We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
$147
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$148
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$335
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JC's Village(Dambulla)
$68
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MPS Village(Dambulla)
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$92
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$216
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dignity Villa(Dambulla)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,110)
Filter reviews
4,110 results
Traveler rating
2,597
995
353
101
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,597
995
353
101
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgeoffrey bawasigiriya wingrock faceunique hotelsri lankapanoramic roomelephant ridelarge hotelstunning locationoverlooking the lakea la carte restaurantour honeymooneco parkkandalama tankeco friendly hotelluxury room
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 4,110 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Superb lunchtime buffet was of the top quality, great food and wonderfull facilities. The buffet is several courses and each is delicious. The views across the lake are quite spectacular. The infinity pool is a great heat cooler in the hot weather, watched a large variety of birds and a lone elephant bathing.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Old_Fotofart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

It is a pleasure to see that you all have had a very relaxing vacation with breathtaking scenery at Heritance Kandalama.

We are eager to welcome you and your loved ones back at Heritance Kandalama and we assure that you will gain more exciting experiences during your next tour too.

Yours Sincerely, Priyan Wijeratne, Executive General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

The arrival was not awe inspiring, indeed the hotel looked a little industrial to me. The hotel is on two wings form the central reception and is 1km long with views over the adjoining lake and in the distance Sigiriya, superb location.
AVOID rooms between ending 41-44 as these are in the Dambulla wing and face the rear hillside. We were in room 544 in the Dambulla wing (DOH!). This is a superior room that honestly is showing its age, with free wi-fi, but you are provided with individual log-ins. There are no robes or slippers. The bed is made up of two single beds. Has the usual facilities including the 4 digit safe, T&C and chargeable mini-bar. As this was a special birthday for my Queen, I asked if we could move rooms to one with a view, but there was no space. The hotel did however send my wife a birthday cake! Toiletries are of the refillable types, that's annoying, but superb smelling body wash. The shower is very odd. Full clear pane of glass, so you can out everything on show, or pull down a canvas blind, that is showing a lot of mould, as it would!! Needs to replace the glass with partial obscured, so you can have the view without scaring the locals!
A warning, I opened our door to take a picture and almost immediately a monkey appeared for feeding. I had to shut the door quickly to avoid it going into the room. Gave me such a sad stare, but you cannot feed them.
The food is good, again buffet for us, with additional services provided outside - BBQ, pancakes etc. Good breakfast selection.
There are three pools, but the star is the infinity that has a great view of Sigiriya. Superb.
Now the glass story. We went out for the day and returned. I sat by the pool whilst my wife went to get changed. She was ages, and when she returned told me that our patio door had been shattered. This was not safety glass, it was in very large pieces. Apparently this happens a lot, a monkey had forced a chair through the window. The pane of glass was fully replaced within about 50 minutes, they had glass cut to size on site, so this is a regular occurrence.
The spa is excellent. I had a 30 minute back, neck and shoulders massage - 5,000 rupees (£25/$32.5), brilliant. My wife had a 90 minute hot stones, which she said was the best massage she has ever had - 12,600 rupees (£63/$82). I definitely recommend this especially after the strains of Sigiriya rock.
All staff were excellent, Chamara in the bar is a very lovely man and Inshaf was a very helpful cashier.
All in all a nice stay, but could have been better with a nicer room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a Sigiriya wing room, you should get a good view of the rock. Avoid rooms numbered 41-44 in Dambulla wing..
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricky273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for keeping trust on Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination. Many thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor as well.

We are pleased to see that you have received an excellent culinary experience; I shall surely convey your sentiments with my colleagues as well.

Please visit us again and we assure that you will experience superior services and surprises throughout your stay.

Yours Sincerely, Priyan Wijeratne, General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

This was our favourite hotel of a 3 week tour of Sri Lanka. We had a luxury room with views facing 2 directions: each were beautiful and demanded long, gazing looks. We lost ourselves in these views often. When the monkeys came to visit, they enhanced the views, too (even when they peskily stole our fruit!)

The pools were wonderful - we enjoyed the infinity pool in the early morning, and the more distant, but quieter pool, for the rest of the day.

Staff? Very friendly and with great smiles on their faces.

The location was stunning, but what I really loved was the architecture. This hotel blends into the landscape so well; unlike anywhere else I've stayed.

Anything I'd improve? There aren't enough sunbeds next to the pools. This feels like a fixable problem. The infinity pool does become too busy as a result in the afternoons.

Overall: a memorable highlight of our trip. HIGHLY recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank GravyAnecdote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

It is a pleasure to see that you all have had a very relaxing vacation with breathtaking scenery at Heritance Kandalama.

Thank you so much fir the given suggestive comments; we are in the process of adding more sun beds for our valued guests' convenience.

We are eager to welcome you and your loved ones back at Heritance Kandalama and we assure that you will gain more exciting experiences during your next tour too.

Yours Sincerely, Priyan Wijeratne, Executive General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Amazing Hotel with great service and astonishing vue. We had a nice room with lake view and visits of nasty monkeys!!!!!!! Nice pools (3) , good food with wide range buffet and especially Sri lankan dishes (yummy curries) simply Out of heaven!!! ....


Thanks to recommendation of a good friend Mohamad Insaf.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

It is a pleasure to see that you all have had a very relaxing vacation with breathtaking scenery at Heritance Kandalama.

We are eager to welcome you and your loved ones back at Heritance Kandalama and we assure that you will gain more exciting experiences during your next tour too.

Yours Sincerely, Priyan Wijeratne, Executive General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Best rooms, food & service for any visitor. Lovely place to stay and relax. Food was lovely & the staff was so friendly. There are many places to visit around the hotel and the view of Sigiriya from the hotel was magnificent.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for keeping trust on Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination. Many thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor as well.

Please visit us again and we assure that you will experience superior services and surprises throughout your stay.

Yours Sincerely, Priyan Wijeratne, General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews