We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Green paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritance Kandalama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Green paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

Kandalama happened by accident to us. We wanted to stop over someplace in Sri Lanka during our honeymoon in Maldives so we did a bit of searching and talking with a few friends. The Kandalama website is a decent one but the real experience once we reached blew us away. We stayed there for 2D/2N

We reached quite late in the night due to a breakdown while travelling from Colombo to Dambull (4.5-5 hrs). So could not see much except the fact that we were somewhere in a pretty dense forest. The Kandalama deluxe rooms that we booked were huge & pretty up there in terms of facilities. The shock we got next morning was an experience, we stepped out into the balcony to see that we were in the middle of a dense forest, across a huge lake, with only the sound of chirping birds, screeching monkeys audible. Kandalama is pleasure as it takes you so close to nature. The bacony has a sitting area with creepers across the facade of the builing.

We were even greeted by a langoor during a sojourn in the balcony. He suddenly appeared out of nowhere, took a swig of our wine, disregarded the taste & left.

The things to do list at Kandalama can be quite big. From aimlessly walking around in the forest, to taking a guided tour of the EcoPark ( especially if you love snakes), to swimming in the Infinity & the Natural pool. For the adventurous, there is a jungle safari on elephants. Kandalama by the way is famous for its wandeing tuskers. Though we didnt catch any wandering one during our walks we saw few from the distance.

Food is quite good. A reasonbly huge & good buffet at breakfast & dinner, with choice of a great coffee shop, an good fine dining restaurant make dining interesting.

All in all a must go for a quiet & back to nature kind of a trip!

  • Liked — The location in the middle of the forrest
  • Disliked — Not much really..
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingSoul83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,057
    841
    285
    74
    50
See reviews for
849
1,600
107
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite as we booked to have dinner in the cave on our 2nd night, the suite was fantastic lovely large sitting room with floor to ceiling windows on 3, bedroom was spotless and had patio doors onto wraparound terrace, the bathroom was fabulous, jacuzzi bath infront of massive windows with views over the lake, heaven. Food was good, drinks expensive, service was what you would expect from 5 star. and more importantly you have a good View of Sigiriya Just watch out for the monkey's they will steal anything lying around.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avidevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

We stayed over New Year 2008. What an amazing hotel set on a hillside over looking a beautiful lake. Relativly newly built but completly covered in vines and 'jungle'. The bed rooms and bath rooms all have floor to cieling glass which was wonderful. Rather strange (but lovely) lying in the bath with a monkey climbing passed the window!

The staff were delightful and could do enough to help but without being over-bearing. Lovely swimming pool set in to a rocky outcrop. The food on offer was wonderful with mountains of fruit, and a choice of european dishes and lots of local food. New Years eve party was great fun for us all with various events during the evening which we could join in with or not as the case may be. We did a organised jungle walk and several walks on our own. Amazing snake man just a short walk away who ahndles and milks snakes for medical research. Perfect place to vivit Sigaria from. Our son and a friend of his (12) were recruited by a group of local boys to go and play cricket with them which they loved. Great place to stay and we will be back

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

Fabulous and fantastic......MUST VISIT.........!!!!!

This is located at such a scenic place, and is created by one of Sri Lanka's best architects in the middle of a forest on the mountain, facing a huge lake, Kandalama.

The experience is un describable.....one must visit this place at least once in their life to experience it !!!!

Scenic beauty all around.....feeling of being in the middle of a jungle.......and in the lap of mother nature........unbelievable....

Has great ambience as well as most modern facilities.......The pool at 5th floor is breath taking.....see images....

  • Liked — Location, layout, staff, food........everything, not to forget the toilet !!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank myselfHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights as the first part of our honeymoon, it was a tremendous place to stay the hotel was an amazing place in itself and the wildlife was everwhere.

The staff were always helpfull and nothing was too muchtrouble, we got a room upgrade with a huge bedwit flower petals spread in a heart shape and a big jacuzzi bath overlooking the tank.

Thedrive from Columbo was a long one but this was facinating passingthrough towns and seing local people, there were ows in the streets!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FnJIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour around Sri Lanka. This hotel has a great location, close to all of the wonderful sights of the cultural triangle and has truly stunning views. However, food and drink are incredibly expensive, the rooms are a bit tired and because the hotel is so huge, it has a very strange atmosphere (very empty). We tried to take a swim at the pool on the top floor but the water was green (not sure when it was last cleaned). So we swam in the infinity pool instead - which was very nice and relaxing. It was definitely an experience but not one that we would repeat if we return to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

We stayed at the hotel kandalama for 2 nights as part of a tour of Sri Lanka.
The location was beautiful, but took forever to get there from colombo due to the out of season monsoon rain!
On arrival we were greeted with drinks, and then escorted to our room, our first impression of the hotel was good (if not a little breeze blocky but we could see what they were trying to achieve!), however although the room wasnt a bad size (not the best considering it was a superior deluxe room!) the views were amazing, as was the jacuzzi bath.......however, the bath did not work and the water was only luke warm, not what you want to lie in for a relaxing soak, we informed the reception and although several people traipsed in and out of the room 'trying' to fix it, we were not offered another room or was it ever fixed, i would also say that the rooms are way too dark and dingy! It doesnt lend itself well to the relaxed atmosphere it eminated!
The views as i mentioned were spectacular, and the monkeys hanging on our balcony were very entertaining!
We spent the majority of our time out and about so we didnt spend any times in the pools, we only saw the one on the reception level that was lovely, due to its views but the pool itself is pretty small.
The food was ok, not the best but acceptable. The hotel appeared empty, and when trying to have an extortionately priced drink in the lounge, 20 minutes later and no one was around to serve us.
The bats in the halls can be a bit unnerving, especially when they swoop so low that they almost get caaught in your hair!
An experience but next time where in sri lanka we will not stop here we will try a boutique hotel.
I will say it is in a good location for surrounding sights!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberchatwin1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.1 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#3 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
5.6 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Property: Heritance Kandalama
Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing