We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the long drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We had spent 3 days in this hotel on a full board basis. The room was amazing, not quite modern but alright. cozy pillows and a nice balcony facing the lake. The downside was that we had to keep our balcony doors closed all time and be cautious when we did go out. There were monkeys - during the early morning times. Another possible subject to look into would be to look into the bathtub. There were ants in our bathtub - and spent about 30 minutes washing the bathtub.
In regards, to the food - the food was just amazing. Maybe the best in sri lanka.
Also to note - our driver was provided his quarters along with his meals.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moderncube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,857 - 2,863 of 3,631 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stayed there for two days to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we got every thing we needed. The food and the evening music is worth commenting.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

This hotel is a masterpiece of design in keeping with its surroundings. It was extremely good at everything from greeting you to the departure. The room faced the Jungle looking out to Sigiriya Rock over a fantastic lake or tank. The restaurant was extremely well organised - the best service I have experienced anywhere in the world for many years. The restaurant manager could not do enough and the food was excellent and varied. Spent 5 days there as a base to visit the northen sites. The monkeys sitting outside watching you shower was spookey. They were there each day with their babies. Two different varieties. Also had fantastic infinity pool over the lake.
Cannot be faulted

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Arrived after 10 of the worst days ever in a hotel (Mount Lavinia in Colombo) and enjoyed every second. Stunning hotel, with the most amazing views. In the Sigiriya wing with views over the lake and to Sigiyiya rock. So relaxing to float in the infinity pool and watch the eagles circling overhead while they hunt. Really good food, but overpriced as there's no competition around.

Be wary though if you hate bugs and monkeys. There are signs on the windows saying to keep the balcony doors locked, do this otherwise your room will get swamped by all manner of creepy crawlies. Bit odd to wake up to find a monkey sitting on your balcony watching you too. The lack of A/C in public areas can also make the hotel humid in the evenings, but as the hotel was designed with these open spaces and closeness to the environment in mind, these are more than endurable, and indeed compliment the hotel and the overall setting.

If you go, take the eco-tours to Kandalama rock behind the hotel. Fantastic rainforest walk and panoramic views right over to Dambulla and Sigiriya. Also very cheap compared to most tours available.

Overall, would definetly return to this hotel, but only for a few days. otherwise may need a bank loan to cover the food and drink costs (cheapest wine £22 a bottle)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanandlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

It was the best hotel I have ever stayed in! Me and my husband had a very peaceful time together! it was a breathe taking experience! We stayed for two nights which I think was too less for such an amazing hotel. However, the food was very costly. One chicken burger was for Srilankan rupees 1700 but the hotel was so good that we ignored the bad part of it! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SobiaRQidwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Beautiful hotel, get the Sigaria wing, fifth floor. Food was very good but the rooms were stunning. Lots of extras going on which cost. But just take in the views, go walking and enjoy the scenery. Bit pricey but worth one or two days.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbcorpe-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This is an amazing building in the most fantastic setting, unfortunately on arriving very tired after an overnight flight and a long flight, the person showing us to our room was more intent in selling us an upgrade rather than explaining the hotel layout and facilities. When we said we didn't want to pay to upgrade we were told that $400 was very little and what did we expect!! (We're retired teachers and certainly don't look like we can afford that sort of money) Our room looked tired , there were crumbs on the table and the windows were dirty - but the view was spectacular! We had to turn off the air conditioning as it brought with it a smell of drains.
But the food and facilities are good and the rest of the staff friendly and welcoming, and it has to be one of the best locations we have ever seen

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlosBumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,678 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,505 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 16 in Dambulla
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 16 in Dambulla
119 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,620 reviews
1.5 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#4 of 16 in Dambulla
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: $154 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing