We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Another beautiful places to visit when in Sri Lanka. The food was amazing the service was amazing. Beautiful hotel sand views. Must visit again as it's has the most breath taking views from the hotel. The food wasn't part of the package we got but the food definitely is worth every penny!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,203
    882
    302
    82
    55
See reviews for
914
1,696
115
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

After all the rave reviews, I think its only fair to inject some balance into the representation of this hotel.

The best part was absolutely the architecture. The Bawa concept and myriad Bawa details were a constant delight. The backdrop of the beautiful lake and nature preserve were stunning. It is difficult to overstate the pleasure of the experience of soaking up such a unique and wonderful place.

The hotel itself is run very professionally, but after so many lovely experiences in Sri Lanka at smaller, boutique hotels it was a bit sad to find oneself again in a large, corporate, 5 star hotel environment.

There were a huge number of guests staying at the hotel, which meant the dinner buffet and the breakfast buffet were a mad scramble.

There were quite a few families with children, so don't expect to have the pool to yourself much.

And the reception area was always packed with people coming and going and staff running to and fro, which made it less than relaxing.

For architecture buffs or for those the like large, corporate hotels, this is a good spot. For others, your (fairly large amount of) money may be better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

this was the second time I have visited this hotel and I would say it's worth for the money you spend. fantastic food,hospitality, and room condition. the only worry for me is no children activities at all. I hope they will think about it in future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan77dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have been going back to the Kandalama now for the past 18yrs and it never fails to take our breath away. From the moment you pull up outside the hotel, you know that you have arrived at a very special place. As you soak in the views across the lake with your welcome drink, you might be lucky enough to be greeted by the monkeys that inhabit the surrounding jungle.
The dining room is beautiful and the food surpasses anything you have eaten anywhere else in Sri Lanka !!!! Dress code is 'smart' gentleman, only long trousers allowed for dinner.
If you fancy an elephant ride through the jungle book up early at reception and don't forget to take a few bananas from breakfast for the elephants who are quite partial to the odd one or two as they lumber through the jungle. Ride lasts between 45 minutes and 1 hour.
It's the perfect place for visits to The Rock Temple and visiting Sigiriya.
The rooms are beautiful and the bathroom showers all face out towards the surrounding jungle. You could have a few inquisitive monkeys watching you from your balcony.
Once been never forgotten, returning there again this summer, can't wait !!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, only difference is size. 2 wings Dambulla wing, Sigiriya wing have stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is amazing. I booked a deluxe room as I wanted to have a bathtub facing the nature. When I got there they up graded me to a even better room that was super big with also a living room. Unfortunately as I was alone I did not need too much space but it was a nice gesture.
As a solo traveler I would prefer to be a bit closer to the hotel social area but it was quite an adventure to get to my room alone with so many bats flying around. Also I had a view to the nature but not the to the water. This would be a plus.
I was expecting monkeys near my window but they were concentrated on the right side of the hotel. The room decoration is nice, all super clean and it should be. The bathroom is super big and make sure you have a bottle of wine with you to enjoy the view while bathing. Superb !!!
Breakfast is perfect and also dinner buffet was delicious and with plenty of options.
Room service was also fast and the portion was big.
The swimming pool facing the river is aaaamazing. You want to stay there forever. There was also 2 other pools, one that is build in a rock preserving nature.
I recommend this hotel. Make sure you stay there one day that you have no tours booked so you can enjoy the hotel and it is a tour itself.
Nice staff and you can use a tuktuk to visit the places in Dambulla. I hope to visit Sri Lanka again and will definitely stay in this hotel again. You need to be there to understand.

Room Tip: If you want to have monkeys visiting you is worth asking the hotel to give you a room near where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My partner and I spent two nights at this tucked away hotel built into the rocks and loved every minute of it. The views were spectacular and the design of the hotel was something to behold. From the time we checked in to the time we left we were smitten by the place. The staff were friendly and always helpful and very cheerful. The hotel was very clean and have I mentioned the views?

We had a room in on the fifth floor with a balcony and a jaccuzi bath that had floor to ceiling windows so you can have a soak in the tub whilst gazing out at the lake and the magnificent Sigiriya rock not to mention the cheeky little monkeys that kept coming up to the balcony and joining us!

We only had breakfast there but no complaints from our part. A good selection at the buffet and great views over the lake whilst you are having breakfast. The only downside I would say is that the rooms looked a little tired and the whole hotel although having a wow factor could do with a revamp. Having said that I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for one with a balcony and a Jacuzzi bath (not sure if they all have one). We had the Panoramic r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Location of the hotel is wonderful surrounded by trees with a view of Kandalama Lake. Service was excellent with very friendly staff. Food also was superb, well prepared and served nicely. anybody can enjoy three nice swimming pools at any time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasitha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,617 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,469 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
116 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,566 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Property: Heritance Kandalama
Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing