just be very clear and firm if interested in hiring Upul as your taxi guide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mokshi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here. Were really happy with the place and the service and our driver. But the funny thing is we thought we were overcharged for the dinner of string hopper that were prepared for us. And the air cond of the car that was never switched on even though it was a hot day and we were quoted for an air-cond car.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justgoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here for a great price and were very happy. The guesthouse is around 500m down the road from the Rock Temple and caves so a very easy walk. It is just off the main road, pretty much next door to Samans and Sunderas hotels.The main centre of Dambulla is around 2km past the temple but there isn't a great deal there. Plenty of cheap tuk tuks around if you do want to go.
The room is large, ours had 2 double beds. It has ac that we didn't need and a fan. The bathroom is also good with a decent hot shower. There is strong and reliable wifi both in the room and sitting outside.
The owner is a charming man, he even gave us a free ride to the bus station to make sure we got the right bus when we left.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A really great place! Upul, the host, is very friendly! He will cook the breakfast in accordance with your request and that will be really enough for some person, not for you only) the rooms are well-equipped, you have all you need for comfortable stay. The place is quietm because it doesn't face the main road (like most of the guesthouses). Upul can help with arranging sightseeings and tuk-tuk, if you need. he will also give the fair advices about prices and so on.
You can buy wonderful fresh fruits nerby.
Don't feed the monkeys nearby or thhey will come and share your breakfast)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
offenbach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

i've spend 4 nights at this beautiful place! the owner is a very friendly and helpful guy. The blue sky is very close to the "Golden Temple", but even here you don't have to sure for his place, because as soon you got out of the bus.. you just may call him and he picks you up with his own tuk tuk. :o))
with every question i had about how to take public bus to get from here to other places which i wanted to visit by day trips or how to continue my journey.. or just having a nice conversation at the evening..
if you are keen, you can have breakfast and/or dinner at this quiet place..
..the rooms are very comfortable, big and clean. and if there is anything you need.. you get help for sure.. :o))

if you don't have a small budget, as me.. and you would like to have your trips to Sigiria, Polonnaruwa and/or Anuradhapura a bit more comfortable and also with a guide.. he also has somebody trustful.. other travelers went by car and guide (starting & ending from the guest house as private tour) and they had a wonderful time..

Room Tip: at this guest house are "just" 2 rooms and they are both the same! ;o))
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Blue Sky is the perfect place to stay in Dambulla. Geat location. Very clean (and big) rooms, with A/C and hot water. Also the owner is a very friendly person who makes sure you are happy with evertything!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
0.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
118 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shan Inn Dambulla
Shan Inn Dambulla
#22 of 86 in Dambulla
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Relax Guesthouse
Relax Guesthouse
#12 of 86 in Dambulla
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
579 reviews
4.5 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Guest House

Property: Blue Sky Guest House
Address: 44 Mile Post, Kandy Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sky Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened guest house near Golden Temple in Dambulla (about 300 m), just off the main road to Kandy. Rooms include fan and/or A/C, en suite bathroom w/ hot water. Free Wi-Fi internet available.Sat,tv upul taxi dambulladambullaguesthouse com dambulla day tours /dambulla tempal/sigiriya rook /anurada pura /polonnaruwa /kandy visit upul taxi dambulla ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Sky Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing