We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$130
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
$110
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

JC's Village(Dambulla)
$68
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$335
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$45
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MPS Village(Dambulla)
$40
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$256
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,119)
Filter reviews
4,121 results
Traveler rating
2,602
999
354
101
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,602
999
354
101
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgeoffrey bawasigiriya wingrock faceunique hotelsri lankapanoramic roomelephant ridelarge hotelstunning locationoverlooking the lakea la carte restaurantour honeymooneco parkkandalama tankeco friendly hotelluxury room
Filter
Updating list...
1,943 - 1,948 of 4,121 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2014

This was my 5th visit to this Hotel and I still love to go to this place. Service was excellent. Being a vegetarian, full attention was given to my wife and myself on the meals.

Thanks to Chef Lalith and trainer Dimuth, they were able to provide us excellent vegetarian meals according to our wishes.

Excellent atmosphere led us greatly relax. Excellent service standards by the staff.

This is a great place every one should visit when visiting Sigiriya / Dambulla .

Room Tip: Its better to select Sigiriya wing type room (even though it cost a bit but worth spending) considering the outside scenario and the in house Jacuzzi
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chamath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2014

As much as we thank you for your recent visit to Heritance Kandalama, we also congratulate and appreciate you for doing so not less than five times !
Its not only a clear understanding of nature of business we do but appreciation and approval of green philosophy we practice at Heritance Kandalama - a legendary architect Sir Geoffrey Bawa creation.
Heritance Kandalama may have awarded the SAGA Good Food Award for ten consecutive years, but the awards we get from our guests is what we value most and ahead of any. By repeating your visits to Kandalama, you have very clearly and very loudly said that Heritance Kandalama is just not for one visit. Our greatest wealth is our staff and we will make your comments known to the staff concerned.
We are sure that you would repeat your visits to Kandalama with time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2014

It's a beautiful hotel, with stunning views over the lake. I loved the architecture and loved our room. We did get moved from level 5 to level 3 on arrival, we weren't told why, but it didn't matter too much. The staff - as they are throughout Sri Lanka - are lovely.

But, there are a few big BUTS.

First the tours desk has a lot to answer for. We asked for their assistance with organising tours of the cultural triangle. There were able to provide us with a suggested itinerary and a driver for our stay. The price seemed ridiculous compared to our other trips we'd organised in Sri Lanka. When we queried the price, there response was to offer us a 10% discount. Hmm.

So I went on Google typed Dambulla taxi and called the local company. They were able to offer the same service, for half the price. A saving of about $70 USD a day. And by the way they were brilliant. So my question to management is, as a 5 star hotel, should you treat your guests this way? Is picking up the phone to make a booking worth a premium of $70? It's a little shameful I think.

Secondly the food in the a la carte restaurant is very poor. I suggest if the exec chef hasn't dined there for awhile he probably should. For example adding crotons to a bowl of lettuce doesn't constitute a Caesar salad. The buffet on the other hand is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrislewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2014

We thank you for your recent stay with us and all the nice views you have shared.

However, we wish to state that as a responsible organization carrying worldwide repute and recognition, our Company does not permit us to compromise on our guests safety by resorting to irresponsible / cheap guest transport means hence the difference in fee structure. Our transport facilities are covered by a comprehensive insurance package as required by the Government rules and regulations.

We view your comments on our a' la carte facility with concern and would sit with our kitchen brigade to review the dishes served therein.

And we appreciate your positive views on our buffets. We are hopeful that you would visit us again. Soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2014

No words to explain the view and Architecture of the Hotel.Spectacular Location Between Kandalama Lake and Rock mountain.We stayed sigiriya wing 5th floor Room.If you want best view please go to sigiriya wing in higher floors.Great Room facilities with jacuzzi .our balcony main view to sigiriya,Great service in every corner of the Hotel.we walked to Eco park ,recycle Paper factory, and Mini zoo every part of the hotel you can get same friendly service.Make sure to use infinity pool in sigiriya wing.Great Food with surprise arrangement for celebrate our first Anniversary with life time memorable. Truly first class of service. If i not make a mistake this is the only place in world you can view 2 UNESCO world Heritage sites( Sigiriya and Dambulla cave temple)

Room Tip: Chose Higher level Rooms in Sigiriya wing.
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lalin_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Thank you for sharing your observations. Thank you also for all the words of appreciation spoken of this legendary Sir Geoffrey Bawa creation.

It's with pleasure we add that Heritance Kandalama is Sri Lanka's most rewarded hotel, rated the Best 5-Star Resort for 3 consecutive years and was welcomed to the prestigious Hall of Fame at the Presidential Awards for Travel & Tourism. It was also adjudged the winner of the 5-Star resort based on comprehensive evaluation criteria comprising revenue generation, innovation, social, cultural, environmental and economic best practices as well as it's contribution as a role model for tourism excellence.

We are hopeful that you would continue to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2014

We stayed here on the second leg of our Sri Lanka holiday, and it really is a spectacular location awash with character and wildlife, for instance you cannot leave your balcony door open in case the monkeys come in.
Very nice rooms but a bit of advice, request a high level room to ensure you get the spectacular views of the lake.
Food was really good, buffet evening was really nice, and breakfast box was provided for our departure.
A bit of advice, if you are staying in more than one location on Sri Lanka be aware the roads are chaotic and of a generally poor standard, with
the adjacent roadworks which are pretty primitively executed so it takes a long time to get anywhere, took us 5 hours from Colombo.
Overall great place to go that will live in the memory.

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2014

We thank you and your family for staying with us.
And we are much delighted over the the compliments you have paid to Heritance Kandalama - the iconic pure eco bliss.
Certainly monkeys dwell among many a many species of birds, butterflies spotted deer, wild boar and lizards in the wildlife around and that is what which makes Heritance Kandalama so incomparable. By nature, monkeys are an inquisitive lot and yes, your point to keep the balcony door closed would be noted by many a would-be visitor !
Our plus is our food - and this is why we were awarded the SAGA Good Food Award for ten consecutive years. If not used correct highways, it takes effort to reach this destination which has its share of undisputed worldwide recognition.
While we invite you here again, we borrow your last word group to end our comment i.e.`Overall great place to go that will live in the memory' !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful and well maintained and clean. The views overlooking the lake from both the hotel and the infinity pool are breathtaking. The spa experience with visiting wellness and yoga instructor Emily Evelyn was first class.

However, on the down side, we think that the cost of things like food were quite expensive especially for a developing country in Asia. The prices for both the buffet and al-a-carte was comparatively on par or even more expensive than what we would pay at home in Australia.

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2014

We thank and appreciate your visit to Heritance Kandalama. Having noted all nice words you have used on this incomparable property which is also described as `man's greatest tribute to eco-tourism' we humbly add that the hotel is the creation of legendary architect, Dr Geoffrey Bawa.
With regard to the comments you have made on our food prices, permit us to say that we certainly top the list of those who serve best food in the island and go beyond boundaries to speak to your taste buds. Proof of the pudding is in the eating and Heritance Kandalama is the only hotel which was awarded the SAGA Good Food Award for ten consecutive years.
Dear couple, we would love to have you with us in the not-so-distant future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews