We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Location & beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprising Location & beautiful!”
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I was really doubt about this hotel when I saw this in magagine & at the same time it was so attractive location in the mountain (remote).
Understood why it is 5stars in Lanka.
Was really appriciated myseld that I pre-arranged for transfer to Hotel, if did not arranged a car, woudl have been nightmare from int"l apt of the distance whcih takes appox 03-04hrs by driving!!

Mos of staffs were helpful & explain about the wildlife surrounging," be careful monkey at the balcony" was also attached notice "do not leave the window open for monkey to let them in" made me anxious upon arrival for my first trip in Far east...

the indication of the number of floor in the elevator & cold have been clearly done by staff not too much confused me to go back to reception,
As my room on 03rd floor, the extrance & main reception is located on 05th floor!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,207
    883
    303
    82
    55
See reviews for
917
1,697
115
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I am an expat Sri Lankan. Enjoyable stay. Overall experience very good

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philosphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

This hotel has an amazing view and a very relaxing atmosphere. Great bathrooms with a view on the lake and a very spacious bedrooms, but the living room had the most uncomfortable sofas i have ever seen in a hotel.

Three swimming pools, but all the people were using the main one so the other 2 were always empty. No guests, no staff.

The restaurant is pretty bad, the only one that was open during our stay had very bad food and I got poisoned on my first night there and even had to call a doctor to the hotel.

Make sure you have your own driver for tours and transportation(can get one through a tour agency) coz the hotel charges a lot for it.

Very helpful staff. I had an evening dress that had to be altered for an event and they managed to get me a tailor on a very short notice and get a job done for free. And on the days I was sick they were making me special food that wasn't on the menu.

A lot of gay couples.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melamory_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We travel extensively in Sri Lanka every two years. This is the worst hotel we have stayed. It was a nightmare!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
_ at the entrance they handed out a water lily to my daughter but refused to give one to my son when he asked for one because he was not a "girl" which got him all upset.
- my kids wanted me to play the piano for them (as I am a piano teacher and since there was no other live entertainment) but could not get a tune going as it was out of tune and most of the keys were not working. I have never seen a piano in such terrible condition in any other hotel in Sri lanka.
- When we went to the 7th floor pool we were shocked to see a snake entering the pool and there was no pool attendent.
- the balcony on the 7th floor is very dangerous for young kids as they can easily fall.
- the kids took a bath in the jacuzzi and it took most of the night for the water to empty and I could not take a shower as the water would have overflowed. If you are a kid or an older person the jacuzzi was quite a challenge to get in and out.
- the monkeys had takenover our room balcony and it was not safe for us to sit out as they came to our chairs. There was no sign to warn us or tell us not to leave the balcony door open. When I turned to enter the room the monkey went right past me and took a small package from my handbag which was on the bed and ran to the jungle. Thankfully it was not my wallet or camera but I was more concerned for my children as the monkey could be rabid and what if the kids were bitten or scraped?
- The reception at the front desk was not very warm nor welcoming. The manager was horrible when I told him about the discount they were running to celebrate their anniversary he said it finished the day before and could not give me any discount.
- for almost $200 a night PLEASE I beg you there are much better, beautiful and welcoming hotels in Sri Lanka for one fifth the price (I would highly recommend Sigiriya village hotel which is not very far from this hotel for warm and friendly staff, excellent food, value for your money at half the price and an overall pleasant experience) It is a big marketing campaign run by Aitken Spence travels to get people to visit their hotel. LET ME TELL YOU IT IS LOUSY!!!!!!!!!! If you enjoy throwing your hard earned cash go ahead. Most of the visitors were people who had booked their vacation through travel agents who put them only in Aitken Spence hotels in Maldives and Sri Lanka. Most said they would never visit this hotel again and you can count me and anybody who will visit Sri Lanka that I come into contact with and all my relations and friends in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ramacolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our stay wasn't long here to experience everything. I believe this unique hotel, cut out of the rocks in front of a lake in the middle of a jungle, must be viewed by everybody once.
The setting is just unbelievable, with an amazing infinity pool.
Superb food and service, just believe everything positive you read about this hotel experience, it is too unque to describe, but expect the best of everything, including, food, staff, ambience, views, accomodation.
Just try it, it is an experience you will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen_Gill_Lockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel is really special for two reasons. The wildlife is fantastic, whether your sitting by the pool or in your hotel room is likely that you'll be visited by wild monkeys pretty quickly. You can also watch wild elephants drink at the lake while relaxing in the infinity pool!

The architeture is also really different - the way that the hotel has been built into the rock is like nothing I've ever seen before. It gives the whole hotel quite a natural and calm atmoshpere.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone - whether a family with children or a romantic couple. There were a couple of downsides but they were far outweighed by the benefits. The restaurant serves decent food but did remind me of a school canteen - too busy and noisy. The drinks and snack are overpriced but you really don't have any choice but to buy them there.

The staff were nice and the place was really clean too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCCCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I'm not sure where to start...we stayed here as a friend was getting married at the hotel in July. The place is amazing and has everything you could want. If you tried to stay at a similar place in another country you'd definitely pay double the price.

We stayed in the a deluxe room which was very spacious. It had a huge bathroom which had a view looking into the forest and mountain. The service upon arrival is fantastic...it's like arriving at Dr. No's liar in a Bond film as the hotel has been made in a mountain. The facilities are brilliant - 3 x swimming pools and games area. The bar happily serves drinks until the monkeys around the hotel decide to drag you back to your room.

I would happily visit this hotel again and if anyone is considering to go there stop thinking and just book it! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoobyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,625 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,472 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
117 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,571 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Property: Heritance Kandalama
Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing