We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding at the Kandalama”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding at the Kandalama”
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We have just returned from a holiday of a life time!

We arrived at the Kandalama on the 8th September 2008 and was greeted by the friendliest of staff, the check in was lovely, relaxed and organised, we were given a cold flannel & cocktail (which was a god send after the 4 hour taxi transfer).
Our Room was in the Sigiriya wing and the view was outstanding, already monkeys on our balcony coming to greet us.
We met our wedding co-ordinator, Nadhun, and he provided us with the best service we have ever had! I chose my flowers and we chose a wedding location, everything was so organised & professional. We then met one of the Chefs, Gamini, he designed our evening meal menu which was 6 courses!! every detail was taken care of.

The actual ceremony was totally stress free! as we had no family with us the staff at the Kandalama welcomed us with open arms and we felt part of their family.

If you are reading this review as you are going to visit Sri Lanka/Kandalama or are getting married their, then I won't say anymore as I don't want to spoil the surpise. All I will say is it's amazing, our wedding day was more than we could of ever wished for, we hope to return on our anniversary on 11th Sept.
Good Luck & Have fun

  • Liked — so much!! the staff, location, food, wedding package
  • Disliked — nothing it was all great
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,148
    867
    297
    78
    54
See reviews for
889
1,660
113
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

This is a really sensational Hotel in a wonderful location.

To wake up to the views of the lake with the animals drinking, the monkeys watching you in the shower and some great food at the restaurant is a life experience.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed in the Kandalama as part of an excellemt package trip. The room was large and clean but the geckos took a little bit of getting used to. I guess this is being part of an enviromental hotel. Taking a shower with views of the nearby reservoir was a unique experience

The swimming pool was of average size but had stunning views - the food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We even had one of them keep score when we played snooker (and I am not Jimmy White!)

Four days was not long enough

  • Liked — Stunning views
  • Disliked — Humiditiy
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Date of Stay: 19th and 20th July

Picture this. You are driving through the jungle and round a bend to see the corner of the hotel jutting just above the trees. After checking in, we walk through a rock formation which frames the corridor leading to the lounge area, which in turn looks out over the pool which blends into the view of the lake. Later, on arrival in our room, which was vast - the bathroom and walk in shower were as big as many hotel rooms we have stayed in - and on the top (7th) floor, we venture onto the equally vast balcony, to be greeted by the inevitable cheeky monkeys. And down below beyond the jungle my wife spots a large bulk squirming in the lake - we eventually realise it is an elephant frollicking after a hard day in the jungle!

That evening, after a splendid barbeque dinner in the fantastic restaurant, we are entertained by a local "pop" group and then a troupe of Kandyan dancers.

Next day, as we depart to Polunnawara and Siguyia, we see a new species of hyena on the road leading away from the hotel - but surely they don't have hyenas in Sri Lanka? Sadly that is right, and it turns out to be a ginger dog that had been "painted" with large and perfectly irregularly shaped black spots by its owners' children! How we laughed! We almost missed the huge snake that slithered across the same road!!

After our days' travels, touring temples and rock climbing, the second night was much the same as the first and we depart the next morning for Kandy. But hey, we hadn't really spent any time in Kandelama, the lake and the jungle, and it is clear that 2 nights is simply not enough time to do this paradise justice...

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Lack of sports on TV (England were playing a Test Match, and it was the Open weekend, so forgive me!)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyofkinver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

The Kandalama Hotel in Dambulla is an absolute must if you visit Sri Lanka. It is a completely unique hotel in a fantastic setting and is likely to be unlike anywhere you've stayed before. The scenary is fantastic, the atmosphere enchanting and the service perfect. We treated ourselves to a special 'dinner in the cave' and it was a magical evening and is highly recommended. We only wished we'd stayed there longer.

  • Liked — Setting and service
  • Disliked — Lack of entertainment and sports channels
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OHurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovar, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This is a true heaven in Sri Lanka, and the best hotel we stayed in Sri Lanka.
It's rated 5* and not by accident. The hotel is built on the base of a rock mountain, and surrounded by forest, so you'll have the daily visit of many monkeys, bats, and all sort of animals and bugs. I guess this may a scare a few, but not most.
The rooms are huge, such as the bathrooms, and very well decorated.
Ispite the size of the hotel (1Km side to side), everything is always impecably clean, from the rooms to the many hallways.
Food is very good and there's a lot of variety, though is not spectacular. I would say it's good enough for a bufet, and it's quite dificult to starve.
The main swimming pool is just perfect!!!
Staff is very friendly and helpfull.
Do spend some time in the hotel, has it deserves time to appreciate it. We stayed only 2 nights and during the day were always out touring the atractions, but we hould have preffered to saty more time in the hotel. After a wille a temple is just one more, so don't bother to see every thing and reserve some time to stick around the hotel.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Didnt really know what to expect but when we arrived it was very clear that this was going to be a memorable stay. Sipping the welcome drink looking across the infinity pool at Sigiriya was a beautiful start.We saw lots of animals and if you are a bird watcher this is a mecca. The cheeky monkeys were a welcome addition! After long day trips to Sigiriya and the cave temples etc this was a great place to come back to and unwind. If you get a chance upgrade to the Superior rooms with the jacuzzi bath that looks out across the lake. Great staff although a little too nice to be genuine. Buffets were lovely however as with any buffet after 3 or 4 you get a bit tired.

  • Liked — The views and the monkeys
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harpy&james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,559 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,434 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
222 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,507 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Property: Heritance Kandalama
Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing